We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed for two nights here without planning ahead (we were supposed to go to NY but were prevented by Hurricane Irene). It seems as though many, if not all, of the rooms are privately owned and furnished. I was almost in tears when I walked into our room. There were horrible tiles on the floor, the paint was peeling off, the roof was stained, it did not look very clean and there was an assortment of mostly useless furniture around the room (heaps of bookshelves etc) - it seems as though it was furnished exclusively from garage sales. It looks even worse than it seems to come out in the photos. The service was slow and most of the staff that we dealt with had trouble understanding English. The valet service was expensive, but you don't have much choice as there is no car parking available. It is not really close to anything so you will need a car. The breakfast buffet was awful. The beach out the front of the hotel is nice and the pool is quite good but other than the outside features, I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay at our resort. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our Olympic sized swimming pool and the beach. We also realized that there were some missed opportunities to showcase our service and updated rooms, for this we sincerely apologize.

Our resort boasts a very diverse staff which makes interaction easy with our many international guests. Nevertheless, all employees are required to speak English while on duty and we have reminded all department heads to reinforce this essential duty. We have since identified the room and have removed it from our inventory pool.

Our valet fee of $18 is published on our website you may have overlooked this. There is a complimentary neighborhood shuttle located at the front of the resort which takes guest to the Aventura Mall, shops, cafes and restaurants along the route.

Should your travels bring you back to the Miami Beach area, please contact me directly so that I may personally assist you in making a memorable guestroom experience. We do hope that you will return to our resort for another stay, as we would love the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    260
    245
    155
    232
See reviews for
377
241
42
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed ten nights in this hotel (Oct. 21-31.2011) and were positively surprised of the rooms and the service. My wife and I had a spacious room without balcony in the 10th floor and our boys had similar room in the 4th floor with balcony. Both rooms had a small kitchen corner and were facing to pool and to the ocean. Rooms and bathrooms were clean and were cleaned every day and no problem with the showering. Plenty of water coming out the tap, which has not been the case on two of our previous visits to different Miami Beach hotels. One little thing to mention is that the toilet overflow twice in our boys room, but the help arrived there without any delay and problem was fixed right away. Breakfast was simple but enough good to get the day started. Nothing to complain about the valet parking it worked fine only one morning we had to wait one hour for the car. Our incoming call was not acknowledged at the valet desk. We liked the beachfront location of the hotel, but there are no stores or restaurants near by the hotel. You need to drive or take taxi to go to closest supermarket or restaurant. Aventura Mall and Hallandale shopping center are only 2 to 3 miles away and you can find everything you need in these places. I can recommend this hotel to visitors who are looking for nice and quiet place to stay, but not to those who are looking for lively night life and partying.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort on your most recent visit to the Miami area. Our oceanfront resort located in the upscale neighborhood of Sunny Isles Beach offers many room categories in a family and pet friendly environment.

We are happy to read that you were happy with the cleanliness of the room and the quick response of our maintenance team to your requests. We serve an upgraded continental buffet breakfast each morning in our Ocean Terrace restaurant overlooking the ocean. The breakfast includes items such as scrambled eggs, fresh fruits, hot oatmeal, muffins etc which is appeasing to most of our guests.

The valet management team was sent a copy of your notes regarding the retrieval time of your vehicle. There is a complimentary city shuttle located at the front of the resort with routes to Aventura Mall, shops and cafes along Collins Avenue.

Thank you for selecting our property and we wish to host you on your future visits to the Miami area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I booked travel for students attending an academic conference at a college near the hotel. Since our college was paying for travel I submitted a form in advance so that the students room fees would be charged directly to the college's credit card. The hotel confirmed receipt of the form and then lost it. When the students arrived, they would not let them check in, even though I gave them the name of the agent who said she'd received the form. The reservations agent working at the time refused to speak to me to clear up the situation. (I could hear him saying "I can't talk to her" via the student's phone.) The hotel staff insisted that I refax the form. Mind you, this happened during a freak snowstorm that had much of CT and MA without power, fallen trees and downed power lines. They were unwilling to retake the credit card information so I had to drive to work on the weekend only to fax the form to a number that wasn't working. I had to then ask the person in reservations if there was another fax number I could send the form to. The students complained that their professor's room had bugs, the shuttle service was never on time and the reservations agent was completely unhelpful. I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our resort. We are disappointed that your visit with us was not as pleasant as we would have all liked.

Management is currently reviewing the details of the incident to determine the disconnection with the form and the handling of the incident. This is an unusual situation as our resort is a great venue for hosting groups of all sizes and has done so successfully over the years. Nevertheless, we appreciate your review and will ensure that there are measures in place to avoid a recurrence.

Upon investigation we learned that our staff was never informed that there were bugs present in the room; if this were so our staff would have relocated the guest and carried out a thorough inspection of the room. It is unfortunate that the shuttle service was tardy; however, the shuttle service was organized by the university and was not coordinated by our resort staff.

We appreciate your feedback which helps in improving our service delivery and we hope you appreciate our attention to your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I along with our 8 yr old son stayed here. They restrict just about everything. Can't eat at the pool, you can take so many towels and the charge to get a chair at the beach is $35! Our room was 60 degrees. Floors were cold. Very uncomfortable. Security guards kept staring us at the pool area. My wife felt very uncomfortable. Our son started crying since they had no kids activities at all.....nobody was walking around the hotel. We just felt we were at a funeral. Stay away if you have kids....we will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to leave a comment on your recent stay at our resort.
Our management team is disappointed to learn that you had encountered a few challenges during your stay with us. As a general rule, food bought off property is not allowed to be consumed in our food and beverage outlets.

There are a few packages available for the chairs and umbrellas on the beach. The price that was quoted is the daily rental fee, there are more inexpensive options available starting at $10.
Each room has an adjustable temperature control unit. Our guest services team would have gladly explained how to control the temperature in your room. Our security management company was sent a copy of your comment. Your note has given us the opportunity to increase the visibility of our kids’ activities at our resort.

Again, thank you for visiting our resort and for leaving a note regarding your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel is old, but it looks well mantained. My room was excelent, but I booked an upgraded room oceanfront. The room was really clean and the kitchen was beautiful and really good equiped. Breakfast was good, with eggs, cheese, breads, pastries, milk, cereal, coffee, juice, fruits. The pool was old, but it was fine and clean. Beach was excelent!

Room Tip: Book an oceanfront upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for leaving a comment on your recent stay with us at the Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach resort.

Our resort was built in 1967 and in 1995 our resort was completely renovated. Our vintage resort is oceanfront situated on a beautiful golden sandy beach with great views from most of the rooms. We have renovated over 70 % of the rooms over the last two years and have a renovation program in place currently for the remainder.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your assigned oceanfront room and that you were impressed by the beauty of the kitchen. Our resort boasts a temperature controlled Olympic sized swimming pool and a kiddie’s pool.

Also, we are glad that you were able to enjoy a few of our amenities during your visit such as our continental buffet breakfast which is a crowd favorite.
Again, thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your positive experience at our resort and we hope to host you on your next visit to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed few days, for those price service acceptable and plus location. But I got filling like I get in late 80's. Defiantly need some restoration and new furniture

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Our oceanfront resort is very attractive to our repeat customers for its location, competitive pricing and host of amenities. We are happy to read that the location and service level were to your liking.

There is currently a project in place to remodel the rooms and renovations and remodeling are moving along smoothly. Feedback from guests who have stayed in the renovated rooms has been positive so far.

We appreciate our guests’ feedback and use the comments to measure and improve upon our service and product offering. Once again, thank you for leaving a comment and we hope to host you on your next visit to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here for one night with my bf during mid September. We are from Australia and were travelling around the East coast. We originally booked a room without a view but when we arrived we were upgraded to a ocean view room for free - a very nice surprise :-) It was a lovely view. The room was nothing flash but nice and clean. The pool area was nice and you could walk straight out to the beach, but once again nothing flash. The staff at the hotel were very helpful when it came to getting taxis and assisting us with the car rental. Breakfast was free. We didn't mind it but nothing flash. Unfortunately there was no free wi-fi internet and we were charged over $20 for making a short local call from our room. This place seems like it would be great for families but not couples. Also if you want to experience the party life of downtown Miami this place is too far away.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MPolo96, Manager at Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, a family friendly resort located in the beautiful upscale neighborhood of Sunny Isles Beach, a short commute to South Beach.

We are delighted to read that our valet and front desk staff were very helpful in helping to organize your stay with us. We are also happy that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from your room and our Olympic sized swimming pool.

We are happy to read that our valet and front desk staff were courteous and that your room was clean and comfortable. Local calls are free of charge; there is complimentary wireless internet throughout the resort.

We value your comments which help in our daily decision making process and hope to host you on your next visit to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort

Address: 19201 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Wyndham, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Hotel North Miami Beach
Ramada Miami Beach
Ramada Marco Polo
Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Marco Polo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.