We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Cracker!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Hotel

Riverview Hotel
29 Birchgrove Rd, Balmain, Sydney, New South Wales 2041, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Riverview Hotel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 105 Restaurants in Balmain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
187 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“What a Cracker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Isn't it great when you go to a restaurant with no great expectations and it turns out to be an absolute winner? Well thats what happened to us with the Riverview Hotel. Every time we go to Sydney we try a different Gastro pub in the hope of finding a little gem - even though some have been good, none compare to this place. Fantastic, superb, great all words that spring to mind.

The staff especially the manager was helpful but not pushy, good gastro pubby atmosphere upstairs (we went on a saturday night and downstairs was pumping) and the food - well it was brilliant. My wife though that the fig salad was the best fig salad she had ever had. Mains were also excellent (I had the pie and she had the Barramundi) and reasonably priced (for Sydney) and even though we don't normally have dessert, we shared one just to see what it was like (we had the lemon curd) and it was also great. When we are back in Sydney later this year we will definitely revisit and bring some locals who haven't discovered it yet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    37
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Why can't all inner city suburbs have places like this, Fun buzzy local pub downstairs great restaurant upstairs. As a visitor from across the ditch it made me wish i have moved to Sydney all those years ago.

It had the true "local pub' feel and is obviously well patronised by locals. If you are looking for somewhere to go in the Balmain area this is a must try

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The menu whilst small was interesting and diverse. The Lamb shoulder served on a wooden board surrounded by roasted veggies was to die for - falling off the bone. The service was excellent and it was very affordable, Great ambience, will definately retrun.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Function Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband recently had his 30th birthday at The Riverview. The service, the atmosphere and the food were exceptional. The super friendly staff went above and beyond to be helpful and make it the great night it was. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Little Neighborhood Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great little pub with really good food. This is a great place to stop in and get a beer and a little food if you're shopping in Balmain. It's an easy walk from the ferry pier also, so you can just hop over from the city.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.