We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay, but.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. The Grand Parade and Princess Street, Brighton le Sands, Rockdale, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Parkes, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Stay, but.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I had a great stay here. Room was spacey, and room service was great value for money. I just have one issue, and I have also provided this to Accor so as not to whinge here and not contact them too. I booked online with my Accor online account and used my Accor Le Club gold card number successfully. When I presented my card at check-in I was told that the hotel was privately run, but carries the Novotel brand, and that the owner has decided not to participate in the Le Club scheme. I was in a queue at check-in and was quite embarrassed. At no time during online booking did the Accor system say the hotel didn't issue Le Club points. In fact the online booking system ACCEPTED my card. I repsectfully suggest that the Accor site be updated so that the hotel details clearly state that the hotel does not participate in Le Club. Also, the booking system shouldn't accept the loyalty card number for non-participating hotels. Apart from this frustrating matter my stay was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    495
    338
    102
    69
See reviews for
318
486
109
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice Foyer, Restaurant and Bar Areas but the rooms really need a full refurbishment, although quite large and roomy they are very dated and dont look like they have had any TLC for a long time. The rooms over looking the water are noisy as well, lots of hotted up cars seem to drive around there. Staff were nice and helpful. Good location, shops, restaurants and beach at the front door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments about our helpful team which I have passed on to everyone. Your feedback about the dated room product is noted. We are in discussion with the hotel's owners about funding for a refurbishment & I will share your views on the next occasion.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We are members of Accor Advanrage, so we stayed in a 2 bedroom room with 2 bathrooms for a very good rate. So that helped, but make no mistake, this hotel is over 30 years old, and I could not see any evidence of resfresh, so the comments by other reviewers saying it is tired are fair. But the lobby area is large, the resteraunt area large with a good view, and I am sure if our room had a sea view, which it did not, being on the 4th floor, we would have been allot happier. But there were a couple of negatives, on 4 ipads and one laptop, we could not get the WIFI to work, not matter what we did, and the pay TV did not work either, the cable TV yes. But we did have a very nice buffet breakfast, where the kids ate free. The staff are good, and are trying their best, given the tired hotel they have to work with. This hotel really have got me wondering about the economies of a resfresh and upgrade ? Only stay at this hotel if you are getting a good rate for your room, then you will be happy.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher than the 4th floor like we had, then you will get some view, and I think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Gribbs family
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We were pleased to read that you found a number of the aspects of the hotel to your satisfaction. We are is discussion with the hotel's owners regarding funding for a refurbishment & I will share your views on the next occasion.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

One huge positive of this hotel is that the staff are great. They really were very helpful. The hotel is very tired though, in need of an upgrade. There were stains on the carpet and walls, furniture was stained and torn in places and lamps that didn't work. I think for the price of the room, $300+, the standard of the room certainly was not good enough. I won't be staying here again soon and wouldn't recommend it to my friends - becasue of the price and the standard that you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room to escape the noisy pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Holly David
Thank you for your comments. Your kind words about our team have been shared with them. We are in discussions with the owners of the hotel about funding for a refurbishment & I will share your views with them.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night late April 2014. Great location, rooms were spacious but I had to report cockroaches in my room and was given a tin of bug spray in case more appeared. No free wifi (bar 30 mins within 24 hours) and I felt in this day and age that isn't good enough.. After all I had free wifi whilst sat on Bondi beach. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear LouGrahamll
Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apologies about the pest in your room. We do employ a professional pest control company who regularly sprays the hotel & we have had your room resprayed as a precaution.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach

Address: Cnr. The Grand Parade and Princess Street, Brighton le Sands, Rockdale, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Brighton le Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brighton le Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach is a 4 star hotel situated opposite Brighton Beach in Sydney. With sweeping views across Botany Bay, this hotel is conveniently located only 15 km from the city centre and 5 minutes from the airport. Perfect for businesstrips and holidays, all 296 rooms boast private balconies. The hotel features a bar and restaurant, plus 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 500 delegates. Leisure facilities include a swimming pool, fitness centre, spa and steam room.Novotel Brighton Beach offers a variety of facilities including landscaped *outdoor swimming pool, indoor pool, steam room, large modern gymnasium, restaurant and bar, Day Spa and Health Centre and 11 versatile function rooms with an experienced conference and events team to facilitate your next function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach Hotel Brighton Le Sands
Novotel Brighton Le Sands
Accor Brighton Le Sands
Sydney Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.