We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Norwest

Save Saved
You added Novotel Sydney Norwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Sydney Norwest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Columbia Court, Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2153, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Baulkham Hills
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stained bottom sheet on bed - H/K unsure what to do so put clean sheet (when delivered - 20 mins later) on the bed MYSELF. (Mind you at a bit before midnight after a long day's travelling - not happy!)
Complaint dealt with but not to my satisfaction - Duty manager did not even come to see me or get back to me by phone as promised. Another staff member came to room and said "I don't know how this could have happened as a separate staff member checks all rooms cleaned"
I have stayed in hotels all over the world and Australia and have never encountered dirty sheets before this! $165 per night - sort of expected better than I got!
Breakfast in room - bacon so overcooked it crumbled when I tried to put the fork in it, scrambled eggs (beautiful) but hot chocolate anything but hot!
No b/fast menu in room for Sunday morning. Not greeted as Priority club member. No papers offered. Not advised that there was a shuttle service to local destinations. Not a happy visitor to your hotel, sorry. Have stayed in Crowne Metropol for a week in Melbourne and will certainly go there again but I will not stay in Crowne Plaza Norwest unless there is no other hotel in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Loved how I could look out the windows onto the large grassed area and see the rabbits eating and pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Good afternoon Austraveller,

Thank you for your feedback with relation to your stay.

We are making sure that this is properly investigated at hotel level.
Due to the late hour the person looking after your requests would not have been a member of the housekeeping team.We apologise for the service which you received at such a late hour.

We will continue to keep staff abreast of what feedback is received and continue to develop and train our staff to make sure that this does not happen again.

Should you wish to pass on you name to myself at smm@crowneplazanorwest.com.au to allow us to investiagte this further.

Thank you,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
17
26
15
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Main Beach, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Had a great 3 night stay. hotel had all the facilities and needs met.
Helpful reception team

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you devilleapartments,

Appreciate the quick feedback about the hotel, happy to see you enjoyed the stay. I also noted that you found a great local restaurant whilst you were here!

An easy stroll down the hill from the hotel, or ask the staff at the hotel if they can get you there in the Hotel Shuttle Bus next time your in town.

Have a great week.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We have been here many times but this time the crowne plaza meet our standard.The rooms need a bit of freshing up.The customer service is good but we have to mention the restaurant service and food quality ,one of the best.we had Dinner one night and we came back the second night both night the food was amazing.parking is free and it is definitely the best experience after a long time for us.

Room Tip: Try the Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback walter2-12,

Great to hear your feedback on the Restaurant as it has been a key focus of the hotel over the past few months especially with the refurbishment.
I will forward this onto our Head Chef who has now been at the hotel for 6 months and has really stamped his cuisine style on the hotel.

Thank you for your time to give great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Much Appreciated
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have been staying at this hotel periodically since 2003. It's presentation is consistently of a high standard. The rooms are modern, spacious and well appointed and the bathrooms are large. Staff are always professional. It is definitely the best hotel in the area.

Parking is free, albeit outdoors and unsecured. There is a pool on-site, but this is not the sort of place you would go to specifically for the pool. The hotel is located within the Norwest business park, in the north-western suburbs of Sydney, and is easily accessible from the M7 and M2 toll roads. There is a local shopping centre within walking distance down the road (containing a supermarket, pharmacy, newsagent, food court, restaurants etc). There is nothing spectacular about the location and the hotel grounds are neat but un-extraordinary, however it is ideal for business and leisure within the local area. The location is definitely too far out for tourists seeking a central Sydney hotel. It would be an ideal base, however, for visiting Koala Park at Pennant Hills and exploring as far out as the Windsor area.

We will definitely be back again when the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road. Rooms facing the road are very quiet, but the view is pretty unex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Hello Ellebana,

Wow thank you for your great honest review, you obviously spend a bit of time here describing the hotel like a member of the staff including the local ammenities.

The Business Park has changed alot over those years hasn't it. Very well facilitiated and well maintained Corporate business park with plenty of restaurants and local recreational activities.

Thanks for the continued support of the hotel, look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I was disappointed with the hotel. Usually I stay closer to the city in an IHG hotel for around the same price or less, so I my expectations were for something more, when in fact, apart from the free parking, it had nothing more to recommend it. For a hotel of its class, it has the basic set of attributes and amenities. That said, it was clean, comfortable and secure. The restaurant was reasonable with friendly staff but service was variable. I imagine that it would be convenient for business travellers working in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Hello rivor,

Our apologies for not having more of a wow factor during your stay at the hotel.

We are continually looking to improve the guest experience in the hotel and your review allows us to work on service and features of the hotel. Off comments like yours at the hotel we have introduced monthly cuisine specials such as Italian nights and Korean BBQ opportunities for dinner.

Happy Hour is also now on again in February and for the remainder of the year Monday to Friday 5pm to 7pm.

Please contact myself at the hotel if you are looking to stay in the area again, I would be happy to catch up and have a chat.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We often stay at this hotel when we are in Sydney for work. The hotel is modern and well placed for the Norwest Business Park.The rooms are well appointed and are usually quiet. the restaurant is nice with the usual fare on offer. Parking is free.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you Toptown,

We really appreciate positive feedback from all guests, as you stated a good place to stay when at Norwest for business. The refurbished rooms and restaurant have lifted the hotel experience. We look forward to making your business stays comfortable in the future.

Regards,
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I travelled solo to Sydney and really enjoyed my stay at Crowne Plaza Norwest.
It is really well located, close to shop, a few minutes walk, (boutique shops, Coles. McDonalds, Gourmet Pizza, Service station etc).
The rooms are really well appointed, very spacious, really modern and nicely decorated. You could dance in the bathroom - its that big.
The reception and housekeeping staff are friendly and helpful without been pretentious while still maintaing a very proffessional approach.
The pool out the front is rectangular which is great for laps and has black lines, also great for just a dip. Towels provided poolside.
The parking is very well lit and plentiful.
I would stay here again happily.

Room Tip: Any room should be great. Worth a mention that the drapes are so good I was really able to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Manager at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Hello SimBrisbane,

Thank you for the praise you have given to the hotel, as you stated the business park has a great infrastructure and it's only a short walk to key services should you not wish to spend all of your time at the hotel. Great to hear that our staff are warm and friendly and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future.

All the best for 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Sydney Norwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Norwest

Address: 1 Columbia Court, Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2153, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Baulkham Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Baulkham Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Norwest 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the fastest growing business community in Sydney, and only 40 minutes from the Sydney CBD and only 15 minutes from Parramatta, Crowne Plaza Norwest offers you the best of both worlds. With the peace and tranquility of landscaped gardens and beautiful outdoor settings, coupled with our understanding of the needs of today's businesses, Crowne Plaza Norwest offers the perfect balance for corporate business and leisure travellers. Offering 132 superbly appointed rooms including Executive Spa rooms and Balcony King rooms. All rooms featuring king sized beds, tea & coffee making facilities, work desk, high speed internet access, in-room safe, ironing facilities, and cable television with pay per view movie. Hotel facilities include outdoor lap swimming pool, gym, restaurant and bar as well as conferencing facilities catering for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Novotel Sydney Norwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney Hotel Baulkham Hills
Crowne Plaza Baulkham Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Norwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.