We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip off!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a rip off!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

We,a party of four, went to the Wesgate in Nov. 2006 through Sunterra. NEVER AGAIN!!! Although the 2 bedroom apartments were roomy,during the 2 weeks we were there the bed linen was not changed and the rooms were not cleaned.The carpets were so dirty the soles of our slippers were black. Thankfully we went to the Keys for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The only advantage to the resort was the beach. Beautiful! There is only one place to eat out close by otherwise you need a taxi to get to South Beach. The whole of the area was one massive building site. Mother found walking difficult and used a wheelchair ( loaned by the resort and the only good thing about the place), but it was not easy to get around. Don't book any trips through the resort, they are a rip off! We went to the Everglades.It took over an hour to pick up everyone, then the airboat ride was taken up by the driver/pilot taking photos of all the occupants (with their cameras) from outside the boat, and then back to the landing stage. We saw 1 alligator and an escaped iguana. The ride was followed by a wild life show with a few small alligators, a toad, a scorpion, a skunk and a puma cub. The snack bar/shop had exhorbitant prices-$2.50 for a bottle of water.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness, isolation from South Beach
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    748
    483
    307
    391
See reviews for
974
615
84
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fayetteville, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

I was first assigned a delapidated one bedroom unit. The bedspreads were torn and worn, the carpet was ripped, the upolstery was dated and shreding at the seams. When I complained, I was eventually moved to a "remodeled" studio, the size of a closet. There are no amenities on site. The staff is rude and uncooperative.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2007

This hotel, although a little a dated, was comfortable, clean and good value for money. Its older and smaller than the rest in the area but appears to be carrying out some refurbishments. Our room was spacious and had a small kitchen area with microwave, fridge etc. The plus points are its location, its beach and the pool area. It is only a short drive down Collins Avenue to south beach but also has good access to the I95 to get to other areas of Miami. Very close to Aventura Mall for shopping. Valet parking is offered a the Hotel for 15$ a day or self parking for 10$ per day. We used the self parking which was just across the road and this worked out perfect for us. No waiting on Valet to bring your car and the self parking really is close by. Had the Buffet breakfast once in the hotel but 12$ just seemed a bit much for the amount we eat in the morning. We preferred to use Einsteins which is just across the road. In the evening we used a great Restaurant/Bar which again was across the road and 200 metres north on Collins. Don´t remember its name but its just after Einsteins and looks onto the main road. It has some outside seating, great food and friendly staff. Papa Johns for great Pizza is also close by. Can´t comment on the Hotels restaurant because we didn´t eat there. We did read some bad reviews on this hotel prior to our trip but we would certainly use it again as our experience of the hotel was good.

  • Liked — Location & Beach
  • Disliked — Smelly Basement
  • Tips/Secrets — Use Self-Parking, Breakfast & Dinner across road, Hire a Vehicle
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAlester, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2007

Wow, I don't know how this hotel/resort is still in business. Especially in the location where they are. My step-father and mother (who live part time in the area) invited the entire family down for the Christmas break to stay through New Years. At first we had reserved two 2-bedroom suites. One for my brother (who was coming down a day eailer) and One for my family. When my brother arrived, they had already given away both of our rooms with no explanation why. Instead of his room, they gave him two 1 bedroom rooms, which didn't work out so well because of his small children. They also gave us two 1-bedroom rooms which were suppose to be side by side. My step-father had everything arranged so that when we arrived all we had to do is pick up the room keys at the front desk. When we arrived they had already given our second room away AGAIN!. And again had no explantation why. After three days my brother finally got his 2 bed suite, and we never got the room that was originally booked, or two rooms side by side which made our trip very unpleasant. The beds where hard as rocks, the made surface what horrible, and it took us two days to get a TV remote that was missing out of our room. Also, we were not the only ones having trouble, almost everyone in the hotel at that time had some kind of complaint. If you are going to stay in the area, they are much nicer and less expensive hotels without all the hassel. The only good thing I can say for this resort is that there are plently of things for the kids to do, but of course it costs extra.

  • Liked — childerens actitivies
  • Disliked — staff/service
  • Tips/Secrets — go somewhere else
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

We booked one night accommodation for mid November and arrived early (~8am) having just hopped off a cruise ship. We expected not to be able to check in, and just wanted to drop our bags off. What we didn't expect was the brisk "too early for check in!" we got upon walking up to the front desk, without a hello, or good morning. We left our bags, and arrived back at about 3.30 pm only to be told that our fully prepaid reservation would not be honoured because another guest had decided to stay an extra night. Newport paid for us to stay at another resort at Hollywood Beach which we were thoroughly disappointed with, and told us they would refund our prepayment. They also offered to pay for our transport to that resort (we had no car), but the money they gave did not cover the taxi fare.

When we arrived home I set about trying to get our prepaid reservation back and Newport were unhelpful with this (presumably because it was booked through a 3rd party). Perhaps they can't assist, but if this is the case, I'd prefer to have been told. The refund has not yet been credited.

At no point were we offered an apology for the inconveniences we incurred.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

Arrived here after a red eye from South America. It was 7:30 am and I knew there was a good chance my room wouldn't be ready. It wasn't, so they gave me a free voucher for their buffet breakfast, and told me that it would be most likely only 30-45 minutes before a room would be ready. The breakfast was pretty good. Nothing gourmet but it had an omlet bar, waffle bar, fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. The service was very good.
The room was not ready until 9:30. When I got to the room, the whole floor (4th) was under renovations. I think it will be quite nice when it is done. The room was nothing special. The bathroom floor had not been cleaned. The hotel has a nice beach, a decent pool, and is within walking distance to other restaurants. Overall, not a bad place to stay if the rate is good. I got it for $50 through hotwire, which seemed like an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Newport Nov 17th thru 24th and also visited same time last year. We absolutely love it there ! I will say that we were excited to see that they were in the process of making some renovations. Yes, the rooms are a bit dated, but no complaints about our room's cleanliness. Maid service was excellent and they were very friendly. The only downside to our visit was that Miami set record cold temps for that time of year. The hotel made every effort to make the guests stay a positive one in spite of the cold weather. They provided roundtrip shuttle service one day to South Beach for only $5 per person. They moved the Bar and Recreational Activities inside. We also found an excellent restaurant during our stay this year. It is located across from the hotel in the shopping complex behind CVS Pharmacy. It's called San Telmo. It's an Argentine Steakhouse with some of the best food I have ever tasted. We look forward to our stay at the Newport again next year !!!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Groupon and Hotels.com so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.