We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Going to make this quick. We stayed fr a family vacation. Most of the service was curt at best. Breakfast was dismal. Rooms were dim. There was a problem with our reservation so we had to wait 45 minutes in the lobby for substandard rooms given our rate. They did give us a nice discount, but in the meantime lost our rental which took 30 minutes to retrieve, since we hasn't checked in yet. The kicker was when one of our debit cards was flagged for fraudulent usage in Georgia after it was accidentally left in a cabinet.

The location is awesome right in front of some excellent beaches, and the pool is fantastic. All in all, I'd pass.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear dfogelson,
We are disappointed to hear about your recent stay feedback.
We'll make sure to get a copy to our Food & Beverage department regarding the Breakfast as well as to our Housekeeping and Engineering department regarding the light in your room.
We would like you to give us another opportunity in the future to let us amend your past experience.

Please contact me directly at pablo@marcopolobeachresort.com

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    235
    244
    160
    222
See reviews for
316
214
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Enrique the Restaurant & Bar Manager has always been very courteous and gracious to my wife and me. Our favorite waitress, Stella, has always given us superb service. In addition, the lobby area of the hotel has been upgraded and modernized. The foyer areas outside of the elevator areas on each floor look very attractive. I feel the quality fo the hotel and the service provided is constantly improving. A genuine effort is underway to do things better and satisfy the guests. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Etan D.

We are thrilled with your feedback regarding the Hotel Service and your mentions of Enrique Arce (Food & Beverage Manager) as well as Stella (Breakfast Waitress).
We'll make sure these gets to them as it's always nice to hear such positive reviews.
Also, thanks for mentioning the Lobby renovation and letting the world know of our efforts to improve all hotel areas.

Our most sincere regards from Sunny Isles,

Pablo MartineZ
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My sister and I just returned from renting a room for a week at the Marco Polo from a private individual. The room was satisfactory, but the pool and beach area were by far the best. My sister and I went to Florida to enjoy the warm temperatures and love to be by the pool or on the beach. The pool was crystal clear, and the pool area was immaculate. Joseph greeted us every day as we entered the pool, and inquired how we were enjoying our stay. If you asked him or his staff for anything such as an umbrella, they went out of their way to accommodate you right away. We found out before we left that Joseph Loaiza was in charge of the pool and beach area. I have stayed at many places much newer and more expensive than the Marco Polo, but have never seen a pool and beach so well maintained!!! I hope the Marco Polo realizes what a gem they have in Joseph Loaiza.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear djs9171950m

Thanks for your recent review and for sharing your experience at our property!
We will make sure Joseph, our Pool Supervisor, gets a copy of your kuddos! It means a lot to all of us.
Looking forward to the opportunity to hosting another stay for you and your sister.
Please do not hesitate to contact the Hotel directly and for me.

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I am single female, traveling alone, with my dog (20lbs). I arrived at Hotel, a little nervous, but the hotel staff was so nice to me and made me feel very safe!!! The hotel goes out of their way to accommodate their guest, especially Ms. Manderson that works the front desk. The hotel is extremely dog friendly...dog has to weigh less than 20lbs. Its not a new hotel, but it offers great customer service and a safe feeling!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Lakesha D,
We truly appreciate your feedback!
We also also appreciate your mention of our Front Office Manager Paula Manderson, we'll make sure she gets a copy of your kuddos!

best regards from Sunny Isles,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niverville, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

We were in a condo so can't comment on housekeeping but everything else was wonderful....heated pool,right on the beautiful beach,convenient to shops and restaurants,safe area for walking, great help at the desk, polite service from valet parking and pool attendants and best of all two weeks of sunny weather!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Embarcon,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and let the world know of your stay with us!
We look forward to hosting another stay for you!

Best regards from Sunny Miami!

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This place is ok.i don't like that the pool closes so early 8:00 or that they do not have a hot tub. The tiki bar is nice but with over priced drinks which is very normal for a tiki bar.they serve food also which is ok.the hotel staff is great.the owner is very nice as well and they have the best pizza place ever downstairs in lower lobby.this hotel has Jewerly stores stores with bags purses etc and then stores with chips clothes cig and more.they have valet parking and those guys are very nice but one of the ladies with the keys is an butt and one of the ladies r a sweetheart u will know who is who..but all together great place to stay

Room Tip: One that's been recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kristienrocky,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us!
We are actually thinking about extending the hours of Operation of the Pool , but that's most likely happening this coming Summer! We will also let our Valet staff about your feedback.

We hope to have the chance to host another stay for you in the future.

Best regards from Sunny Isles,

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My initial conversation was with Wendy in reservations, when I called to book for pre and post cruise stays. I told her that both my wife and I had stayed at the hotel over 30 years before and had many positive memories. I also told her that I had read some negative reviews and she assured me that we would not be disappointed. I explained that we were arriving on an early a.m. flight and would probably be exhausted. She noted my situation and told me that once we had arrived that they would alert the cleaning staff and we would be given the first room available. Upon our arrival at the hotel at 8:30 am, we were greeted with respect and understanding and we had our room in less than 20 minutes. The room was clean, the view was spectacular, the location was perfect, and, the beds were incredibly comfortable. We were extremely pleased by our choice and couldn't wait to go back after the cruise.

The hotel has been around for a long time, and I am sure that with the effort put in by the staff that the hotel will be around for a long time.

Can't wait to go back next year!!!!

Room Tip: Spend the extra dollars and get a balcony and ocean front, it's worth every dime!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloBeachRes, Operations Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Brian H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for recognizing our Agent WENDY!
We are printing a copy of your kuddos for her.

We look forward to the opportunity to hosting another stay for your!

Please feel free to contact me directly.

Pablo Martinez
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Address: 19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Hotel North Miami Beach
Ramada Miami Beach
Ramada Marco Polo
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.