We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that's it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Save Saved
You added Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location but that's it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed 6 nights the first week of March. I booked this mostly for the location and that was great. What you get for the price is really good, it seems to be the only hotel on the strip that walks right out to the beach and has a pool by the beach. The cleanliness was ok.. maids do the bare minimum to your room when they clean it. The hotel overall is old and a bit run down. We had to switch rooms because our first one had broken lamps and drawers. The most disappointing thing for me was the hotel staff. I don't think I saw a smile from anyone that works there (excluding restaurants) the whole time. The front desk staff especially act like they don't care about you at all. I've never been treated so poorly at a hotel, especially a "resort". Maybe because I booked on Expedia and didn't pay full price?

There's a jewellery store in the lobby and after browsing in there for 5 minutes with my boyfriend while the lady working watched us the whole time we left. I saw her a few mins later in the coffee shops next door and she goes "Excuse me, did you happen to pick up a ring? I'm missing one". I said "No, but thanks for accusing me of stealing on my vacation b****"!! If you ask to speak to the manager they'll say the manager is not available and refer you to a supervisor (nice customer service)!! I told her about my run in with the crazy lady in the jewellery store and they did nothing about it. Unless you want to buy a timeshare they don't have the time of day for you.

On the upside the hotel restaurant has all you can eat lobster on Wednesday's which is amazing but you have to make a reservation

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the full ocean view room - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    391
    561
    367
    242
    316
See reviews for
743
461
67
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northridge, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Arrived at this hotel around 11:30pm Friday Night for three nights of a stay. We were greeted by a very friendly Valet, who took our bags to the front desk so we could check in. We made our way to the room at around 12:30am. Using the plastic key card to open the door, we slid it in the slot, the door opened and the security lock was engaged. To our horror the room was already occupied by someone else who was sleeping. Enraged, we go back to the front desk, and they give us another room and have security escort us to it just in case someone was in this room too. On Sunday, we go to the front desk to get special cards to use to get towels for the pool, and the Front Desk person, says, "by the way we need to move you to another room, because the one your in is a timeshare, and the owners are coming to use it." Why didn't they tell us this before? Why would they put is in a room that we would have to leave midway through our trip? They couldn't even answer that. So we go back to our room, pack up our clothes the best we could to just move down the hall leave that room to go to the new room and come to find we can't get in! We are stranded in the hallway with all of our stuff. Luckily a maid was able to let us in and we had to call downstairs to have new keys sent up. The bellhop that sent up the keys listened to our story and sent a manager up. I talked to him and he was going to upgrade our room for our troubles but said the room was not ready yet and that we could stay in this room for now since we had to be ready for a wedding in 3 hours from that time. I went downstairs to relax at the beach due to all this stress and my daughter took a shower to begin getting ready. Immediately after getting out of the shower the door starts to open. My daughter just assumed it was me but low and behold a man and his wife were entering the room! They said this is their room and that they had just checked in. Appauled by yet another incident we called for the manager again and got moved to our new and final room.

There were 3 elevators and 12 floors. It seemed that only one elevator would work at a time and have hoards of people constantly waiting on each floor to get on one. Many people would get fed up, including ourselves, and walk up and down 9 flights of stairs just to make it on time somewhere. The hotel was old and not updated. The only nice thing this hotel had to offer was the beautiful beach and the view of the beach. Other than that, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. EVER.

This trip was a nightmare. Having our privacy violated multiple times let alone they sent us to violate someone elses will haunt us forever.

Room Tip: Dont Book a Room Here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this resort for 7 days. The room was large, dated but had all the amenities we needed. We used the mini fridge for a few basic groceries from Publix and enjoyed eating our healthy breakfasts in our room. There were always lounges available in the pool area. The live music at the pool was excellent and the daily bingo games were fun. The access to the beach and lounges and cabanas on the beach were good. The food at the pool bar was excellent. The only problem was that the sun becomes shaded by the condo building around 2 pm and the pool area gets very cold at that time. The lobby is a very busy place with people coming and going all day long. This results in the elevators being slow and congested.We rented a car and used the valet service which was very good, though on any given occasion might take a while to retrieve your car.

Room Tip: There are no coffee makers in the rooms although apparently one can be obtained upon request. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We are here on our final night of a 5 night trip. Everything and everyone has been wonderful. We stayed here in 2009 and enjoyed it but even better now. Front desk staff was great and had us in our updated room within 15 minutes. Tiki bartenders friendly and professional. Breakfast buffet staff nice but food was a little boring after 2 days. Kitchen 305 food and drinks were good. We had surf and turf and cheeseburger first night. Prime rib tonight. All staff really hustles and are friendly. Make reservations if you are here on Wednesday for all you can eat lobster. We didn't rent a car this time. Cab from FLL was $75 but used concierge for return shuttle trip. $50
Shopping across the street for supplies. Do not go to Epicure for liquor! Shop next to papa Johna for better prices. Reasonable souvenirs at wings. Great location for walking on the beach and just relaxing. Enjoyed pool side room more than ocean front. You could hear music from your balcony. Pool was loud sometimes but did not keep us up.
Looking forward to coming back next year. BTW - pier was not open yet. Looks like a lot of work left to do,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I purchased this reservation on a "name your own price" website. I payed $75 a night, We caught the bus at the airport and it dropped us at the door of the Resort for $2. Check in was a breeze. Our room was slightly dated,however it was very clean. The location was great right on the beach, lovely cabanas for guests and a large pool. The resort has a terrific eatery. Great dining within walking distance. Argentinian steak house was phenomenal! All in all, a very relaxing long weekend for pennies on the dollar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

If you are on a small budget and only staying for a night it's ok but it's like a zoo so many people everywhere very loud reception. If you have kids don't be near the reception as the noise us awful
The pool area is dated and not the cleanest and is off putting with the amount if people in it at one time and if you put giggles on and look in the water I can assure you you won't stay in for long !!! Would we ever go back ? Not ever not even if it was free !
Breakfast area filthy dirty air con units full of dust food in the floor one morning and the same food the next morning. Need I go on !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in February, with our daughter and 2 grandchildren? it was our first visit, their 7th ... and probably last.
On the positive side, we had a 2 room suite which was well laid out and clean, the swimming pool was very nice as was the beach area, there were plenty of lounge chairs, staff for the most part was cheery and friendly and we had an excellent dinner at the 305 restaurant as well as good breakfasts in another restaurant.
On the negative side, the room needed a lot of minor repairs (drawers were broken, toilet flapper had a leak so it 'flushed itself', not enough dishes, to name a few), the hot tub by the pool was destroyed in a fire in July and was still not working in February, and the bathroom near the pool was absolutely filthy. According to a handout we received at check in, there were children's activities scheduled about every two hours every day - but the only activity available was a noontime 15 minute bingo game with so few bingo cards available many children didn't get to play. No one could tell us what happened to the other scheduled but missing activities. The absolute worst, though, were the teams of sales people who constantly approached you with offers for free this or that if you would participate in a timeshare presentation. It's clear the hotel is moving into a timeshare model and 'regular' hotel guests were not anywhere near top priority.
Such a shame, because from what my daughter had told us, in prior years this was a wonderful, well kept up resort with lots of activities to keep the children busy and parents happy.
Guess we'll have to find another place for next year's mid-winter break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Address: 16701 Collins Ave, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.