We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport Beachside = cheap and u get what u pay for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BED & BREAKFAST
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Newport Beachside = cheap and u get what u pay for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were stalked by a marketing rep from The Newport
Beachside Resort at the home show in Miami Beach. We paid $99.00 for a package, which required attendance at a sales presentation. We received free spa days, lobster dinner at Kitchen 305. So we more than tripled our investment. Then we were able to book a long weekend over Labor Day weekend 2013. The valet parking is $21 per day. Self parking is $15 dollars per day, but they didn't offer the self parking voucher on check in. The line to check in was a 15-20 minute wait. (I never have to wait to check in with Hilton Honors.) Upon check in, Cedric offered superior bell man service with champagne. Because we bought a promotional package, we were put in a unit without a balcony with a view of A1A and u could see the ocean if you walk all the way to the north side of the window and look right. We tried to upgrade for $50 per night, but there were no ocean view rooms available. This is a resort which was a hotel conversion, so the majority of the rooms are still hotel room size. Although it was presented to us as a time share, but this is not comparable to any of the time shares we have previously visited. We were sold a "one bedroom" unit, but the actual unit is a hotel room size and the unit was an efficiency with a queen bed, a couch which pulls out to a bed. There is no kitchen, only a microwave and small refrigerator. No coffee maker in the room to speak of. There is an ironing board and iron, but the iron ruined a dress when I pushed the steam button and gunk poured out of the iron. There is no washer/dryer in the unit, which is pretty much standard in all time share units. There were no dishes, silverware or other in room amenities. The first sign if poor maintenance was the carpet in the hallway was warped, had huge areas where it was not stretched or nailed down. The unit dies have a nice jacuzzi, but the tub is difficult to operate and there were numerous large chips out if the tub. The entire hotel is non- smoking, so if u want a cigarette u have to go downstairs and outside. The pool is open til 10:30 pm, but there are no towels available at night. The large jacuzzi by the pool was shut down and roped off. No sign or anything. The pool was not crowded in the early evening, but during the day it's packed with unsupervised children making it miserable for adults seeking tranquility. There is a spa, but it does not compare with any of the spas I have ever been to (scuzzy, cheaply decorated, bad locker room set up, etc). We were required to attend a 90 minute presentation for Century Holidays, which extended into 2 1/2 hours, with no food being served except popcorn and lemonade. I almost passed out from low blood sugar. We told the salesperson that we were not going to buy straight out. But, he still kept us basically hostage for 2 1/2 hours, from 11 to 1:30. This property does not compare to the HGVC equivalent in South Beach! (And the South Beach HGVC is a couple of small Art Deco hotels hooked together. ). There is entertainment nightly in the Kitchen 305, with free drinks for ladies. There are excellent eateries within walking distance
And a CVS, Marshall's, Einstein's Bagels and more. There are nice shops in the lobby, including a jewelry store with $5.00 specials. There was a nice couture sale in the lobby near the Kitchen 305, but nothing I could not obtain in any thrift shop in Miami-Dade County. There is free wi fi in the resort, but I would not purchase a unit in this resort even if it was super cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank archdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have been staying at this resort since it was owned by westgate in 1999, however the last 3 years we have stayed the service and rooms got worse and worse. This trip was theist straw. Imagine checking in to a room about 530 after traveling all day just to open the door and see trash, bathroom toiletries and an unmade bed! After calling the front to explain the room was clean we got moved to the oldest room they could find that wasn't stocked with cutlery, plates, coffee machine, nothing. There was also a piece of hair in the tub, not wanting to move again we decided to stay in the room but the 5days we were there not one person apologized for what happened or even cared, not even the person who checked us out who asked how was my stay!! Soon as I told her she just printed out the bill and said review your charges. The lady named Irma that works the pool bar will come to the beach and patio to ask if you want something once, bring you a bill and never come back! I even asked to keep the tab open and she went to everyone else except for us. Don't stay here unless you don't care how you are treated!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trav201345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at the NBH as a mix of business and pleasure. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful for both check-in and check-out. We did experience an issue with the AC but the manager on duty resolved the issue for us quickly. The rooms are nothing extravagant but were clean and comfortable. However, the location ... excellent. Close to South Beach without being too close to the noise. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemphisTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I had our wedding ceremony and reception here at Newport Beach Resort. We can honestly say we had the best time ever. Abby was our event planner and she was on top of things since day one (we only gave her a week to plan this event!) She gave us the assurance that everything was going to be taken care and she did as promised and even more. Just when we were coming out to get married we had rain, she quickly moved the staff to a "Plan B" inside room and in just in about 15 minutes we were getting married and had a great time as well. The level of professionalism and care was top notch, and certainly made everything a lot easier for us. Our food was incredible, we are so happy with the end result that can’t wait to get back. All of our family and friends will remember this day as a perfect and beautiful evening. We are very thankful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Total scam,
We got a family package to his resort because they were promoting that it was renew and cheap, but no no no.... the hotel still old, the carpets and cortins were so old and damage and dirty , i mean not even vacum, the breakfast it was so not good, the pool it was from like 30 years ago.
And they make go to one of this 90 min obligatory presentations were they try to sell you this super expensive packages with super trained sellman, it was just so bad, I dont recomended to anybody!
Please stay away from this company.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DahianaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The media advertising will always act, in the end, against the interests of the hotel and ulimately and sadly, the guests. This hotel is competent and well - equipped. We had not been there since 10 years previously. In spite of its claims to newness and increased competence, our return visit demonstrated that this new effciency was of a purely superficial nature.
There is ample reason for it to be immensely better - both in service & cuisine. And, I should add, a great deal cheaper.
Rather than having had a superficial improvement, the structure, running and service of this hotel could be immeasurably better! It does not begin to compare with the service and standards of a comparable European hotel.
The additional services which have been provided are expensive, slight and - by Europen standards - hugely expensive.
A great disappoinment!

Room Tip: Not a good deal. Forget the carhire & other 'internal' services
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have been vacationing at the Newport Beachside Resort for about 15 years now. We love the location and the fact that it's reasonably priced. The hospitality of the employees is genuine, especially Michelle and Amos! They go out of their way to make our stay extremely enjoyable. We plan on returning to the Newport for many years to come!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikkle111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#2 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#4 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel M...
#8 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#158 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 3,006 reviews
8.2 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing