We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very easy to find and right on the ocean. At check in, the attendant told us, "you have a very nice room." We had booked a city view to save money, and didn't know what to expect as we walked the hallway to our room. We were happily surprised to see an "executive suite" plaque on our door! Just for the upgrade, we're giving this place a 5! Granted, the lights in the bedroom were shorted and mainly didn't work, but wasn't important with the floor to ceiling window providing an ocean view and natural lighting. The service was ok, but the place was very packed. Beach was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    643
    402
    259
    331
See reviews for
828
515
72
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had the all you can eat lobster, it's true you get all you can eat. Had the buffett breakfast. Had several cocktails at the tiki bar swam in the pool and ocean admirded the view of the lobby went on the bus trip to Coconut Grove, South Beach and the Gables with a boat trip out of Bayside downtown. Great fun!

Room Tip: Beach front if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I booked this resort, because of the AAA diamond rating and the AAA discount. This was our first trip to Miami, and our stay was great. The people and service were superb. We were treated excellent. Our room was a partial ocean view that was incredibly beautiful.

Pros:
The quality you get for the price
The ocean or partial ocean views are incredible
The swimming pool was decent and clean
The beach is foot steps away from the hotel
The valet service was great
The restaurant has great theme nights. All you can eat Maine Lobster night.
The lobby is luxurious
Close enough to south beach, but far from the craziness.
Ideal for family vacations

Cons:
Part of the pool was under repair
There was no jacuzzi
They try to sell you into a vacation club, like a timeshare. I didn't mind the presentation, but I didn't like that they told us 90 minutes and then kept us for hours. I left my baby in the room with an adult, but I didn't expect to be held for so many hours.


Overall, I really liked the hotel, because it is ideal for families. The beach was secluded and ideal for children. South beach is further down Collins Ave about a 15 min drive, but we didn't mind that. because we had children present. The beach was clean and the resort was clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial ocean room - it is worth the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Is confuding, they say that if you go to hear them for 90 minutes you have a voucher for 100 to discount from the bill. As we didn't wanted to buy their offer the got us for almost 3 hours!!! It was awfull. The hotel is good, but we didn't receive very good attention from the front desk.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled all over the world! I have never been to a place claiming to be a resort where you compete with locals for beach chairs and tiki huts. The spa runs out of robes. You make reservations for dinner and still wait an hour to be seated. You ask for butter and get olive oil. The servers are drinking with the locals. The locals blast music. Tips are automatically included in everthing you purchase no matter how terribe the service you receive! AAA should be ashamed to endorse this place! I have never had such horrible accomodations on vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is my 6th time staying here and the hotel never fails to dissapoint me. It is a very old and tired hotel with a renovated lobby. They nickel and dime guests for everything! Get ready to pay $15 a day for resort activities, even if you don't participate. Some rooms have been renovated, yet in the six years I come, I still got an old, very outdated room. Last night I went to 5 drink vending machines on different floors to purchase water and gave up when they were all out of everything and finally "ate" my money. The lights and AC are very loud. My 20" old style TV won't shut off. I had to call housekeeping because they took my dirty towels and didnt leave us with a single towel in the room. Yuck! I am willing to give my timeshare away for free!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We ended up going here for the day since the presentation is done here. They gave us full access to the private beach and the pool. The beach was nice but a bit windy that day. They charged for the lounge chairs with umbrella though. The pool was not a big one but was enough for the number of guests that day. The lobby looks really nice though. The valet parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Address: 16701 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.