We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marenas Resort

Save Saved
You added Marenas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marenas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18683 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Le Meridien)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
PrePay with 30% Savings
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although my stay here was brief, only one night, I can tell this is a place worth re-visiting. The room service options are quite tasty. Their service is promt and accurate and the facilities are beautifully kept and clean. The room has a modern decor, I found it quite funtional in fact. Ther is wifi all over and the view is great. The room itself is rather small, but like I said it's functional and after a while working on the desk and stepping out to the balcony, you kind of forget about it. Bathrooms are quite large though and with available robe makes it quite comfy. Will return with more days to spare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for recognizing the beauty and premier location of Marenas Resort. Marenas Resort offers a unique resort experience in a casual upscale environment. The Resort offers both individual guest rooms for those not requring a lot of space, and Condominium Suites which offer full kitchens and laundry facilities. Whatever your needs are, Marenas Resort and its white sandy beaches provide the perfect getaway. We thank you for recognizing our prompt service and clean facilities.

We look forward to your next visit.


Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    259
    124
    73
    45
See reviews for
279
246
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived to the hotel in November 2012 much too early, no problem, we left our luggage with helpful porter and went to explore after getting info from the great concierge. Arrived back five hours later (and after check in time) was told to take a seat while room was finshed. One and a half hours later were taken to the room.....not happy when we saw it, got porter to take bags back down and asked to speak with Manager( we were very upset by now). Manager very very helpful, asked us to take a seat and offered us a Magarita while another room was prepared. Go up with bags and porter...to find somenone elses bags still in the room. Back down again,speak with Manager (for the second time) she was most apologetic.. Long story short we were put into a fabulous one bedroom apartment for our stay, which made us wish that our time spent there was much longer. We loved our stay, the beach,pool and bar areas very relaxing. The cafe/restaurant staff very pleasant and helpful. The receptionists were welcoming, if overworked. We loved the Marenas Beach Resort,and the location which even without a car is great.(bus stop right outside)
Only two negatives. No.1..the hotel has some rooms and apartments which are privately owned and the standard is not all the same, The room we were first put into was a privately owned one and not satisfactory. No.2. Not enough housekeeping staff, but this seems to be a problem all over Florida.
We would love to go back again.....as soon as possible.
.

Room Tip: Corner apartments have views of the bay and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at Marenas Beach Resort and Spa with Trip Advisor. Although things didn't start out great, I am truly happy to hear our staff was able to take a negative experience and turn it into a positive memory. Our staff does take great pride in creating a memorable experience for all of our guests. As you mention, there are some Private Condominium Units that are rented at the property. The Private Units, are generally in good condition, but on occasion, there may be one that may not be up to the same standards as the Marenas Resort rental units.


We look forward to your next visit.


Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked 5 nights after New Year in Marenas Resort Spa Hotel, my brother had got voucher deal which included registration fee and valet parking. We had a one bedroom suite for 3 of us with a balcony overlooking beach on left and marina on the right on 25th floor. It had self contained kitchen with cooking utensils, dishwasher, washing machine and housekeeping came in every day to clean. We were delighted with the facilities, needed to leave a few extra minutes or call down for valet service as was busy with NFL game betw Alabama & Notre Dame which coincided with our trip. Location was great, few minutes drive to Mall and convenient walk down to restaurants, supermarket & shops. Would stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for recognizing your pleasant experience at Marenas Resort on Trip Advisor. Marenas Resort offers upscale accomodations directly on the beach in Sunny Isles, FL. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were in room 02A & 2B which had an amazing view but unfortunately no afternoon sun.

The room was spacious with a nice size kitchen and appliances, a good shower and a very comfortable bed. There were a few things that needed proper repair and instead were taped or covered up.

You pay $27 for parking which is absurd, if you drive down to South Beach you pay $6 for 8 hours...so how they come up with number is beyond me. ALSO, if you have a friend come visit have them park across the street or tip the valet parker 4 dollars and tell him to hold your car up top. If they park it in the garage even if it's for 5 minutes they charge you $10!!!

The front desk staff seems like they have been told to be miserable. We checked in and tipped the gentleman who helped us out and he took the money as if we had handed him a bucket of pennies (we tipped him $20). I think if we gave the pesky seagulls the $20 they would have enjoyed it more thinking that it could potentially be food.

Essentially what makes this hotel is the beach staff. Joe (who I think is the boss) is awesome, he remembers you, helps you find a spot, sets you up and even remembers who you are with and directs them your way when they come down. He is one of a kind. I hope he is payed well because I know that if I was looking for a worker in Miami he is the first person I would try to hire. Jevonne was another young gentleman who I was able to converse with on the beach, he, unlike the front desk staff was engaging, interested and delightful. Both these guys are grade A employees and I hope that the Marenas Resort knows that.

Room Tip: Ask for an 01 room as they have the best view AND afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit. Our staff is dedicated to providing a positive memorable experience for our guests. We are sorry on some fronts, our staff missed in this goal. However, we are very proud of Joe and our Beach Team. They do a wonderful job for our guests. As you may not be aware, Parking is extremely scarce in the beach area and our property is no different. Although costly, our parking costs are conistent with most hotels in the area.

We thank you for being our guest and for your valuable input as we work to improve for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 3 days in a one bedroom suite and wish we had stayed longer not only to miss the snow storm in Amsterdam when we left to return home. The suite was very spacious , comfortable and with a very well equipped kitchen. It even had a dishwasher and washine machine dryer.With a Publix supermarket at walking distance it is easy to prepare breakfast or other meals.
The balcony provided a view both on the Ocean and the bay. It was clean and quiet . All staff were friendly and helpful. We had a good internet deal and as a consequence the price/quality was excellent. Only minor issue was a rather cold pool. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Worth booking a suite rather than a simple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Marenas Resort in Sunny Isles Beach, FL with Trip Advisor. Marenas Resort is perfectly located on the beach just minutes from Fort Lauderdale Airport and 35 minutes from Miami International Airport. As you mention, our Condominium Suites offer a comfortable living environment which feels just like home. We look forward to to your next visit to beautiful Marenas Beach Resort and Spa.

Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just stayed 3 nights. One Br suite, ocean front (901a). Had 2 full baths, nice kitchen, dining table, king bed and pull out sofa. Wrap around balcony (narrow) to watch sunrise with your coffee. We paid two hund per night which is a very good deal IMO for the area, for January. Had lunch at the restaurant and it was good, but limited menu so didn't repeat. Miami Juice across street had
great fresh, healthy lunch (but pricey...it's Miami!). Staff was great, prompt, friendly. Gym was very good for a hotel.

Things to know:
pool is small and early always shaded (at least in Jan), but beach is 20 steps from hotel and nice and sunny till 3pm. The high rises in this area frequently shade many properties -this is not just an Marenas thing! Rooms -01a, -01b, -10, -09, and -08 are on the south side and will get sun at some part of the day (01's in morning and rest In afternoon). The other rooms face North and I don't see how they would ever be In the sun, so shade lovers pick the north side.

Bar scene does not exist. If you want nightlife, pick another spot. The neighboring properties did not seem to have nightlife either. Also, kitchen has utensils, dishes, pots and pans and appliances. Nothing else...no paper towels, dish cloth, dish soap, etc. just FYI if you plan to use the kitchen. There is a Publix grocery store a block away which is very convenient.

Parking was $27 a day, but again... Know the area...parking at most shopping areas is $6 or so for an hour or two.

Room was minimally appointed (scandinavian style?) but very adequate. Smaller tv in LR, large one in BR, washer dryer, deck chairs on balcony with small table.

Overall, we enjoyed. My rating is largely based on price/value for the area and I feel we got more than our money's worth.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side see sun, 901a is full ocean front with wrap around deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Marenas Resort in beautiful Sunny Isles Beach. It is true that the hotel provides a great value as compared to other properties in the area. The Resort is undergoing a refresh which includes several upgrades to the Resort's Public areas and Condominium units. We are happy to hear our staff was pleasant and efficient during your visit.

We look forward to once again welcoming you back to Marenas Beach Resort and Spa.

Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Marenas is a nice hotel in Sunny Isles, North Miami Beach. I cannot give the hotel a better rating, since I rented directly from the owner and did not get all services offered, such as housekeeping. In my situation something were missing from the hotel service and the apartment needed a urgent renovation. However the hotel has some low points…now room service after 10pm and the pool closes at sundown, which in Miami does not make any sense. As high points I can say that the two bedrooms is great and comfortably accommodates a family of five, with a great kitchen and spectacular view. The location is also very good, for those not planning daily trips to South Beach and Downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan M, General Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at a Private Condominium at Marenas Resort. As you mention, some of the private units are in need of improvements. Currently, the Condominium Units directly operated directly by Marenas Resort are undergoing monthtly improvements and are held to strict quality controls.

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next visit. The Marenas Resort website has several specials available throughout the year which are hard to pass up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marenas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marenas Resort

Address: 18683 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Le Meridien)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marenas Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marenas Beach Resort & Spa, an all-suite beachfront hotel located in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, midway between Miami and Ft. Lauderdale. Turquoise waters touch powder-soft sands. International vibe mixes with modern style. Beach serenity merges with Miami sophistication. This is harmony. A north Miami beach hotels member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. Marenas Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a desirable location in Florida's Riviera, on a glorious 2.5 Mile stretch of beach. Here you can take a sunrise walk by the Atlantic, or go South Beach clubbing until dawn, sunbathe poolside or plan a high-powered board meeting. If you admire the style of a boutique hotel, but love the warmth and space of home, Marenas Resort is where you belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Marenas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marenas Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Le Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Sunny Isles Beach Meridien
Sunny Isles Beach Le Meridien
Marenas Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marenas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.