We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff, dumpy accommodations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice staff, dumpy accommodations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hotel is in serious need of renovation. It felt dirty. The staff was very nice and accommodating when we needed help. The beach was littered with trash. The pool was okay. I would not stay at this hotel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear rignon,

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly disapointed with your recent review .
We have started soft renovations of the property such as the Lobby Area and now moving to the Meeting Space as well as Pool area/furniture.
Our beaches in Sunny Isles are rated as one of the Top Beaches in Florida and the country. The City of Sunny Isles does a great job keeping our beaches clean. We are very sorry to hear they were not at the time you were here.
We wish to invite you back in the future , please contact me directly at pablo@marcopolobeachresort.com

Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    216
    214
    142
    219
See reviews for
328
216
35
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a good, but old hotel. Needs a renovation.
They provide a good service and the people are committed, like Mrs Helena Alcantara, a very kind and responsive person. You should have more employees like her.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mauricio C,

Thank you very much for your recent review and your mention of Mrs Helena Alcantara!
We truly appreciate it and we'll make sure our entire staff gets a copy as a perfect example of a kind and responsible employee.

Best regards from Sunny Isles,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hotel was OK but we arrived at 8:15pm after our flight and all of the water/pool/beach amenities closed at 8:00. There was NOTHING to do within walking distance and we were without a car because we were leaving in the morning on a cruise. The Buffet breakfast was a complete ripoff. Also, There was loose wiring hanging beside the microwave. Save your money and stay a half mile closer to the Port of Miami at one of several chain hotels.

Room Tip: Save your money and stay a half mile closer to the Port of Miami at one of several chain hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear SGTB333,

We are disapointed to read about your recent stay with us.
Our Pool is definitely closed at 8:00 Pm as most hotels in the area are.
Regarding our breakfast, we keep striving to improve it day by day with more choices. Our BUFFET Continental breakfast is included for 2 people in the room, free of charge to the guests, however, we do have an "A la Carte" menu for guests that prefer a Full American Breakfast at an extra charge.
There are no Microwaves in our Buffet line, so we have never seen a loose wire in that area.
Our TNT Lounge with full bar and kitchen is open daily until Midnight, and until later on the weekends with live entertainment.
There are plenty of things to do in the area, even if you do not have a car , everything is a short cab ride away.

Please contact me directly at pablo@marcopolobeachresort.com if you wish to go over these issues.

Best regards from Sunny Isles Beach

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

By far the best part of the hotel was the pool bar and it's wonderful bartender Patty. A group of friends and I were there for the weekend and Patty always made sure to keep our glasses were never empty! She also knows how to make a great bay breeze!

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms were definitely worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear DaniIrish,

We are thrilled to read your review!
Thanks for your mention of Patty our Great Pool bartender.
We'll make sure she gets a copy of this.

Looking forward to the opportunity to hosting another stay for you and your friends in the future.

Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatom, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is in a good location. The room we had needed some serious updating. More importantly, a good cleaning would have helped. It looked as if it was just wiped over between guests. It needed deep cleaning. There was mold and hair in the bathroom. The beds seemed clean and comfortable. The service and security at the pool was good. The valets were very efficient. The Italian deli was the only eating establishment we tried and it was very good and great service. The other stores were never open when needed. After mainly vacationing along the beautiful beaches of the panhandle of Florida, this hotel and beach is only average. I would definitely not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. Maybe there are some better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear KBDonald,

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
We will make sure we share your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping. Also, we thank you for your mentions of the Security and Valet staff.
We constantly strive to make a good impression on our guests. We are remodeling many parts of the hotel and we will actually start on the Pool Are, such as new furniture.
We would love for you to come back and experience these changes.
Please contact me directly at Pablo@marcopolobeachresort.com

Our very best regards from Sunny Isles,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stay 2-3 times a year in this hotel and we see very positive changes!

The lobby is more and more elegant but in the same time friendly and offers many siting possibility.

Many new programs and service for the hotel guest!

The breakfast is better and better, 4 different fruits every day and the service is excellent even if there are many guests!

Special thanks for Stella for her excellent services and Rose for the very friendly and helpful relation with the guests!

Room Tip: Best rooms are oceanfront with balcony as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear George P,

We are very excited to read your review!
Thanks for sharing this with all the people out there trying to find out more about our hotel.
There is no better answer to frequent asked questions than the ones given by guests that have stayed with us.
We'll also make sure to get a copy of your kuddos to Stella in our Restaurant!
We look forward to welcoming you back in your next trip to Miami!
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best regards,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Going to make this quick. We stayed fr a family vacation. Most of the service was curt at best. Breakfast was dismal. Rooms were dim. There was a problem with our reservation so we had to wait 45 minutes in the lobby for substandard rooms given our rate. They did give us a nice discount, but in the meantime lost our rental which took 30 minutes to retrieve, since we hasn't checked in yet. The kicker was when one of our debit cards was flagged for fraudulent usage in Georgia after it was accidentally left in a cabinet.

The location is awesome right in front of some excellent beaches, and the pool is fantastic. All in all, I'd pass.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear dfogelson,
We are disappointed to hear about your recent stay feedback.
We'll make sure to get a copy to our Food & Beverage department regarding the Breakfast as well as to our Housekeeping and Engineering department regarding the light in your room.
We would like you to give us another opportunity in the future to let us amend your past experience.

Please contact me directly at pablo@marcopolobeachresort.com

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Address: 19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Hotel North Miami Beach
Ramada Miami Beach
Ramada Marco Polo
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;