We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't quite as bad as I had expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wasn't quite as bad as I had expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband booked this hotel for our 2 night stay in Miami prior to a cruise. I was horrified once I read some of the reviews and was hesitant to even stay there. He used advanced purchase though so we went anyway...under the condition that we would pack up and change hotels if it was really bad. The good news is that we did not need to change hotels. Our room was clean. It had tile floors and was clean with a comfortable bed. The hotel is really old and quirky though. A lot of it looks original to the 1960's. The pool area was nice, although nothing fancy. They have a separate kiddie pool which is great for small children. The beach was nice, although, in addition to your resort fee you'll have to pay $35 a day for an umbrella and lounger. Your resort fee also does not include valet parking, which was $18 a day. This hotel is right on the edge of Sunny Isles Beach and Golden Shores Beach. Both are upscale beach communities that are fairly quiet. Perfect for a family who doesn't want to get in the middle of the action in South Beach. It's pretty far north though....you'll need a car if you want to do anything that is happening. Restaurants (including fast food), a mall, Whole Foods and drugstores are within a mile or two away. There is a great little pizza shop in the bottom of the hotel that is both reasonable and delicious. They also provide free breakfast (I guess that is what the resort fee covers). It's fine if you just want cereal, a bagel and a piece of fruit with your coffee.

Room Tip: Don't bother booking an intercoastal view room...you'll get a view of the street. If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Tina F,


Thank you for your honest feedback!


Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    305
    279
    174
    259
See reviews for
433
276
51
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The rooms of this hotel are normal. The service of the hotel is top standards and friendly. The view to the beach is a must, either during the morning, having your healthy breakfast or during the sunset. It has a very convenient private beach.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Felipeinspires:

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community!


Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have never been to Sunny Isles, Fl so was a bit nervous to reserve a room sight unseen especially since the reviews weren't that great. Regardless, we ended up staying here and found it to be wonderful. The room was clean and very nice! The views amazing! Pool was clean and nice! Beach was nice! Would definitely stsy again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear SandyL,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We are still in the hotel, its an OK family hotel.
Nice beds, very good pool and pool bar service...
One thing to criticize, is the lack of computerized concierge service. They have everything written on a book...sometimes they tell you for example, no package has arrived for you and its there on the book that it has!

Room Tip: Great value for money in Aventura-North Miami
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Julian Z,

We appreciate your review!

Thank you

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel i old (its was built a 60´s). My room had fernature original from that time. Bath its ok but no the big thing. Everything you see not oly seems old, it is old. Air conditioner was working well, but was very noisy
The room was clean and service was acceptable for 3 star hotel. Location is terrific. Bed had a great mattress. Overall - three star, as advertised.
I would recommend it for a short trip, The breackfast its poor and if you ask for eggs or baccon you must pay it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Trapo2,

Thank You for your review.
We appreciate your time.


Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure coast Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time, the staff was great, we had great clean room with ocean view. Rooms were reasonably priced. not close to MIA but close enough just to relax. Hope to see you again soon, enjoyed the beach, great restaurants locally and great suggestions from the staff where to go and eat.

Room Tip: Staff was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Gsous,

Thank you for your review!
We truly appreciate it.
Looking forward to having the opportunity to hosting another stay for you.

Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed eight days with my sister and cousin in April in Marco Polo and traveled there all the way from Finland, Scandinavia. We loved Miami!
Hotel room was clean, no bugs and only on one Friday night there was loud residents having party and keeping noice in corridors. The kitchenette equipment was poor, you could cook with that equipment maybe some soups only.

The big minus was that the Wifi didn't work at all during our 8 days stay. It was promised in advertisements but for 8 days I kept on trying with lousy success, the network was too busy and the net is very important when you travel on the other side of the world. We had to go to restaurants to get into net and contact our families. This was a huge disappointment. The reception kept on saying that maybe tomorrow or later in the week or after the weekend it might work better when the rush time is over. But it never worked!
If the internet is important for you, don't rely on their promises.

The breakfast was funny, with extra payment you could have got cheese and ham. Very strange system once you already have paid of your room including breakfast and we also paid separately of third person's breakfast. In two or three mornings there was omelette served, but when there was more residents, the omelette was missing totally. They really try to save in breakfast ingredients.

My cousin is suffering of celiac disease and this was informed for hotel in beforehand. Still happened that she got glutenfree bread only in 4 mornings of our 8 days.

Service in the hotel was friendly, mostly, but it really could have been better. Concierges were too busy and and once you reached one, only one of them really worked hard to get answers for you properly and to give very good service. One of them was even little bit arrogant and just waited to get rid of us and the questions.

About the pool - I was too allergic for all the chlorite amount they use and couldn't swim in that but most people seemed to enjoy it.

Terrace bar's lady was just great! Great service and friendly attitude! She knew how to treat customers.

Next time I might choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the next house and to north but still we had a view to the ocean and to the street. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear SAri69,

Thank you very much for your review!
I definitely remember your stay, because of the gluten free bread request. We apologize we were not able to fulfill all your request during your stay.
However, we will look into your feedback with my colleagues.

Please contact me directly should you have any questions.

Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Address: 19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Hotel North Miami Beach
Ramada Miami Beach
Ramada Marco Polo
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.