We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for families (But I didn't bring one)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Beach Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Trump International Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Dorset England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fine for families (But I didn't bring one)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a good hotel. I stayed here with my wife for 4 nights over the busy New Year period. I did not want to contribute to Donald Trump's vast hairdressing costs but this booking was part of a cruise deal. Truly EXCELLENT staff. Architecturally dramatic building but best admired from way out at sea.Comfy beds, fluffy towels and great big balconies. Family oriented with beach and pools. Oddly the beach is in the shade of the hotel in the afternoons? Clocks in reception show time in Moscow and Tel Aviv which gives an indication of the main customer base. So what is the downside? : A fine hotel located in a sterile location. A 6 lane highway out the front. A small mall across the busy highway with limited selection of eateries and one supermarket. A resort fee of $21.30 per night per person. The only outside attraction seems to be the 2 huge shopping malls not far away. If you want some charm, culture and Florida life you need to get the very regular bus service to the delightful South Beach. Bus "S" and bus 120 will get you there in about 45 minutes for $2 each way cash. Sorry Donald. Good try but no cigar.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms look out at night into dark nothingness. The side room balconies let you watch...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    430
    297
    181
    87
    43
See reviews for
356
256
30
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel director is new and these are many new "in training" staff at the check in. The director is out rightly rude and sarcastic in his replies. He seems to be quiet interested in getting more money with upgrades. We travelled with two kids and We requested an upgrade from our double bed studio to a single bedroom suite. we were promised a rate for the upgrade the previous night at 11 pm and next mornig when we went down to request for bell boy the director quoted us more than what an other person promised us the before night. when he realized he was wrong he said the upgrade room is not ready until 4 pm while the previous night we were confirmed that many rooms were available so we should be able to change rooms direct without having to check out at 11 from existing double bed studio room and heck back at 4 pm to our upgrade single bedroom suite.

One of the bell boys "Noel" was amazingly great with his service. Rest everyone carried a I don't care much look. The elevators are really slow. We stayed four nights and there was no value for the huge money we spent. I wonder how this property is rated so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel, don't choose Trump Miami.
This is NOT an hotel, it's a kind of apartment hotel.
75% from the building is occupied with people renting apartment.
There is no service at all.
Not easy to get a seat at the swimming pool.
Quality price is terribly bad.
We just stay for a week and were happy to leave.
We used to stay in many hotels and resorts but we didn't have such a bad experience since long time. And nobody to talk with. No service, they don't care about you, only your money and the people renting apartment.
Please AVOID.
There are so many nice place to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schilde
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Upon arrival it seemed, they did not have our rooms available, so after quite some discussion we were placed in other rooms. We had to pay an additional 600 euro's for this (non requested) upgrade at checkout!!

Four slow elevators for 30 floors does not really help if you intend to move from floor in a period shorter than 5 minutes. It is terrible.
The pool and beach is too small for this hotel, so it is a rush in the mornings of people reserving beds at the water. During the day, it is funny to see some russian mom's fight over a bed at the pool!!
More russians than civilized other people; rude, impolite, annoying and respectless!!

Restaurant is good!!

Room Tip: Rooms are poor quality related to the price don't stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a good 3 stars.. the rooms are old, carpet needs to be changed urgently, is a big room with almost no plabe to put your clothes, the furniture is old and smells weird.. The kitchnet has no plates, silverware, anything... Waters on the pool bar are very rude, the rest of the staff is ok nothing outstanding.. The vallet takes forever to find your car, the elevators take forever to come.. the wifi conection keeps crashing..

its an ok hotel NOT WORTH the money.. before I staying here I read a review that said this is not where Donald Trump stays and it's very accurate.. It's not a luxury hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is our second stay at the Trump. Upon check in the bell boys were great with all our bags. They came right u p to our room when it was finally ready. The hotel needs more elevators. They are always full and you are always waiting for one! The room with 2 queen beds is large, but I'm not sure if they are really queen beds or doubles. The daily parking fee and resort fee are an expensive addition to your bill!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Havre, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are used to come twice a year (spring/autumn) in this hotel from France and we appreciate it !

The emplacement : around 30 min from South Beach but in quiet area, you have many shops just face up (CVS, Burger King, Publix, Starbucks..). Around 5-10 minutes from Aventura Mall and Bal Harbor Shops for shopping.

Service : The beach/pool staff is great, especially Victor who is professional and very friendly. I don't understand the other review about him and i'll appreciate to see him again during our 9th stays in March '13 ! The watersports staff is very friendly too. You can reach the reservation staff via chat, which is very handy. The concierge/front desk staff is very efficient ( at any time ! ). Porter helpful and nice ! The social & digital media are well used since summer 2011 !

The hotel : We always take an ocean view studio. View from the hotel is great, especially if you choose a front ocean view room.
You have 2 beautiful pools, the downstairs one is the best to swim. The gym lacks nothing, only few people goes to it. But some of the equipment are becoming a little bit old ( the same since the Trump Sonesta period ). You can do many watersports : jetski, paddleboard, catamaran.. But the 2 catamarans (HobieCat Wave) are not very powerful and too old. A new catamaran with a jib and a spinnaker , such as an Hobie 16 or Topaz 16CX, would be great, even if the Wave can make you spend a good time! There is also a spa.(I don't use it a lot)
For a few months, internet is now included in the hotel fee, but is still a little bit too slow.

To conclude, our preferred hotel in Miami area, with a very good staff. To prove it, we come here since 2007 and we've already booked our next stay in March'13 !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trump International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Trump International Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Trump International Beach Hotel
Trump Sonesta Beach Resort
Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
Hotel Trump International Beach
Sonesta Miami
Trump Sonesta
Trump International Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach
Address: 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary Mobil 4-star oceanfront resort features its own private and pristine beachfront, plus a delightful grotto-style pool complex with two pools, fountains, waterfalls hot tubs and cabanas. Known as one of the best Miami luxury hotels, Trump Beach Resort in Sunny Isles offers 360 oversized guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Relax and enjoy Miami, Trump-style! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Amex, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Trump International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trump International Beach Resort to your Saves list