We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. The Grand Parade and Princess Street, Brighton le Sands, Rockdale, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The rooms furniture is dating and could do with updating but overall value for money, the food was excellent. Service was very good. Would definitely stay again. Location is ideal, across from the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    455
    298
    92
    57
See reviews for
291
450
104
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thankyou for giving us a mermorable stay on such a special occassion. We not only attended a friends wedding but we also celebrated 17years anniversary. The price of our stay allowed us to share this day and night with our children

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Congratulations on your anniversary. We were pleased that we were able to add to your memories of this milestone.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent 3 nights here attending a conference and was really not impressed. Upon check in I was told I'd been upgraded - that sounded nice. Upon entering the room I was greated with a very stale, musty smell. I really couldn't be bothered having to relocate so opened the balcony door and aired the room for a couple of hours. This helped.

Bed wasn't too bad, but the bed linen was pretty sparse so I had to search the room for an extra blanket. This was OK but then had problems when the bedside lamp didn't work.

Next morning, found the shower to be terrible. There was just NO hot water pressure, so I endure a luke warm shower.

On checkout day I thought I'd do the right thing and let reception know about the issues. Well, I found the cause of the musty smell! Upon walking around the other side of the bed to get the feedback form I found the carpet to be absoluetly soaked.

This hotel wasn't cheap, the carpet throughout is worn and tired, and the hotel is in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay. I offer my apologies that some aspects of your stay were below expectation.
Your feedback about the shower & the flooded room has been shared with the maintenance team for rectification. Your observations about the need for refurbishment will be shared with the owners of the hotel for consideration when they are looking at making investment decisions.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very positive conference experience. Good online booking, good service, good food, comfy bed, adequate gym and swimming pool, fantastic spot. I had a few walks along the front, and picked up snacks from coles which is just a couple of hundred metres out the back of the hotel. I negotiated a lite breakfast at a good price in the hotel one morning, and had a great breakfast at a beach cafe just along the road the second morning which ended up not being as good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read that you found our staff, hotel facilities & the local environs very much to your liking. We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have stayed here many times and liked it and never had to pay for parking, checking out today they wanted to charge me $25.00 a night which greatly adds to to expenses after paying $478.00 for a 2 night stay works out quite expensive. They did waive the $50.00 this time but will think twice before returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We do charge for car parking at the hotel however we also have a number of packages that include items like parking. For current packages & availability please visit our website at accorhotels.com or contact our reservations team directly.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ok, the only reason why I gave it an average is because we stayed there for free (sister-in-law is a flight attendant stationed in Sydney and we bunked in). But, if we were paying guests, my rating would definitely be poor. Granted, location is ideal if you want to be in front of the beach (because that's where it is, right in front of Brighton beach). The proximity to restaurants and public transport, including the airport is not bad as well, but then again, most beaches would have to be surrounded by restaurants and public transport anyway. The kids loved the pool though with the spa, but on the flipside, the hallways reek of that old hotel smell, rooms are too small and the overall place is just begging for a make over. I have to remind myself that I am not paying a single cent on all the 4 nights that I stayed here to make it bearable. Plus, we stayed here on New Year's eve and I'm well aware that finding an accommodation in Sydney during this season could be very stressful, not only to yourself, but to your budget. So overall, I'm thankful of the free stay, but if you're paying, and under different circumstances (going on a non-peak season), you're definitely better off somewhere else!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the area around the hotel & were lucky enough to stay over new years eve to see the great fireworks on the bay. I will share your feedback about the need for refurbishment with the hotel’s owners for their consideration.

Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The room actually turned out to be a suite, ( think my colleague and I both got up-grades). However, I had the room to myself and couldn't understand why the fold-out bed in the sitting room was out and made up...it took up most of that space. I tried to tuck it away but it wouldn't fold easily and I just left it. The balcony is useful if you want to have a smoke. I marked down "cleanliness" only because some small ants quickly appeared after a small sugar spill in the tea-making facility.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsbb, General Manager at Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. We were pleased to read that you found our staff & facilities to your liking. We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Regards
Alan Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach

Address: Cnr. The Grand Parade and Princess Street, Brighton le Sands, Rockdale, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Brighton le Sands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brighton le Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach is a 4 star hotel situated opposite Brighton Beach in Sydney. With sweeping views across Botany Bay, this hotel is conveniently located only 15 km from the city centre and 5 minutes from the airport. Perfect for businesstrips and holidays, all 296 rooms boast private balconies. The hotel features a bar and restaurant, plus 11 meeting rooms accommodating up to 500 delegates. Leisure facilities include a swimming pool, fitness centre, spa and steam room.Novotel Brighton Beach offers a variety of facilities including landscaped *outdoor swimming pool, indoor pool, steam room, large modern gymnasium, restaurant and bar, Day Spa and Health Centre and 11 versatile function rooms with an experienced conference and events team to facilitate your next function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach Hotel Brighton Le Sands
Novotel Brighton Le Sands
Accor Brighton Le Sands
Sydney Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Brighton Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.