We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trump International Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Trump International Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Trump International Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Vacation in Miami
Indialantic, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Having lived in Miami, service is something you come to NOT expect. I have never been to a hotel in Miami with this level of service,not only are the staff helpful, but friendly and cheery as if they actually enjoy their jobs. Kudos to the person who does the hiring. While you're there, be sure to visit Franz at the bar. Again, a person who really seems to enjoy his job and is interested in you having a good time while you're there. The valet are prompt and courteous, even wanting to help with recomendations for dinner. We had a wonderful hot stone massage at the spa, again, treated like royality. One of the best hot stone massages I've had, by the way. The decor, yes, I agree is not fabulous, but the rooms are clean and great views of the beach.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    327
    188
    91
    45
See reviews for
406
277
32
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

When I hear the word Trump, I am thinking top notch, high end accommodations and restaurants. The Trump resort looks like it received it's last update at least 10 years ago. There is just nothing that wows about the place. Elevators are slow, so is the valet. Way too many families with noisy rug rats. Restaurant food is far from great. Healthy or innovative menu options don't exist. The gym is terrible, too small and hardly any free weights. I walked in and right back out.

The room was huge but again, not exiting. Carpet felt somewhat damp, the AC was on 50 and my balcony overlooked noisy Collins Ave.

If you must stay here, for say a company meeting, I recommend 2 nearby restaurants. Hiro Yako San (authentic Japanese food, this is where Miami sushi chefs come to eat) and Miyago (directly across the street and a great value for the prices they charge). If you have a choice, well, don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Ill start out by saying that I stay 150 nights a year in hotels so my view may be different from those that dont stay as much...

This property is really not up to "Trump" standards. Even though this property probably leases his name, it still should maintain a certain high level. Valet staff is everywhere yet you have to go grab someone from their conversations with each other to help you....every single time. Front desk staff was very good but most hotels even poor ones maintain a good front desk. Food was very expensive and staff was average at best. The same can be said of the bar though the staff was a step up from the food group. I had both good and average experience with the room staff... The TV and one phone in the room were not working at check in. I needed to get change for a twenty at 10:30 p.m., the front desk said they could not do it, check with the bar, the bar said they couldn't do it, check with the front desk....never ever seen that before.

On the plus, its not a bad place, a bit old and not overly large but it will do if you somehow get a great rate. The pool was great for kids and the walk to the beach was quick and easy. There are not many pool chairs but the position and spacing were very good and does not have the sardine look that some resorts set up where everyone is all over each other. The only real advantage I see at this place is that across the street you have a huge selection of food, both low and high end and some basic shopping....This is a nice plus if you dont want to eat at the hotel or think that paying $60 for 3 kids meals through room service is a bit excessive.

This week the seaweed was all over the beach and heavy in the water. I dont blame the hotel for this as it can happen anywhere on the water from time to time, however, most resorts will have the seaweed on the shore cleaned up every night...Trump International did not.

Overall this was a disappointment. We were with 6 other families and the consensus was about the same. There are some great properties 10 minutes both north and south of this site that are much better options.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had a wonderful time and stay at the Trump International!! My boyfriend and I went for the weekend of June 15th-18th it was our first time in Miami and the staff at the Trump were very kind and helpful. We were always greeted by name and whenever we would come back to the hotel our door of the car were opened for us by the staff. The room was very spacious and clean as well as the bathroom. The balcony was beautiful and had a ocean view which was great. Everyday the rooms were cleaned the towels replaced and the beds were turned down. Whenever we return to Miami this is going to be the hotel that we constantly return to!! The pool was great and large and it was a very nice crowd of people families, couples, and single people who were all kind to each other. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a nice place to stay in Miami!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Had a rough first day at this hotel...they had nothing that was included in our purchased package. But on day 2 we had the most amazing waitress Barbara!! She was so pleasant and helpful! We were so impressed with her we needed to compliment her to her boss. In comes Julio who was absolutely amazing in his own right. Between the two of them our experience went from disappointing to superb. The amenities are amazing and the beach is beautiful! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Wasnt overly impressed with the room - we had a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. Wasn't bad but just seemed a little out dated compared to what I expected to see. The pool and beach area, however, was incredible. They have everything set up right for guests, which would make me want to return to this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We arrived late to a super chilled (uncomfortably) oceanfront junior suite (more like ocean view since half the view is blocked by the very tall building next door). The rooms deco is pretty ordinary, relatively clean but dated. Bathrooms have a mix of beautiful marble and some ugly wallpaper that is starting to peel off. Room size is decent. Biggest complaint was the extremely thin walls that made early morning difficult with all the banging and kids running around!

The pool area is nice and spacious ... beach is ok. Lot's of seaweed in the area though but I doubt hotel can do much about that.

We mostly went out for food but we did try the breakfast buffet (Neomi's), occasional lunch by the poolside (Gili's) and dinner at the beach (Bella) ... all were just ok, nothing remarkable.

Overall a decent hotel but we expected more ... next time we are in south florida we will more likely opt for the much Acqualina.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trump International Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Beach Resort

Address: 18001 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trump International Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Miami and Fort Lauderdale in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, Trump International Beach Resort is an oceanfront oasis, complete with its own private and pristine beach and delightful grotto-style pool complex. A member of Preferred Hotel Group, the Trump International Beach Resort offers 355 oversized guest rooms and suites, each with a private balcony and spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean or Intracoastal Waterway. Luxurious amenities at Trump International Beach Resort include a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour fitness center, four restaurants and lounges, tennis courts, business center, 22,000 sq. Ft. Of meeting and banquet space, and the ever popular Planet Kids Enviro-Adventures Program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Trump International Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Trump Sonesta Beach Resort
Trump International Sonesta Beach Resort
Hotel Trump International Beach
Sonesta Miami
Trump International Beach Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trump International Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.