We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Lunga

Marina Lunga
367 Darling St, Balmain, Sydney, New South Wales 2041, Australia
(02) 9810 0292
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 79 Restaurants in Balmain
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Been here quite a few times now as we live close by, as far as a local Italian restaurant that seeks traditional food that is very reasonably priced, you'd be hard done by to find something better in this price bracket. Ok, so the service isn't fantastic, but it more than makes up for it with its great food and atmosphere and it's byo too which is great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
2,595 reviews 2,595 reviews
1,470 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 344 cities Reviews in 344 cities
1,157 helpful votes 1,157 helpful votes
“Good basic Italian pasta and pizzas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Not fine dining but a fun atmosphere with good reliable pasta and pizzas.
Lively atmosphere, lots of fun and good flavoursome filling pasta and pizzas - good old-fashioned Italian that is always reliable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good quality pizza and pasta.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I got home delivery via MenuLog from this Restraunt. The pizza was great as was the pasta and reasonably priced. Got gourmet pizza

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

In the past two months I've been to this restaurant about three times.

Each time they have been consistent with supplying hearty, great tasting pizza with the perfect amount of toppings.

Their salads are good as well, along with their breads.

If you want a romantic time or fancy meals however, this isn't for you. I'd call this a family restaurant.

Bellissimo!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downhill badly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have eaten here probably 20 times over the last 10 years and Saturday night was the last. The comedy started when the waitress picks up my wifes bottle of Crown lager and berates her for bringing beer into the restuarant that they sell. Well someone other than you had actually taken a drinks order allready and it was bought from them. We let that one slide....

Can we get some water, sure about 30 minutes and 2 requests later. Can we actually get our entrees, sure after another 3 tabels that came in after had been served. The calamari was just packet stuff presented on a fancy plate.

More water please, sure another 20 minutes and 1 request later. Can we get our mains, sure after 3 requests and total time of about 2 hours from sitting down by now. Sent the veal back as it was tough and swimming in water from the school vegetable trays. The seafood platter for 1 looked awful but tasted OK and the pasta was OK, but just that.

Marina Lunga used to be special. Now I think we willjust go across the road and get the same or better emal for half the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Lunga also viewed

 

Been to Marina Lunga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Lunga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.