We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Trump Service; but too costly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Trump International Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trump International Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Vacation in Miami
Lilburn, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love Trump Service; but too costly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have been staying at this location for over 6 years on and off. Mostly winter trips. We have noticed that the hotel is starting to lack its luster. Parking is too costly along with cabanas and food. I believe they count on the Trump name to lure customers. We love the employees, never any problems in that area.

Room Tip: Of course there is nothing like a ocean view room; but it comes with a price. The partials are okay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    478
    324
    187
    91
    44
See reviews for
401
274
32
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I'm here for the new year's holiday. Very good hotel, rooms are big, comfortable and spacious, bathrooms as well.

Some points must be improved tough:
- Housekeeping service woke us up today to see if the room was ready to be cleaned (it was 8:30am);
- Valet parking takes quite long to bring back the car;
- Breakfast is good, but over priced for what it offers;
- The hotel lobby could be improved, there's a big set of columns (not structural) and bench "hidding" the elevators. Those take a huge space and actually disturb the flow coming in/out the door;

Pool and beach service are worth a positive note.

Would come back in the future.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have visited the Trump International 4 times in the last 2 years. Not only is the place second to none in Miami, but the people that work there are very professional and go beyond the call of duty.

I had an incident where I received a traffic ticket . Being from Canada I do not know all the American laws . I explained the case to the Mrs. Amparo who is a Concierge at the Trump International ,she helped me understand that I could fight the ticket. She went out of her way by calling a lawyer and getting a professional's opinion. With the guidance of Mrs. Amparo and the lawyer's expertise I ended up winning my case and the traffic ticket was cancelled.

Any concierge can refer you to an Italian restaurant. Mrs. Amparo is not any concierge , she took the time to listen and then gave me a plan of action that worked. This took time and patience. I call this going beyond the call of duty.

Jack

Room Tip: Book thru the hotel direct . Not through condo owners. The hotel rooms are very nicely kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights around Christmas in this wonderful hotel. The pools are very nice, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the staff very friendly, as you would expect in a hotel of this standing. It is when an unexoected event occurs that you can judge of the quality of the service. The first morning, the shower if the room next door broke and our carpet was wet. The personal helped us by cleaning the carpet and putting some extra towels on the floor. They gave us also a free breakfast fir the whole family. On the next day, it was our own toilet who broke. That time, we got upgraded to another room and offered free breakfast for the remaining nights of our stay. We were very professionnaly met by Tracy, the customer relations manager.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I'm no Trump fan, but when family decided on this hotel, I was in no position to veto it and am glad we had an open mind. The hotel is beautiful - especially the rooms & pools. The hotel sits on the beach making it easy to interchange the pool & ocean experience. Most of the room balconies are angled for an ocean or intercoastal view. The hospitality of all the staff was superior to all I've ever experienced. In fact the Asian fusion lounge barter was willing to make any drink ordered as long as she had the ingredients. It was a lovely time and when the valet said, "see you next year!" I thought to myself, I would be 100% happy to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I went there for just a 2 night getaway. I had no idea just how beautiful the entire location was. The water is crystal clear, almost like being in the caribbean. Breakfast on the outside was wonderful... Very clean... Service was over and beyond.

Room Tip: you want at least an ocean view... the balconies curve around and you have plenty of room. the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

First I will say that the staff at this hotel are second to none in all my travels. Everyone of them are friendly, courteous, helpful and lovely.

I stayed here Nov 21 - Nov 25 and was not impressed. My brother had rented a Suite on the 9th floor, number 905, and the overpriced Suite left much to be desired. My key card worked maybe 3 times out of the ten in a day. When the key did work, the door latch was sticky, so it always took two hands to open the door, not good when your hands were full. The three times that I went to the beach, each time I was unable to get back into the hotel because my key card did not work. I had to wait for someone to come along to get inside.

The switches on the wall, some worked and some didn't. It provided me with some amusement on a rainy day to play with the switches to see how useless some of them were. The remote for the television was another interesting item, as it also had a mind of its own. Sometimes the power button worked, sometimes it didn't. Majority of the time, the channel button never worked. I actually used the buttons on the television itself to make any selection or power on/off.

The kitchenette was equipped with adequate appliances. The cooking utensils however, left no doubt in my decision not to use them. The pots are non-stick of the lowest quality -- the ones you see a full set for $20.00 at Walmart -- and in the set provided, one had a scorched bottom, one had scratches, 2 of them had questionable white stains (fungus?) . Needless to say, I did not want to use them at all. The Cooking Spoons in the drawer white plastic! Used the dishwasher once, and it flooded. However, Housekeeping was quick to fix that one.

The lobby is underwhelming. The lobby bar is okay. It has no ambiance or atmosphere, and therefore lacks an aura of invitation. I ordered a mango salad and a chicken tempura. The mango salad was a bowl of lettuce with two grape tomatoes, some unidentified blob of orange colour mush and a handful of tiny mango pieces! I expected mango salad of a Thai variety. The tempura was yet another singular experience. The chicken tempura was a sliver of chicken coated two inches thick with tempura batter. My tempura arrived lukewarm and mushy. Not hot and crispy as expected.

As a beach resort, it is okay as well. It doesn't have any activities to offer. The beach itself is pretty, but there is a lot of jelly fish. Also, I rarely saw a lifeguard around.

As a resort, it should have a shuttle service to and from the hotel, and to nearby shops and restaurants.

Overall, I give a grade of C+

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Beach Resort

Address: 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Miami and Fort Lauderdale in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, Trump International Beach Resort is an oceanfront oasis, complete with its own private and pristine beach and delightful grotto-style pool complex. A member of Preferred Hotel Group, the Trump International Beach Resort offers 355 oversized guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Luxurious amenities at Trump International Beach Resort include a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour fitness center, four restaurants and lounges, tennis courts, business center, 22,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting and banquet space, and the ever popular Planet Kids Enviro-Adventures Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Trump International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Trump Sonesta Beach Resort
Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
Hotel Trump International Beach
Sonesta Miami
Trump International Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.