We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Amazing Beach Wedding at Marena's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marenas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Marenas Resort to your Saves list
Marenas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18683 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Le Meridien)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Three pay Two
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Our Amazing Beach Wedding at Marena's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I got married at this gorgeous hotel in April 2010. It was an amazing experience & I cannot thank the hotel staff enough. A big thank you goes to Janet who helped us with every single last detail to make our wedding day special & she even took us out in her own car to get us our wedding licence. She is a fantastic person & went out her way for us. She even helped us hire out a nice sports car for the day for my new Hubby to enjoy.

We also got a room upgrade and I went I first walked into the apartment I nearly had tears in my eyes because of how beautiful the room was. Gorgeous view of the beach from the balcony & the room was lovely and spacious enough to live there. The walk in showers were amazing. Had the best powerful shower's I've ever used! Also the room had a full kitchen and huge fridge which we filled with plenty of drinks and snacks.

Our wedding meal was fantastic too, the waiters were brilliant and did everything to make sure it all went smoothly. Meal was gorgeous and I highly recommend eating in the hotel at least once.
On our wedding night our bed was scattered with rose petals, was such a lovely touch.

The only downfall was drinks in the hotel were not cheap, at one point when I was on the beach I went to buy a small bottle of water and the waitress asked for 12 Dollars. I couldn't believe it.

All in all I highly recommend the hotel, there are lots of bars & restaurants nearby within walking distance & South Beach is only a short ride away.
Anyone wanting to get married in Miami I would say go for it. It was so easy to do and I did not feel stressed at all. Would love to go back to the Marena's again in a few years time & catch up with Janet too. Love Stacey xxx

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marenasresort, General Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
Dear valuable guest,

It was our sincere pleasure to host your special occasion and to know that your experience was amazing. Our valet staff and team enjoyed parking your sports car as much as your husband enjoyed driving it. Our Chef and waiters were pleased to know they exceeded your expectations. Our goal is to consistently provide the highest quality of products and services that create memorable experiences for our guest. Please come and see us when you are back in Sunny Isles.

Kind regards,
Marenas Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    313
    147
    78
    51
See reviews for
351
297
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

> It was my second stay in this Hotel. First time in Oct 2009 when hotel was under LeMeridien Brand. I fully enjoyed that stay and decide to come back just for 3 three nights after 3 night in Miami Downtown.
If you take a cab from Miami downtown it costs you around 80$
I must say that Hotel did not changed much but improved a lot on service in the restaurant. Breakfast still little poor but who wants to eat breakfast downstairs. Great ocean view from the balcony and cold Heineken is all you need.
Fully equipped kitchen also can help if you like to cook on yourself.
There are lots of restaurant and shops around ( little Russia), and you can get get for 2$ to Aventura mall.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarenasSIB, Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Dear guest,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our resort. I was pleased to read that we have improved and have meet most of your expectations. We are continuing to work on improving our breakfast offering and services. We have just added a new breakfast buffet that has been quite successful and popular. Our goal is to consistently provide the highest quality of both product and services; again Thank You for taking the time to write and we hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the near future.

Warm regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We like this hotel, spacious room, very clean (we are two adults and three children - 9, 8 and 5) . It has a nice view of sea and the Island . Not that expensive.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marenasresort, Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Resort. Our staff takes pride in being warm and friendly and to always deliver a high level of service. We will share your comments with our staff and we do look forward to welcome you back to our beautiful property.

Kind regards,
Marenas Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed at the Marenas Resort for a wedding in December 2010. The resort is located amongst a strip of resorts, each of which is situated on the beach. It was convenient to be able to step out of the hotel onto the beautiful beach, but the beach would be more beautiful if there were not so many hotels along it. The one-bedroom suite in which we stayed was spacious and comfortable. Also, the hotel was exceptionally quiet while we were there.

Everyone who worked at the hotel was very nice, even if they were unable to fix some of the technical problems the hotel during our stay. The hotel's wireless internet was not working while we were there, and the hotel staff could not fix it. Also, the computers are slow at check-in, so in spite of the late hour, we had a long wait.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marenasresort, Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

It is our goal to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards. However we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed our resort location, space and comfort of our suites. We have recently upgraded our wireless internet services and we have received great feedback from our guest. Again thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you back at our Resort.

Kind Regards,
Marenas Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We just returned home from a 3 night trip to the Marenas Resort. Seeing that the reviews were very spotty before hand, we recognized to take everything in stride and just enjoy ourselves.

We arrived quite early on the day of our check in, and although the room wasn't quite ready, the receptionist took our number and called us personally when it was, so that we were able to check in early. We found our 2 bedroom, 3 full bath suite to be well appointed, spacious and modern. The furnishings were showing their age a bit, but we looked past it. The bathrooms were quite nice.

Room service was sufficient, always cleaned by the time we returned from our daily adventures, always fresh towels, always beds made, and the dishwasher run and clean.

The pool was indeed small, like others have said, but when you are on a beach, like the one in Sunny Isles, who needs the pool? We found the service at the beach to be fine. Always ready to carry a lounge chair, get extra towels, or an umbrella. The food/drink service at the beach was a bit slow. There was only one server, and he did the best he could with a busy beach. The drinks were quite tasty!

One morning, we did go down to the complimentary breakfast. They had two breakfast options it seemed, the complimentary was either 2 pieces of toast or 3 mini pastries, and grapes. Serviced with Orange Juice and Coffee. The paid continental breakfast had bagels, fruits, yogurt, granola etc. The complimentary offering seemed stingy. Either offer a full continental or don't offer at all.

One thing that was a bit annoying but we were prepared for, was the parking fee of $25 dollars. It really should be listed on their website somewhere. There is no other parking option, so if the cost is a requirement, it shouldn't be a surprise.

Overall, we went knowing that for a very reasonably priced hotel, with a great piece of real estate, we were not getting a 5 star experience. With that in mind, we were pleased with our stay, had a great time, would recommend it to friends, and possibly return ourselves. We certainly would have enjoyed staying a couple more days if we didn't need to get back home!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I booked the basic guest room - bay view for promotion on November. I upgraded to ocean view guest room at first, however, the drawer was broken and curtain was dirty. I requested to switch the room. However, they gave me the bay view guest room - like down grade to the former room... when we got into the room, the carpet was so dirty and light was not working. Therefore, we went to the front desk to complain about the cleanliness issue. I complained about the dirty carpet, room's cleanliness...etc. However, the manager just questioned us "what are you looking for?" "We pass the inspection everyday and clean the carpet everyday" and we said "I believe this is a 4 stars hotel and it should not be like that" then the manager just let us change the other room without saying anything. So I point out something here:
Pro
1) the hotel is close to the beach
Cons
1) Room is not clean and small if you book the guest room.
2) hotel is managed by managing company, not by hotel.
3) customer service is poor, not very friendly and listen to customers' opinion ( especially Manager)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marenasresort, Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Dear Guest,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to seat with me during your stay and sharing more details of the opportunities you experience at our property. As I mentioned our goal is to consistently provide the highest quality in both product and service, and it is vital to our continued success to know when we have fallen short of our own high standards.

I would like for you to know that I personally followed up with housekeeping in regards to the overall room cleanliness and the responses our Manager on Duty towards your request.

Again I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know your concern and I do hope that you are able to return as we discuss to our resort and truly enjoy your experience with us.

Regards,
The Management Team at Marenas Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I must say that part of the reason our trip was a disaster was unrelated to the hotel--everyone was very sick. That said, we were also severely disappointed in the hotel. Here's a laundry list as to why:
1) Beach--was dirty, dirty, dirty--cigarette butts, litter, etc. everywhere
2) Restaurant service--nonexistent...I actually had to get up to find a waiter several times and the poor bartender had to take care of us once.
3) Housekeeping did a poor job each and everyday despite large tips
4) The pool--oh my goodness it is a joke. So tiny and oh so dirty. Yuck.
5) Front desk service--also poor. Nobody at this hotel is in a hurry to please...I'm not sure if they know the meaning of customer service.
6) Location--Sunny Isles is basically a big highway--no charm or character near this hotel.

Overall, I would NEVER go back!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marenasresort, Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Dear disappointed guest,

It seems that everything that could go wrong during your visit, did go wrong and for that I offer my profound apologies. I will not dwell on the specific reasons as to why we disappointed you at every turn, for I have been offered not "acceptable" explanation. I can assure you that I have personally addressed your comments with the managers and staff of the departments involved and you should see a marked improvement should you be so kind enough to give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marenas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marenas Resort

Address: 18683 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Le Meridien)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marenas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marenas Beach Resort, a family friendly boutique beachfront hotel located in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, midway between Miami and Ft. Lauderdale. Turquoise waters touch powder-soft sands. International vibe mixes with modern style. Beach serenity merges with Miami sophistication. Marenas Resort is centrally located in the heart of the South Florida fun and sun just 45 minutes from Miami International Airport and 20 minutes from Fort Lauderdale International Airport. Shopping at Aventura Mall is just a short 5 minute drive and Marenas Beach Resort is less than 9 miles from Sun Life Stadium, home of the Miami Dolphins and University of Miami Hurricanes. Marenas Resort offers all of the amenities of home with full kitchens available in suites with washer and dryer and private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Marenas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marenas Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Le Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Sunny Isles Beach Meridien
Sunny Isles Beach Le Meridien
Marenas Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marenas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.