We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Sushi - Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumo Sushi Bar & Grill

Sumo Sushi Bar & Grill
17630 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160-2825
305-682-1243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Asian, Asian fusion
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The fish was all very fresh! I sat at the sushi bar & you could see that the fish was very fresh. I ordered the spicy octopus salad and all I can say is WOW!!! It was so good - thinly sliced & just enough spicy dressing over the cucumbers.
I then had a lunch special combo of sushi w/ terriyaki chicken. The combo had a miso soup, which was nothing special but good. The chicken was sauteed w/ carrots, onions, peppers & broccoli - all fresh cut vegetables & made to order.
The sushi was very good too. Tuna was just the right color of pink ... great lunch meal!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great sake!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We arrived late, just before closing, so of course the service was a bit lacking, however they had a sparkling sake that was to die for! A few of us wandered over from the Meat Market for dessert only, and they had a great brownie sundae! I highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Some of the best sushi I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We're no strangers to sushi so we were pleasantly surprised at how good this place was especially since it's in a little strip mall. We ordered edamame, steamed dumplings, and 4 sushi rolls. All deadly. Go here! And don't forget the saki. $10 for a whole bottle. Whoa! I walked home.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, WI
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FRESH SUSHI, GREAT PRICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We just got back from Sumo's and couldn't wait to write a review. The food was not only excellent, but the prices were great. We were surprised to find out they had a happy hour from 5:00-7:00 daily that included $3 California, Tuna, & Salmon Rolls, and $1/piece of 5 assorted sushis (Tuna, Salmon, Crab, Shrimp, and White Fish). We got one of each along with the California Roll, a Monster Roll (with pineapple) an order of Lobster Rangoon, Edamame, and Tempura Banana, and a $16 great bottle of Saki. We walked away stuffed and believe it or not, our bill was only $50. I wish we lived here so we could go back. Highly suggest everyone trying it. You won't be dissappointed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Little Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

High quality sushi at extremely reasonable prices. The people at Trump should take some lessons from them.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo Sushi Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Sunny Isles Beach, FL
 

Been to Sumo Sushi Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumo Sushi Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.