We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Beach Resort to your Saves list
Trump International Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
lake oswego
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice beach location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on the beach and the workers set up chaisses for you but you need to tip them. The elevators take forever as there arent enough. The restaurant and room sevice are very, very average. Our housekeepers didnt replace the washcloths or give us lotion for two days. Staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    362
    197
    97
    49
See reviews for
447
310
35
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying, I've never written a review before. I want people to learn from our experience. My family and I stayed here from 6/28-7/2. The hotel was very nice and our room was amazing!! We had a 2 bedroom suite and an additional room down the hall for my sister-in-law and her friend. Our room was so spacious, it was perfect for myself, my husband and my 4 kids! We had booked a pool cabana for both Saturday and Sunday. While checking in we decided to change to the beach cabana. It was $100 more per day but we thought it would be convenient to be because it had a bathroom and we had 4 kids with us. It wasn't worth the money!!! We asked for chairs to be set up on the beach and literally set them up on the other side of the beach!! We had to get manager to explain that they should move the chairs to the same side of the beach as the cabana! Outside our cabana were 2 wicker loungers, they didn't have cushions but we figured they would put them on after a little while. They did, but for someone else! A woman who had the cabana next store told them to set-up that space for her, which quite honestly would have been fine but when my husband asked the attendants about it, they were so nasty!! The woman next store told them to set up the loungers in front of her cabana instead to avoid a problem and they never set ours up! No cushions, just wicker loungers! We ordered a huge lunch, the food literally can out one plate at a time, 3-5 minutes between each plate!! They didn't even clear the dirty plates as they came out with the new plates, even though there was no room for anything!! The whole day was a waste of money!! Mid day we requested to have a pool cabana the next day, it couldn't be worse and it was $100 less. Thank God we did!! From the minute we got down to the pool it was a different atmosphere. Cheryl, the pool attendant, set us up, with plenty of towels (which we had to beg for at the beach cabana) and checked on us often, what a pleasure, she was wonderful! Our server, Alex, was what everyone else there should model themselves after!! He was attentive, friendly and so funny!! He made sure that we were happy all day, always with a smile on his face!! Because of their wonderful service, we booked the cabana on Monday too! And they were fantastic then as well! Being perfectly honest, I did find a manager on Sunday and told them about our experience the day before, they gave us 4 free drinks. Considering the amount of money we spent, I'm kind of surprised they didn't do more, but you live and you learn!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpMiamiResort, General Manager at Trump International Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and letting us know that Cheryl and Alex helped us recover from, what was at first, a very disappointing experience. The service between our pool and beach cabanas should be identical. Based on your experience, we are reviewing every component of our beach cabana services to better provide all of our guests with excellent service and memorable experiences. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a great experience here at the Trump International from the moment we arrived. Everyone was friendly and helpfull the entire time. We checked in a couple of hours before "check in" and the room we booked was not available yet BUT, without asking we were upgraded to a larger room. The room was SUPER clean and beautiful. The bathroom was very nice as well with both a tub and a shower.
The pool area was very nice and so was the beach. You don't need to bring towels here as the hotel provides them including the pool and beach areas.
There are a couple restaurants close (walking distance) if you don't want to eat at the hotel. There is also a CVS pharmacy right across which came in handy when I had to transfer a prescription (no problem).
The hotel shuttle is available to certain places at certian hours, free of charge (you just have to check the schedules).
One thing to keep in mind is tipping is appreciated and I had no problem doing so, as everyone was so helpful. Also, there is a resort fee of $20 per day/per room (which we knew about).
There were 2 adults and 2 children in our party and we all LOVED IT!
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a room with 2 double beds and it was plenty for us 4 (my sister, myself and out two children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We will be back. From the moment of arrival to the time of departure, this hotel was top notch. We met a lovely lady, Ms. Bussey who really went above and beyond for us, even when it wasn't expected- She was a rock star! We will forever recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel on a weekend getaway with my BF and loved it. We checked in late since our flight got in around 10:30 and the service was great, there was someone there to check us in and help us right away. The staff is very helpful and attentive to guest needs.

As far as the pool and beach area go the service for towels and everything else is great. You let them know if you want towels for the beach or pool and if it's for the pool they just give you towels and you can make your way but for the beach they give you a ticket and when you get down to the beach area there is someone there to greet you and ask how many chairs you need and if you need an umbrella or table and they walk with you to find a good spot and then bring the chairs, umbrella, towels & table to you and set everything up. Both days we started at the beach and ended at the pool. Word of advice for those that are more prone to go to the pool get there early because on nice sunny days the chairs fill up pretty fast.

As far as location to different areas go the only place we really went to check out was the south beach/ocean drive area. It's around a 30 min ride by cab which can run you btw $30-$35 depending on how the traffic is. However they do have a free shuttle that goes to that area among other places and you can get a schedule at the front desk.

A couple things you should be aware if is that they charge a $20 resort fee per day which includes use of wireless internet in the room, shuttle etc.... They give you a list upon check in. Also, when dining at restaurants the 18% service charge is already included so remember to check your bill in case you don't wanna over tip. Also, if you've got an early flight out they are happy to hold onto your luggage before you leave the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was a fantastic trip we took from Trump's Doral resort. In comparison the Beach resort was far superior. The staff were fantastic, surroundings immaculate and we couldn't have been treated any better.
The hotel looked wonderful and we will definitely consider staying here again.
Food on the beach was great, big portions and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here in april 2013 on a 1 night layover after our Carribean cruise. We booked through hotwire.com and received a rate of $330 per night. We checked in relatively late, approx 10pm. This hotel has mandatory valet parking (no self park), so expect to tack on added costs for valet/parking (approx $30 per night). This property also imposes a resort fee (approx $35 per night).

Ultimately, we were unimpressed. This resort is listed as 4.5 stars. There was no bell-staff in the lobby during our check in. When you walk in you have to drag your luggage up a flight of stairs. Check in went smoothly. elevators were easy to access and generally unoccupied.

Our room was a large sized suite with 2 queen beds. The bath area was quite impressive with a nice shower and a nice bathtub in separate parts of the bathroom. Nice quality toiletries were supplied. Nice plush bathrobes to use and complementary slippers to use as well (these are vacuum sealed, so you arent using someones old house slippers).

The beds were average quality. Very firm, not super comfy but not bad either.

We utilized the room service dining as well. My wife ordered a $20 bagel platter which consists of 1 bagel, 1 small cream cheese, tomatos, smoked salmon, and onions. I ordered the colombian empanadas and a pizza ($10 and $15 respectively). The bagel was a bagel, the empanadas were surprisingly authentic, and the pizza was one of the worst excuses for a pizza imaginable.

One of the best features of this hotel is the balcony. each room has a balcony and ours faced the ocean. Exceptional view.

Overall, I found myself a little disappointed with the lack of a "wow" factor for this hotel. An outgoing and friendly staff for the hotel would have made that difference for me. I'm guessing this property is more impressive if you are staying and utilizing the beach resort. For a layover it was simply meh.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrumpMiamiResort, General Manager at Trump International Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. Our team strives to provide experiences for our guests that are sincere, unique and memorable. It is unfortunate that you did not receive our standard warm welcome from our valet and bellmen. We have shared this information with those departments.

If your travels bring you back to Miami for an elongated stay, please come and enjoy our oceanfront views and the resort amenities our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Beach Resort

Address: 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Miami and Fort Lauderdale in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, Trump International Beach Resort is an oceanfront oasis, complete with its own private and pristine beach and delightful grotto-style pool complex. A member of Preferred Hotel Group, the Trump International Beach Resort offers 355 oversized guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Luxurious amenities at Trump International Beach Resort include a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour fitness center, four restaurants and lounges, tennis courts, business center, 22,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting and banquet space, and the ever popular Planet Kids Enviro-Adventures Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trump International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Trump Sonesta Beach Resort
Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
Hotel Trump International Beach
Sonesta Miami
Trump International Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.