We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, go elsewhere.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Beach Resort to your Saves list
Trump International Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special, go elsewhere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I'm not a diva by any means but when I see that a hotel is 5 stars a certain level of expectations are implied.

I'll start with the good:
-The pools are fantastic and relaxing.
-The hotel is right on the beach
-The rooms are spacious and clean
In theory that's all I need when I'm on vacation but you can get that at most hotels for half the price.
Now the bad... And my complaints have to do with service and lack of grand decor that one expects in Miami.
- Getting a busy signal for the concierge several times is not ok.
-When housekeeping came they would pick up dirty towels, and not leave clean ones. They would take coffee cups and not leave new ones or replace coffee.
-It was really disappointing that when we went to the pool we were given out chair covers and towels and told to find a place. All other 5 star hotels/resorts walk you to your chairs and set them up for you.

Again, had this not been advertised as a 5 star resort I would not be complaining. I would have had a great time and would have spent half the money elsewhere.

Based on service and my experience, I would give the trump international hotel 3 stars. More importantly I would not recommend this place to anyone. There are much better, cheaper options.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpMiamiResort, General Manager at Trump International Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Connor C,

We appreciate your candid feedback and are disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay. Our team members strive to provide a superior level of service and we apologize if you did not receive this. We will be sharing your comments with our entire team to ensure this type of service does not happen again.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Sunny Isles Beach and exceed your expectations.

Thank you,

Linda Geyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    361
    197
    97
    48
See reviews for
445
310
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My mother had just died, unexpectedly and I had 30 days to take care of her service and clear out her apartment, touching every significant and insignificant item that remained in her possession. My husband's birthday was a week away, in Mid-March. We recognized that we had a few days without obligations and took it. The winter had been long and harsh & we craved relaxation, sunshine and water. I found an attractive deal at Trump International and took it. We were enjoying our stay so much, we extended it an extra night. The staff was impeccable and so very kind. Daisy had a special surprise waiting for us in our room, when we returned from the pool on my husband's birthday. One of the nicest perks of the room was having a washer/dryer. Not normally found in a typical hotel room, it was wonderful to go home with a suitcase of clean clothes, thereby eliminating that first chore as soon as I return. I was already one step ahead.

We had nothing to complain about our stay. The room was large, attractive, with an ocean view. The cleanliness of the room would have satisfied the most fearful germaphobe. We interacted with many of the staff in different capacities and I believe Mr. Trump would have approved of their representation of the Trump brand. Many times resorts like this are cut-off from neighborhood amenities and it was nice to be able to walk across the street to a normal store and pay regular prices for simple needs, rather than the inflated resort pricing.

Our relaxation and decompression completed, we were prepared to face the hectic schedule we were facing upon our return, although we would not have minded staying a few more days. We have paid a lot more, for a lot less in the past.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpMiamiResort, General Manager at Trump International Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear CuznSue,

First and foremost, our deepest sympathies to you and your family. You are in our thoughts and prayers.

It was our pleasure to take care of you, your husband and Daisy. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us allowed you to take time, relax and decompress before returning home. Should your travels bring you back to Sunny Isles Beach, we hope you will reach out to us directly so that we may assist you.

Again, our condolences to you.

Linda Geyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at this Trump Resort for 4 nights the first week of May, it was great!
There is everything you need right accross the street, can be a challange to cross at times, walking down to the lights is the safest bet.
It is a bit pricy for the rooms, but being right on the beach makes up for that! We looked at staying somewhere less expensive but then factoring taking a cab to the beach the time traveling back and fourth it wasn't worth that hassle.
Rooms were nice and clean, we stayed on the top floor facing the ocean, the view was spectacular.
Would recommend!!

Room Tip: Ocenview, High floor 25+
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpMiamiResort, General Manager at Trump International Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Steve D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the spectacular view and location. We are already looking forward to your next visit!

Thank you,

Linda Geyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a great property to stay at. The valet & reception staff are very friendly. The looby is low key but the floors sort of make up for it, when you get off the elevator especially on the higher floors the views are great of the inter coastal side. The rooms are spacious & well appointed. Seasonal pricing can get high. Over xmas & new year the nighlt climbs tomore than double+, from $229 to $725+ for some categories. All the staff at the restaurants, pools & beach are very friendly. Amazing breakfast buffet $$$, pool & beach restaurants great for lunch $$$. They include in the resort fee nicely padded lounge chairs at the beach with extra large towels, umbrellas if you want & side table.
They also have servers along the beach making it convenient if you don't want to leave the beach.
Very nice long beach front...@ pools to choose from on 2 different levels also very nice.

Room Tip: ask to upgrade when you arrive... check online for best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpMiamiResort, General Manager at Trump International Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Paulsarkadi,

We appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the spacious rooms and friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you back in Sunny Isles Beach again soon!

Thank you,

Linda Geyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was our second stay at Trump International Beach Resort - Mother's Day weekend away - 5 of us.

The biggest asset of this hotel are the staff - always, always friendly and helpful!

Definitely would recommend this hotel! See you next year Frantz Fiefie (Fusion Bar) !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpMiamiResort, General Manager at Trump International Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear SharonLouiseHoney,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your Mother's Day weekend with us. We are pleased to hear our team members, including Frantz, made such a wonderful impression on you! We will be sure to share your sentiments with our entire staff.

Thank you and we look forward to hosting you for your third visit with us!

Thank you,

Linda Geyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Trump International hotel on Sunny Isle beach, Fl. I had read some negative reviews for this hotel, but we either didn't stay long enough to see the negative, or it was all good!
Our room was located on one of the upper floors, so we had a good view of the ocean and the Trump condos next door. (Prices in the millions, and I was told by a local realtor that they were selling really fast to people out of the US) . Our room had a good view, nice furniture , really nice kitchenette area with granite, and Keurig coffee pot and the k cup coffees. There were several snacks, ( nuts , cookies, wine, beer, hard liqueur, etc) in the cabinets and refrigerator. I could not locate a price list for these treats, so not sure what the charge is. The bed linens were nice, the room was clean and very pleasantly decorated. The bathroom had a tub, marble tile shower, granite sink and very nice toiletries . Complimentary newspaper was delivered to the door. The big thing is this. By the time they add the tax, resort fee, and parking, ( valet is the only parking available), there will be about an extra $100 to your bill for one night. The front door/ foyer was not impressive at all, and the lobby seemed very busy with locals attending activities. Over all, the price was very high for one night , but it was pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance , ( 3 + nights gets a free night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpMiamiResort, General Manager at Trump International Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear sheiladerrick,

We truly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our rooms and fantastic views.

It was a pleasure serving you and your husband. We hope to host you again soon!

Thank you,

Linda Geyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel grounds are beautiful. The beach is perfect and not to crowded with plenty of chairs to go around (if you pay for them) the pool area is beautiful and the outside restaurant and bar are great. The lobby is very nice as well. The rooms on the other hand are hit or miss. This hotel is half hotel and half condo. You can get a room or you can rent a condo from the owner. The only problem with that is if you have any issues the hotel will not help you at all. We had the one bedroom suite and when we checked in the room was not cleaned and the bedroom door was locked. We went to the front desk and they basically told us there was nothing they could do about it and we had to contact the owner. It was a little frustrating since you are first arriving and you are anxious to start your vacation. We were able to get in touch with the owner and the problems were taken care of so it all worked out but I still don't understand how the hotel can say they have nothing to do with the condo's that are in their building?! They were helpful with shuttle's and reservations...etc but not when it came to the room...weird. I have to say I did love the hotel, it's location on the beach (not to crowded ) and it's actual location because it is right in between Ft. Lauderdale and South Beach so you can enjoy both. So all in all I would stay here again for sure.It really was beautiful. I might just stay in a regular room instead of a one or two bedroom suite since they are privately owned. The size of the living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom was great and the view with the floor to ceiling windows was fantastic. The kitchen had granite counter tops so that was nice but the rug and the walls needed some sprucing up. I did not think that part was up to Trump standards. One last note, this hotel can be expensive but you can also make it reasonable. you of course have to pay the resort fee but that covers parking your car and your beach chairs , umbrella and stuff for the pool so it is not so bad. If you get a room with a kitchen you can cook (not that we did) or if you are not in the mood there is a fantastic place for breakfast across the street. Grande's (or something to that effect) bakery. The food is amazing and it is a fraction of the cost. The first day there we had breakfast at the hotel and it cost $35 per person. the second day we accidentally found this place and it cost us $8 for breakfast and we were able to get bacon, egg & cheese on croissant as well as chocolate croissant and a large cappuccino. I would say this is a place to stay for sure if you are in the Miami area. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view however, the elevator takes a long time so don't go to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Beach Resort

Address: 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Miami and Fort Lauderdale in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, Trump International Beach Resort is an oceanfront oasis, complete with its own private and pristine beach and delightful grotto-style pool complex. A member of Preferred Hotel Group, the Trump International Beach Resort offers 355 oversized guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Luxurious amenities at Trump International Beach Resort include a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour fitness center, four restaurants and lounges, tennis courts, business center, 22,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting and banquet space, and the ever popular Planet Kids Enviro-Adventures Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Trump Sonesta Beach Resort
Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
Hotel Trump International Beach
Sonesta Miami
Trump International Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.