We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in the west” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Sydney Norwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Sydney Norwest to your Saves list
Novotel Sydney Norwest
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Columbia Court, Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2153, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baulkham Hills
Broome, Australia
1 review
“The best in the west”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel,it was our second visit .the first time the restaurant looked tired but with the surprise the second time they had done some patch up work.the room was ok but we loved the Breakfast buffet it was great and looked fresh.The service is as usual relax and have to ask for coffee until it arrives ,give 15 to 30 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Thanks Michaelmmoore,

Appreciate the time you have taken to review the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast at the hotel and our changes being made are getting noticed. We are looking forward to the full refurbishment in early January 2012. Should all be completed by Australia Day 2012. Hope you can return in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    72
    39
    16
    9
See reviews for
27
48
18
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Whilst the room was nice the check in staff made no mention of my platinum status, no newspapers had been delivered to the hotel by 9am on the Sunday and the service at dinner was only average - I was only ever offered 1 opportunity to purchase a drink throughout the whole meal

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that our service did not meet your expectations whilst at the hotel.Our employees take pride in providing great customer service which was obviously not up to scratch on this occasion. I apologise for this. Your feedback has been taken on board and the relevant managers will strive to resolve the mentioned issues.

Enjoy your festive season.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN USA
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
184 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I found the hotel to be better on this visit.
More staff at reception, updated rooms and lobby.
I think the staff was also into their jobs.
I was upgraded to nice room. Loved it, but I do feel they should have added more ceiling lighting. Only 4 table lamps for light.
Bathroom was spotless and nicely updated.
I had room service. Not so bad.
My only complaint was cost of internet at AUD $25 per day- crazy!!!
I made the mistake to stay a second night and then travel (slowly) to airport. The morning traffic both days will convince me to limit my visits here in the future I think.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Pine129,

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that your experience wsa positive. The hotels refurbishment is due for completion in the New Year and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in the hotel. No complains. Price was reasonable compare to other alternatives we checked in a 5KM radius.

Room Tip: In our case we picked the hotel because its location - 5 minutes from our meetings place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Skatzav,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Norwest. We look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Being a gold member as well as an Intercontinental Ambassador I decided to book this hotel based on the reviews and convenience since it was close to family I am visiting in the area. Having stayed at Intercontinental Manhattan, and SF in last 2 weeks, I must have been spoiled with the service. There was no one to help with luggage. Definitely the most unfriendly front desk staff. Definately avoid if gold or platinum member as you will get none of the service that other hotels normally provide. On my second day I came back to room at 7 pm to find the room had not been cleaned despite requesting service before leaving at 1 pm. I thought housekeeping was the most basic service expected at a hotel. I am assuming they get away with the most basic lousy service as they seem to have a monopoly in the area. The shower seems to have a mind of its own. Goes from full pressure to a drip and back. Not a pleasant experience especially when it fluctuates between hot and cold. They should probably have lift #2 checked as it makes creaking noise while operating. There is no wifi in room so obviously they have not heard of IPad or smartphones. You have to go to lobby to use Internet unless you want to use the cable. The small 20 inch TV looks cute. Will add options later once I get a chance to experience other Hotels in nearby towns. Definitely one of my worst experience and I have stayed in hotels in 21 countries and spend 75+ days in hotels a year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Taz S,

Thank you taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. It is through your feedback that we can continually strive to improve both our hotel and our employees. My sincere apologies on the issues you have raised, our employees at the hotel endeavor to provide the highest level of customer service including our Housekeeping Department and it is unfortunate that you were not privy to this. I would like to guarantee our establishment’s operations are to the highest standard of safety, including our lifts which are serviced regularly. Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been followed up by the respective departments who appreciate your feedback, if you wish to discuss these further please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly on (02) 9634 9639 or email smm@crowneplazaorwest.com.au.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baulkham Hills hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I had to spend three nights at this hotel as part of a business trip and had low expectations.
Overall, however, it was a pleasant experience.
The room was large, with a balcony, a bath and a comfortable bed. The water pressure in the shower was excellent.
There was a shuttle bus which I could book to go to any local destination, whether it be restaurants or shops. Both the drivers were wonderful.
The restaurant was very good and I believe they had just employed a new chef.
I had, however, three negative experiences with reception staff. They were pleasant, but I think they were badly trained.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear Ozgypsy,

We appreciate your feedback on Crowne Plaza Norwest, we are pleased we exceeded your expectations. With the hotel refurbishment to be complete in the New Year we welcome new thoughts on the hotels changes and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie NSW
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

What a great experience. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out the hotel, the staff and the facilities were fabulous. The reception is impressive but not intimidating and the staff friendly, so that our first impression was one of welcome.

The room was sensational - simply all class.

We had intended to go out for dinner but a sign in the lift tempted us to look at the hotel restaurant and that evening they had an Indian meal special. The restaurant staff managed to squeeze us in, even though we had not booked and they were busy. The service was fast and the food, well the food deserves its own special mention as it was perfect . Beautifully presented with great sauces and wonderful taste, all combined with large servings. It doesn't get any better than that.

Even the check out process was done extraordinarily well, leaving us happy to recommend this hotel to ANYONE wanting a little pampering at a reasonable price. The easiest way to describe the experience is to recommend to anyone to book with confidance and be pleasantly surprised by a top hotel with top staff.

Room Tip: Just expect the best and be delighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaNorwest, Director of Sales at Novotel Sydney Norwest, responded to this review, December 19, 2011
Dear DavidH2000,

Thank you for your review on our hotel. It is great to hear the positive feedback regarding your stay and I will be sure to make a special mention to our new Executive Chef and his very competent team in the kitchen on your meal in Whispers Restaurant. We look forward seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ben Jamieson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Sydney Norwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sydney Norwest

Address: 1 Columbia Court, Baulkham Hills, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2153, Australia (Formerly Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Baulkham Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baulkham Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sydney Norwest 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the fastest growing business community in Sydney, and only 40 minutes from the Sydney CBD and only 15 minutes from Parramatta, Novotel Sydney Norwest offers you the best of both worlds. With the peace and tranquility of landscaped gardens and beautiful outdoor settings, coupled with our understanding of the needs of today's businesses, Novotel Sydney Norwest offers the perfect balance for corporate business and leisure travellers. Offering 132 superbly appointed rooms including Executive Spa rooms and Balcony King rooms. All rooms featuring king sized beds, tea & coffee making facilities, work desk, high speed internet access, in-room safe, ironing facilities, and cable television with pay per view movie. Hotel facilities include outdoor lap swimming pool, gym, restaurant and bar as well as conferencing facilities catering for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Sydney Norwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Norwest Sydney Hotel Baulkham Hills
Crowne Plaza Baulkham Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Sydney Norwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.