We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly and Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trump International Beach Resort to your Saves list
Trump International Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Friendly and Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Beautiful grounds and Lobby. Excellent location as right on the beach and a few miles from Aventura Mall.
A few comments, this hotel is beginning to show it's age. The shower door was rusting and moldy and the toilet had its challenges. For the fee and the Property Name starting with Trump, I was anticipating a more modern / luxurious look in the rooms.
That being said, rooms very large and lots of room for our kids. Beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    394
    219
    106
    52
See reviews for
502
332
37
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed for 5 days to just relax on the beach and absolutely loved this resort. First time at a Trump resort and we were really impressed, especially with the staff. Absolutely everyone we came in contact with had a smile and said hello (and even offered chocolate by a member of the cleaning staff). The folks setting up chairs/umbrellas/towels on the beach were very friendly and attentive. The sushi restaurant in the hotel was great and the room was beautiful. If you just want to relax I think Sunny Isles Beach is a great area away from the hustle and bustle of south beach. I hope to go back soon and will definitely stay at Trump again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The location of the hotel is without question prime (assuming you have ocean view). The staff was friendly and helpful when directly approached. During check-in I did not get the usual run-down on services, breakfast, etc. I had to ask the next morning, where I could get breakfast. The hotel and rooms show that the hotel is a little older but is very well kept up. Why the hair dryer was set to 250V so you could not use the highest setting, is kind of puzzling to me. Only reason I can think of is that the electrical lines are not designed for the demand for electricity, so the hotel switched it - 200 guests using at the same time the hairdryers on High-setting is a little bit of electricity. One morning my bath mat was missing....another time I had a long black hair in the middle of the towels. All things that I could have lived with if there would not have been the desk chair that had egg on it and during my whole stay it was not cleaned, even I had put it in the middle of my room. That is terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and make sure during check-in to quiz the front desk folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is not a 5 star hotel, more like a 4 star with a +.5 for the friendliness of the staff. The lobby was kind of ho hum, nothing spectacular. The room had a marble floor for the foyer, and bathroom, as well as granite counter tops. The bathroom had a broken hair dryer and a shower curtain and rod fall on my wife. The shower curtain was held by a friction of a expanding bar, that was no more than a rough grey pipe. The bath tub was cheap plastic. You kind of had a mix of a nice room in some areas, and Motel 6 in others. The toiletries were nice, as were the plush towels. The standard room was large and the beds and pillows were comfortable. You were provided with robes and slippers for use at the hotel. They have 2 pools, one of them has several waterfalls + 3 whirl pools, and a pool bar.At the beach they provided you with chairs, chair covers, and towels as part of your resort fee. The hotel would also provide complementary transportation to and from South Beach. If you have a car, it will cost you an additional $30 a day for valet service + tips.

Room Tip: Free shuttle to and from South Beach. ALL the employees were friendly, and made you feel welcome. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The last 5 years this has been a great hotel, however this 6th year will be my final stay. I am here for another two days and we can't wait to leave

1) the rooms are very dated now... Half the TVs no longer work (we have moved rooms), the air conditioner smells awful too - unpleasant for us

2) we had to move rooms due to cockroaches... And the best they could offer was to spray the room whilst our 7 month old baby was present... Obviously we had to stop them and tell them to wait until we vacated... Surely they should call pest control... They lay eggs and should be dealt with properly

3) the management team here are beyond uncaring and incapable of dealing with clients, I assume this is why the hotel has plummeted
Breakfast is included in our package as we paid for it yet every single day they add it on and every day I have had to complain to get it removed

4) amazingly there has been no hot water for 2 of our days here ! Cold showers And a cold bath for the baby !!!

5) the room was not ready, no baby cot (crib) when we arrived also no kettle as requested. Had to go and purchase 1

In a nutshell the baby was cold for 2 mornings, unable to eat until we bought a kettle, had to argue every single day, cold showers for us and cockroaches !!!

For this sort of money I can highly recommend the turnbury isles, where we will be staying next time

Room Tip: Sea view suite, no cockroaches though!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

From the get-go, this place has no idea how to treat guests. it began in check-in. Instead of a smile and a warm, friendly greeting, I was met with an outstretched arm for my credit card and an unsolicited warning that there was NO SMOKING in rooms. And that, I was informed, includes the balconies. As I'm not a smoker, I didn't see the need to be so emphatic.

The hotel is located directly on the beach, but if you're conjuring an image of the endless horizon over the Atlantic, stop right now. I was awarded a view overlooking a gas station, busy Collins Avenue, and a strip mall with an impressive selection of Russian-cuisine restaurants. In fairness, the view does allow for sight of the sunset over the aforementioned.

The room contained two double beds. There was only one of me, but since I was not asked my preference at check-in, I had an extra bed. Nonetheless, mattresses are soft, comfortable, and pillow-topped. Top sheets are white and pristine. Bottom sheets, not so much. Although they weren't soiled, they were light gray. I wondered if I was actually the first one sleeping on mine.

What surprised me was how basic the room was and how outdated the fixtures. It's been a long time since I encountered a CD-playing Sony Dream machine, but apparently that's what The Donald thinks his customers are into. Just about every fine hotel now features a Keurig or Nespresso machine. Trump features an old fashioned Mr. Coffee in the small kitchenette, which also has a microwave and minibar/half fridge. On the plus side, the old fashioned fridge allows you to remove and insert items without being automatically charged.

Then there was the wall switch that lit up... nothing. A housekeeper explained that it was to turn on the light in the closet. Except there was no fixture inside it.

In another instance of poor planning, the bathroom door opened in. But the bathroom isn't big enough to enter without circling around the door to the reach the sink or standard shower-in-tub. Toiletries were from an undistinguished brand and I was turned off to find a half-empty mini-bottle of body lotion supplied.

Also, Donald, would it have killed you to supply a shower cap? Surely you occasionally preserve That Orange Thing Atop Your Head in plastic. Why not do as much for guests? In fact the total amenity kit consisted of one cotton ball, 3 Q-tips, and an emery board.

Bathroom features I've come to appreciate -- a thirsty terry robe, slippers, a magnifying makeup mirror -- are provided. But cut corners are apparent. Although the bathroom is partically clad in marble, the bathtub is plastic and creaks when you turn around in the shower. And the small shower head is the $9.99 model they sell at Bed Bath & Beyond. The Donald surely got a discount by buying in bulk.

The room contained a 42" Philips TV with HBO. But why was there a few seconds' delay between each channel change?

The resort has a broad beach with ample staff who set out lounges for a fee of $50, which can be theen used to order food and drink delivered to where you lie. There's also an extensive pool area with an elevator that leads down to the beach.

Right beside the beach is a pretty turquoise-and-blue bar and eatery that specializes in seafood. It was a shame the techno music was blasting. We wondered why they didn't simply let the sound of the ocean serenade diners rather than the aural assault. We didn't try the more formal restaurant and ended up in the lobby bar, which is attached to the hotel's Japanese restaurant. We enjoyed the sushi ($10 a roll). Service was attentive without being intrusive, although I was surprised to be addressed by my first name by the waiter.

Room Tip: Insist on a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My family of 4 (two young kids under 5) just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at this property. The amenities are very nice and kid friendly including a good sized zero entry pool with waterfalls. The beach is also easily accessed and there is plenty of room and nice sand. Most important to us as travelers with little kids is the hospitality. The staff at this resort were terrific. They were friendly, responsive, and overly patient. The housekeeping was also top notch. My only critique is the fee for valet parking, which as someone who lives/parks in Manhattan seemed too high. Having said that the valet attendants were extremely professional and polite.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Beach Resort

Address: 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Business Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Miami and Fort Lauderdale in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, Trump International Beach Resort is an oceanfront oasis, complete with its own private and pristine beach and delightful grotto-style pool complex. A member of Preferred Hotel Group, the Trump International Beach Resort offers 355 oversized guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Luxurious amenities at Trump International Beach Resort include a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour fitness center, four restaurants and lounges, tennis courts, business center, 22,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting and banquet space, and the ever popular Planet Kids Enviro-Adventures Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trump International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Trump Sonesta Beach Resort
Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
Hotel Trump International Beach
Sonesta Miami
Trump International Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.