We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for what you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
Empuriabrava, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not bad for what you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I used to stay here regularly on business from the U.K. in the Late 80s early 90s when it was the Holiday Inn.
In the 90s They changed the top few floors into time shares and I bought one. and we holidayed here for many years until early 2000s. The decor was always very traditional Florida and quite homely among the impersonal sky scrapers that began to dwarf it. It began to deteriorate after that but if you are going to stay try one of the suites on the upper floors particularly on the sea front..

On the plus side it is an ideal location.midway between South Beach and Fort Lauderdale. Handy for Aventura Mall and Bal Harbour shops and not too far from Sawgrass Mills.Trendy Hollywood Boulevard is only 20 minutes away. Be sure to visit downtown Bayside and a little further Coconut Grove.

Hotel parking is expensive, its cheaper across the road. Also across the road are shopping squares with a variety of shops and restaurants which means you don't have to get the car out every time you leave the hotel unlike many areas on Miami Beach.

We always get a taxi from the airport it saves so much time and hassle arriving and leaving. There are plenty of car rentals nearby and you can settle the family at the hotel while you go for one. It costs a few dollars more for the taxi but you can save that by renting the car a day after you arrive and return it a day before you leave. Because of the location you can manage without a car for a day or two.

Room Tip: Corner suites looking over the Ocean and the pool area on the top few floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    760
    491
    314
    403
See reviews for
1,003
626
85
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

just got back from an amazing girls getaway in miami. leading up and planning the trip was a doozy -- trying to please 8 girls is just asking for trouble, however stumbling upon newport beachside hotel was a pleasant surprise! the price was right, it had every requirement that each girl wanted and did i say the price was right, it was the best hotel out of all the other possibilites we had found in the area. arriving at the hotel and checking in was a breeze, they made sure we got rooms next to each other. the views are so pretty. the pool and beach was where we spent most of the time at. the spa was great about fitting us all in for treatments, so relaxing -- to me it's not a vacation unless a massage is included! however, as much as i liked all of the above, i was really surprised about the in house restaurant, kitchen305 -- they had so many great specials even better ones for us ladies. i'm talking drink and food and entertainment too! the sad part was we left on a wednesday which is when they have an all-you-can-eat lobster special, but no worries i will be back there for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I have been searching for hotels with great deals, and i came across this one the Newport beach side hotel,and this particular place caught my attention with there prices,so I arrived at this hotel around 2 pm and saw this beautiful lobby. My impression was fascinated at the start of my vacation , and the check in policy was great, my room was ready the lady at the front desk was very polite and professional. The bellman took my bags to my room, and he was telling me about all the insight of the hotel, and what the room was consist of. His customer service was excellent.I had a renovated ocean view room with a plasma tv. oak wood dressers, and a king side bed, the room was beautiful. I walked around the hotel when i got settled in and i saw the dining areas, the pool/bar/beach was honestly very clean and there was alot of families in the beach/pool side. I went to the bar and everyone is so polite with great customer service skills.I felt like a VIP Guest. I went to the spa for a massage, and it felt great. The spa there is always busy and the ambiance was amazing. I then ate dinner at kitchen 305 and they had a special that night on Wednesday it was lobster night, and there was so many people there. That place always have specials. This hotel is always busy, and the staff here is what makes this place run. They all are quite amazing... Truth be told my hotel experience was great the check out policy was fast,and efficient, and i had no problems. I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE WHO GOES TO MIAMI. I am DEFINITELY STAYING HERE ALL THE TIME WHEN I COME TO MIAMI.

Room Tip: Which ever room you choose you will have a great stay. But get an ocean view room they are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I think we all know most people will only write when something goes wrong and complain but I have to say I decided to write because everything went right for us.. from ease of check in to the amazing food and beautiful beach was great.. Waking up to the oceanview was my fave!
Great value and will be back.. the girl at the front desk (forgot her name) even called and made sure we were happy with room .. try the seafood specials while your there..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked our room in January for a February stay. The website shows a nicely updated room with flat panel tvs and new furnishings. 1984 threw up all over our room. Tiled counters, light colored outdated furniture, full wall mirrors on every wall and very old very small tube tvs that didn't have the best reception. Wifi did not work in our room and sometimes worked in the pool area. We were in the 11th floor with a balcony on the beach and the view was excellent. Our room while outdated, was clean and the housekeeping staff were friendly and did a good job.

Don't bother talking to the concierge- they push timeshares every chance they get which is annoying. The gift shop has a nice assortment of items and decent prices. The tiki bar had average drink prices, with a drink special every day. The food was very good as well. You can get beach and poolside service as well which we used.

You have to pay $15 a day for parking across a very busy street or $20 a day for valet service.

The Starbucks down the road is great and so is the Einsteins bagels. The hotel coffee shop sell Starbucks- it's just brewed hot coffee so we preferred to go down the street to get the real thing. There is a restaurant alled Tony Roma's a couple blocks north of the resort that is very good and I highly recommend their Cadillac Margarita-possibly the best I've ever had!

The pool is super warm but as previously stated the sun goes down early and it gets chilly around noon. The beach also loses sun around 330 in the afternoon from the buildings shadows. The beach is groomed every day and kept very clean. You can rent IMO an overpriced jet ski on the beach as well as your own tiki hut. Everyone has free use of lounge chairs on the beach which is nice.

If you drive north to Hollywood there is a great boardwalk with some nice bar/ restaurants and shops that are family friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

On the surface, this is a nice hotel - great pool area, tiki huts, lots of beach chairs, nice looking lobby. Even the rennovated room looks good at first. But then we had a soaked carpet from a leaky air conditioning unit (tons of water damage on the wall etc.). Repeated complaints and repeated robotic "we'll tell engineering to get right on it" replies. Door lock didn't work so housecleaning didn't bother to clean our room until we complained - and then they did a lousy job and came at 5PM when we were changing/showering/relaxing from our day. Rennovated room - very very shabby (carpet is still very old, cheap/poor craftmanship on improvements)

Room Tip: "3rd" floor rooms are actually on the second level. Can be accessed by a nice staircase E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Before to pick up this hotel I spend several hours trying to find the best deal for me . Newport hotel got mixture of different revues from bad till great . I am really happy what I choose this one . Location , atmosphere , staff , entertainments and .... absolutely fantastic . I am already looking forward to book this hotel in the nearest future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
0.4 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#2 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel M...
#8 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marenas Resort
Marenas Resort
#4 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
5.5 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#161 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 2,624 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trump International Beach Resort
Trump International Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.