We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautiful lobby but that's about it. Once you see your room you will wonder how such a dirty and dilapidated hotel room belongs with such a gorgeous lobby. We stayed on the 8th floor for one night only, thankfully. There was no way I was staying longer. The furniture was outdated, the sofa was filthy. The shower had mold around the faucets and the ceiling's paint was peeling. Once faucet broke off in my hand and there was caked mold underneath. Tried to change room, but they were fully booked. And to top it off, to our absolute horror, the elevator opened its doors and then dropped three feet!!! Everyone in the elevator screamed. Someone getting out would surely be crushed. Notified the front desk, but the elevator continued to be in service.
The location is perfect, and the pool was nice. However, while sitting poolside I was distracted by the language of an employee working around the pool straightening chairs. He was busy picking up and then hanging out with two teen girls. With his name tag on, he cursed nonstop in conversation with many young kids swimming close by.
I won't stay or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    605
    378
    250
    327
See reviews for
789
482
70
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was my 4th time at this hotel and I truly think this is a good valuable place to stay if you don't want to spend a lot of money and be in an excellent location. The pool/beach area is nice and big and it has also a pool for children. The rooms are big enough for a small family and some of them has a sliding door to convert the room in two separate spaces, each one with a TV. Not all the rooms has been updated but even the oldest ones are not too bad. Free wifi in your room, good breakfast. And the best thing: it's location, Sunny Isles Beach is THE PLACE to stay. One thing you need to have in mind: weekends at the Newport are a little crazy, too many people at the pool, extremely noisy. They use the pool for private events and once we were asked to leave the pool for an hour because of this (...that was bizarre).

Esta es la 4ta vez que voy a este hotel y pienso seguir volviendo, la relación calidad/precio es óptima (se consigue a muy buen precio en hoteles.com). El area de pileta-playa es genial para ir con chicos, las habitaciones son espaciosas y muchas tienen una puerta corrediza para convertirse en 2 dormitorios separados. Algunas habitaciones no han sido remodeladas aún y lucen un poco viejas pero nada grave, estan en buenas condiciones. El desayuno es bastante bueno. El hotel tiene WiFi gratis en las habitaciones aunque la calidad de la conexion a internet no es muy buena. La zona, Sunny Isles Beach, es la mejor de Miami Beach.
Los fines de semana el hotel se llena mucho y el área de la pileta es un poco caótica (hay momentos donde se hacen fiestas privadas como casamientos y hasta han llegado a desalojar a los huéspedes para esto).

Room Tip: Best views form 6th floor and higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and enjoyed our stay here. The location is perfect and this hotel lies between south beach and ft. Lauderdale. Oleta national park is close and you can get buses to go downtown or south beach. We liked the service, food and lobster night in restaurent.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Newport Beach Hotel before and have had rooms that ranged from creepily old to nicely refurbished. It is always a surprise to see which caliber of room we will get. What has not been a surprise before is whether we get our room or not. Here is what happened to us most recently--- We booked our room and paid in advance in December for a March arrival. We arrive the day of our reservation, paid receipt in hand only to be told by the clerk at the front desk that our reservation is on hold in the system and the hotel is overbooked. They are totally full! They have a room for us at the Marco Polo several miles up the road. I happen to know that the Marco Polo is an inferior hotel. And at any rate, I did not book and pre-pay for the Marco Polo. I booked and pre-paid for the Newport Beach. And I paid for the room so it is my room... Whether I use it or not. After some back and forth where I finally told them to set up beds in the hotel lobby that they finally, miraculously, found us a room at the Newport Beach. Never ever again will I stay at this hotel. They seem to have a bait and switch policy where they accept your money and then downgrade you to a cheaper room somewhere else. This sounds like a scam or consumer fraud.

Room Tip: Demand a refurbished room, don't accept being shuttled to a cheaper hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I were on vacation in Miami last week and we stayed at the Newport. The hotel is on the north end of the barrier island, which suited our needs just fine. There was easy access to Aventura Mall (2nd largest in Florida), South Beach, Biscayne Bay, Bayside Market (shops, boating, taverns etc), and downtown Miami via the bus system. Our bedroom suite overlooking the pool gave us a wonderful view of the aqua blue ocean and the sounds of waves as we sat on our balcony. Breakfast buffet and the morning paper came with the room. The buffet was plentiful and a good way to start a morning of touring. Housekeeping was excellent and quick; the pool and beach areas were meticulously cleaned everyday. Whether we were swimming in the pool or walking the beach, the Newport staff was always friendly and helpful with suggestions as to what to do that day (Hats off to Monica and Nicole). There is a spa and salon in the basement, which we both used and found outstanding. There is also a small gym area down there available to all guests. They also have a staffed tour desk, that we used, that can book tours for you from the hotel. Obviously there is alot going on in Miami Beach at large and we found the Newport to be a great "home base" for our trip. We would not hesitate to book there again.

Room Tip: Our personal preference was a south side room overlooking the pool and beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I took a group to Miami and made the huge mistake of choosing this hotel. The WORST service. I didn't even know it was possible to be treated so poorly. The girl at the front desk was on a stool so low I didn't even know she was there. While wearing a blanket (rather than a blazer) to keep her warm, she expressed her displeasure in assisting me and my friends with her facial expression, rolling her eyes and all. And that's only half of it. It took me 45 minutes to get through to someone on the phone to request additional linen (the phone system sucked) and about an hour and a half to get it. Poor service all round. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybee island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and i really enjoyed our recent stay at newport beachside! I have visited the area a number of times, but since i was bringing my family i decided i wanted nicer accommodations than i had used previously. I had passed the property many times as i walked on the beach, even stopping for a drink at the poolside bar. I have to admit that I booked the room with some anxiety after reading some of the reviews posted on this site.There are many positive but some very negative reviews, well i am happy to say that our stay was very enjoyable! From the moment we pulled up, a valet met us with a helpful hand with our luggage, to the front desk where they seemed very happy to greet and check us in. The room was very nice with 3 flat screen tv's, frig, microwave, and very user friendly safe. The room was a 1 bedroom suite facing the pool.Beds were comfortable and the balcony was a great place to sit and relax. The only thing that was maybe negative was the wait for an elevator, but this was not that big a deal, i mean there were 4 elevators and the traffic was really only heavy early morning.plus when you are on vacation why sweat the small stuff! The price was reasonable, pool was nice, and the staff on the beach very attentive!! Checkout went smooth and the valet who i only spoke to when he carried our bags up remembered where we were visiting from and was very helpful with taking our bags to the car (we were traveling with a 3 mth old) so this was much appreciated. Don't let the negative reviews dissuade, if you want to pay crazy prices the trump tower is located nearby! Newport Beachside is a very nice property and a great place to bring the family!!
,

Room Tip: we loved our 1 bedroom suite with the pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Address: 16701 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.