We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westgate Miami Beach .... Great Time ... but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort to your Saves list
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Westgate Miami Beach .... Great Time ... but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

I went to Westgate Miami Beach on a really great travel deal for a very good price, and I had never been to the Miami FL area before so I was glad to have what I got and thoroughly enjoyed the experience but ...

What you need to know is ... this property is part of the Westgate chain of hotels/timeshares. It's located on a very beautiful beach and the property is nice. The pool is good and the hotel has most amenities that might be needed, good breakfast! But this property is very obviously an older hotel that is/has been "transformed" into some semblence of a condo type facility. Don't get me wrong, it is clean and very comfortable .. no real complaints here about the facility .. staff was great .. and it's not really a bad location ... but if you are looking for a "Miami experience" this isn't it ... unless you are willing to drive. Also, if you are into nude beaches ... just walk a little way south on the beach and you will see all the nudies you might want to!

This hotel is quite a way from the heart of Miami, really .. although if you don't mind driving and have a rental car it's ok. One benefit to the location is that if you want to visit Fort Lauderdale, this hotel is right in the middle between the two cities and Fort Lauderdale has a really great beach and a really fun "downtown scene" with great beachside eateries etc.

All in all ... I would go to this hotel again if I had a good price ... I really have no complaints about it. If you are looking for a good value in the Miami area it's probably great for you ... there was a mini kitchen, fridge, the room and beds were very comfortable, etc. and there are many great places to eat etc. within walking distance. Also, although I mention the need to "drive" etc. in this review ... I didn't mind the driving .. it was kind of fun and while driving around you find yourself zipping back and forth over the intercoastal waterway and all and it's quite interesting and really a great way to see another part of the world that might be different from where you live. I live in the Pacific Northwest of the U.S. so it was very different and neat to see.

And the location is great if you want to visit Lauderdale. But if you want a true "Miami FL" experience .. complete with the night life and South Beach stuff .. you have to be prepared to drive. And STAY UP LATE! I'm only 40 and pretty healthy ... but the Miami scene ... especially South Beach does not even GET STARTED until 11 o'clock or so. We went into Miami one night at 9:30 - ate dinner and started walking around .. and at 11 there were places that were just starting to set up outside tables etc. to get ready for the night. The South Beach scene is really fun .. the art deco and outside bar tables and all are really neat ... but if you stay at Westgate Miami just please understand that it's not IN MIAMI.

All in all ... I have no qualms about recommending this location ... I had a great time .. but I think people need to know that it is not IN MIAMI.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    725
    468
    299
    382
See reviews for
942
592
82
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

The Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort was the perfect Holiday Hotel for us. This is a very stressful time of the year and a very busy time in south Florida. The moment we drove up we were greeted with warm friendly smiles from the valet service. The hotel lobby was simple yet elegant with a variety of restaurants and shops, all which lead to the fabulous outdoors. The private beach was well maintained with many outdoor activities or we could relax under the cabana sipping on a tropical drink. Our two bedroom, two bath room was very accomodating, especially since our two young adult daughters were with us. The view was spectacular, overlooking the beach and pier. There were planned activities for the whole family. The carribbean band and tiki snack bar gave it a cruise-ship atmosphere. The location had easy access to the Miami International Airport as well as the Ft. Lauderdale Airport. The Adventura Mall was relatively close along with other shops along the avenue. This was the best holiday ever and we attribute it to the excellent accomodations at the Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

After reading others comments on this hotel we booked it.

Stayed for a few nights on our way back to uk, really handy laundry facilities at the hotel, friendly staff and nice clean hotel.

The only slight downside is the maid knocked on our door early every morning around 7.30am to clean our room.

Over the road there are a few shops you can get what you need, and the bus service is good for going to the local malls if thats what you like to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

Had read some negative reviews but we found the hotel and staff very good. The staff could not have been more helpful and the hotel clean and of good quality. Would certainly use again.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

The Hotel on the outside looks really good. The Hotel Lobby is nice. The rooms are old and out dated. The hallways smell really dirty. Our room still had candy on the floor from a previous person. The bathrooms had black mold that was easily cleaned off if you tried. The bedding was dirty. The beds were very hard. Drinks were $9.00 a piece and the lobby bar was unorganized and slow. In the evening you could only order large meals, no burgers or sandwhichs. After looking around the area, this happens to be the best choice we could see. Would probably not go back to the area again, but head to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The tall buildings block the sun after noon, so being on the beach isnt fun.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

We recently shared a family event at the Newport Beachside. The experience was a wonderful one for all of us. We had a family dinner for 30 in the Sunrise Room on the 12th floor overlooking the beach with a wonderful array of food and even better service. The hotel is clearly investing in its future with a beautiful new lobby and amazing looking new restaurant. The rooms are still 80s, Miami-chic, but are apparently next on the list of upgrades. We really enjoyed the beachfront and pool areas - and there are quite a few amenities close by - Aventura mall, a number of restaurants, and South Beach a 15 minute drive south.

  • Liked — Family-Friendly Environment
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

Just returned from a long weekend stay at the Newport Beachside in Miami, FL. We had such a great time! While so much of the U.S. is shivering this weekend, we spent our time on the beach under the tiki huts, listening to the waves crash. The heated pool was a big attraction to the kids and there were activities every few hours for all ages. We watched the kids have a horse race in the pool and just missed a cooking class on bananas foster after returning from dinner. There was so much to do in addtition to the Miami attractions that we were never bored. The rooms are a little outdated, but very clean and comfortable. The ocean view rooms were worth the view. Michael's Kitchen had delicious food and it looks like they are renovatiing some other bar.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort

Address: 16701 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Miami and Fort Lauderdale, Newport Beachside Resort offers world-class services combined with outstanding value in a beautiful oceanfront setting. 300 guest rooms include those with an ocean or cityscape view and those with balconies overlooking the ocean. Resort amenities feature oceanfront pool, on-site restaurants, cabanas, children's playground and historic pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Groupon and getaroom.com so you can book your Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beachside Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Newport Beachside Resort
Newport Miami Beach
Newport Hotel Miami Beach
Newport Beachside Hotel Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel And Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.