We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of Balmain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Berlin

Cafe Berlin
249 Darling St, Balmain, Sydney, New South Wales 2041, Australia
98102336
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 84 Restaurants in Balmain
Price range: $13 - $17
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The heart of Balmain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location - right in the middle of Darling Street, great atmosphere. Good coffee and tasty pastries/cakes

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Give up on the diet and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

OMG the carrot cake is amazing and what do I do have iced coffee. Now I am sugared out, but well with it. Sit out side and face the street, look up and enjoy the beautiful architecture before you.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star707, Sydney
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
521 helpful votes 521 helpful votes
“Tight Squeeze”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

There are too many restaurants and coffee shops in Balmain that offer good fare and coffee with enough space to move, for this Cafe to compete. It is best to buy take away coffee and a choose a lovely cake and go sit in the nearby park under a tree.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't pass by.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

You could be forgiven if you walked straight past this cafe. It's small, unassuming front makes it blend in with all the other cafe's, And it's only when you venture inside and try the food you realize why it's different.
I could review it, but it's best if you try it yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,692 reviews 2,692 reviews
1,533 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 349 cities Reviews in 349 cities
1,241 helpful votes 1,241 helpful votes
“Good basic German food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I've been here many times over the years but moreso when I just needed a break from fine dining or fusion food.
It is not great food but ceratinly you know you are eating German food.
I have not had breakfast here as many of the readers obviously have but I too can swear by the desserts - love the strudels.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Berlin also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.