We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Walton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Michael the Pool Attendant was very helpful and courteous. Pool area very nice and also beach view. I only rated this resort excellent due to pool and beach services. Rooms old and rusty. Beds do have newer linens. What is called a breakfast buffet was horrible, even if included in price of room. Nice lobby and gift shop.

Room Tip: Rooms old and rusty, but newer linens. Not bad for a stay of 1-3 days, because of pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Paula O,

We appreciate your review.
Thank you for your mentions of our Pool Staff.


Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    258
    242
    153
    231
See reviews for
376
240
42
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU VALUE YOUR SAFETY! My husband and I stayed at the Marco Polo for 2 nights on a recent tour of the US, and I'm very glad that we had not booked in for any longer than this! The hotel is run down and very unappealling, on the inside and out. It should definitely not be advertised as 3 stars!! However this was not the worst point of our stay. First of all, when we arrived, we were told by a lady at the front desk that our room would be ready in about an hour. We understood this as we were a little early, so we went off to the local mall and returned about 2 1/2 hours later. The same lady then informed us that our room was still not ready, and that we could wait in the foyer until it was. I asked her how long it would be and she said quite rudely that she didnt know. So we waited another 1/2 hour until the room was finally ready. Upon entering the room it was old and musty, and the bathroom had long black hairs stuck all over the sink and shower, gross. Later on that evening we went to bed early and received a phone call at around 9.30pm. The man on the phone said he was from the front desk and that they had had a security breach and needed to collect our personal information again. Being half asleep, I almost gave these until he asked for my credit card details, at which point I hung up. I then called the front desk and asked if they had had a security breach, and the man said "oh no! We haven't! And I hope to god you didn't give them your credit card details!". He then went on to explain that scammers sometimes hack their phone line and call guests trying to hack their credit cards. I was extremely annoyed after this. Not only had I almost been subjected to credit card fraud, but the hotel actually knew that it was happening!!!! DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU VALUE YOUR SAFETY!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear fuzz_buzz88:

We are disappointed with your review regarding your past stay.
Please note we take all feedback very seriously and I would like to further discuss these issues.
Please contact me directly by phone and I will be more than willing to assist you with your concerns.

Regards from Sunny Isles,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Overall nice hotel, really liked the staff and service! Also well located, near bus stops if you don't have a car, Publix supermarket and the Aventura mall. A special thanks to Michael and Diego (he has great hair by the way lol) from the pool. They were really helpful and friendly and even entertained us through our first Miami thunderstorm! À bientôt les gars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Farinha H,

Thank you very much for your review!
We'll make sure to let Diego and Michael know of your mentions.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

besst regards From Sunny Isles.

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel has a big mold/mildew problem due to lack of proper cleaning in combination with the humid climate in addition to smelling like cigarette smoke. Note that when we asked for a non-smoking room I was informed that "the entire property is non-smoking, so not to worry." Well, clearly many of the guests have not heeded this warning as the hallways reek of smoke. Our bathroom has visible mold (dark brown and black spots the size of dimes and quarters) on the grout, tile, etc.... You could see mold underneath caulking as well.

My expectations for this hotel weren't high as the price and location meant it must not be fantastic, but I think for a little more money you could find a better value. The location would be 5 stars, while the hotel quality is 1 star. We stayed here so our young children could play more often with their cousins who live in an upscale property next door. There is also a fantastic kids park just across the street (access it through the parking lot garage) in addition to the beautiful beach. If you are on a budget and don't mind mold, this could be ok for you. I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Denverrun,

Thank you for your review.
Please note take pride in our Housekeeping Dept as well as our Maintenance Dept.
I wish I would've been reached while you were on property in order to assist you personally.



Pablo Martinez
Operation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We loved the attention from the wait staff as well as the prompt, friendly and efficient service from our valet attendants. Special mention to Diego , Concierge Service department.

The beach was sooo relaxing and fun and the ease of location for shopping and entertainment fabulous.
Way to go!

Room Tip: You could always supplement food to rooms based on individual preferences:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Yolanda S,

Thank You for your review and for mentioning one of our Concierge staff members! We'll make sure he gets your kuddos!

Looking forward to hosting another stay for you in the future.

Best regards

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Husband and I stayed for 18 days in February 2013. Our overall experience was very good until the valet parking gave our rental car to another hotel guest. Neither the valet attendant or the hotel guest realized that it was the "wrong" car. We were appalled and disgusted by the response and treatment given by management. It took over 3 hours to locate the car.
During this time we were frantic and worried about the possible serious consequences of this horrible mistake( ie. was the car stolen or in an accident and who would ultimately be responsible, etc). Upon our insistence, they offered us a free dinner for 2 at the hotel restaurant. We were allowed to choose from a fixed menu only, and the food and service were substandard. Needless to say, we were extremely disappointed, and are not returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: This is a condotel. Some of the room are rented by the hotel and the others by the owners of the con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear beachnut023,

Thank you for your review.
As you stated in the Room Tips portion, unfortunately, you did not book your stay with us (Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort) The stay was arranged thru a Private Owner and Valet Parking is indeed outsources as an extra service for our guests and for the Condo owners and their guests. Once again, in those situations, the hotel is not allowed to have any involvement at all.
Thank you for sharing your story, this way travelers will know the difference between booking a hotel room thru us and private condo owner.

Best regards from Sunny Isles,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hotel, staff and location was very good. Excellent beach location as well. Short walk or drive to nearby shopping. Patty at the pool bar was very helpful and nice in navigating the area. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Tivey2,

Thank you for your raving review and for the mention of our bartender Patty!!
We are happy you had a great time at our resort!

Best regards from Sunny Isles,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Address: 19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Hotel North Miami Beach
Ramada Miami Beach
Ramada Marco Polo
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.