We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home, with style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marenas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marenas Resort to your Saves list
Marenas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18683 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Le Meridien)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre Pay & Save 30% Off
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home away from Home, with style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This resort gives you the conveniences of home within the hotel setting. Stylish accommodations, good service, and residential location (still close to south beach).
We stayed in a suite- den, FULL kitchen, washer/dryer, bathroom, bedroom, veranda. The views are either north or south views, unless you request an end.
The kitchen was stocked with all serveware, pots, pans, coffee maker. (No soap-dish or dishwasher)
Washer/dryer-standard stackable. no detergent.; Iron, iron board.
Spacious bathroom- tub and shower.
Bedroom- bed with built-in dual sconces. Box tv, dvd player; floor to ceiling window!; very comfortable beds, feather pillows.
Den- flat screen tv, very comfortable couch (pull-out sofa) and chairs.
Kitchen with high-bar and chairs- stainless steel appliances-stove, fridge, dishwasher; only thing missing for me was toaster oven since we don't use the microwave. The fridge was full size.
Bathroom-good water pressure from rain-showerhead. Fairly clean except :( shower rods, towel bars, and towels had hair in it.
--The lobby decor was quite nice also Service with a smile. Valet were pleasant although the price was not nice though average for the area at twenty-five dollars overnight. They brought our car fairly quickly every time. Breakfast buffet with Live entertainment according to the staff.
--Location- Publix basically across the street. TDBank, Chase, Wellsfargo a block or 3 away. Miami juice and many other eating options walking distance. Cleaners, Pharmacy, Marshalls, nails, salons also close. 20min drive to South Beach. Oh and did I mention they have a free steam room and gym. and Exquisite Spa.
***Enjoy- You will be pleased.
We would definitely stay here again if in Miami.

Room Tip: The views are either north or south views, unless you request an end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    287
    132
    75
    49
See reviews for
312
265
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful location and a nice hotel, but the restaurant service was terrible.

Good things about this hotel are the view, the beach access, the swimming pool, super big gym, safe in the room, good air conditioning and a big bathroom. Other than the restaurant, the help is very nice and quick to respond to requests.

Bad things are the free internet is too slow for any practical use (.250 Mbps), no coffee maker in the room and no place to get coffee other than the restaurant, the carpet is showing its age and the doors rattle every time someone opens or closes their door. The room was not as clean as it should have been, my guess is that the maids need glasses.

The service is the restaurant is so SLOW that I stopped trying to get food there and just did room service. I walked three blocks each morning to get coffee and a bit to eat, because that was quicker than going to the restaurant. I also went to the pool to order food, but because the service there was much quicker than the restaurant. FYI, there were never more than a few people in the restaurant so I am not sure why the service was so slow. It took me 1 ½ hours to get a hamburger and the second time I went back I was there for 30 minutes and no one had taken my order, so I walked out.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are very large, the Studio room I had was small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a view of the beach. The first room they put us in was next to the elevator shaft and very noise. Our request to be moved to another was handled with no problem. The hotel is showing a little wear and tear, but was very clean and the service was very good. Pool is a little on the small side, but we prefer the beach and the beach staff went out their way to help in any way they could. Had breakfast there a couple of mornings and found it to be good and fairly priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaby S, Front Office Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking your personal time to share your feedback. As we continue to make improvements and explore our areas of opportunity for our guests’ overall experience your comments will help us. We are happy that the front office was able to assist you quickly with your move. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is my second visit to this Resort and I think this is going to be my "go to " place when ever I need a quick get away. I stayed in the little studio suite where there was a breathtaking patio view of the beach when looking to the left and an equally beautiful city view when looking to the right. Staff was pleasant and helpful. They came up right away to replace missing patio furniture when I called after 10 PM that eve. Clean, quiet, comfortable. The food actually wasn't too bad tasting, even if a bit expensive ( usually hotel food is pretty bland) . I had the Salmon in orange glaze . However, there is an excellent , cheaper pizza/Italian eatery just across the street that I would highly recommend if you need a break from the hotel food. I was disappointed the spa did not appear to be open ( I was there from Fri morning to Sunday). .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaby S, Front Office Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are so happy to hear that this was your second stay with us! Thank you very much for your nice comments about our staff - they take great pride in what they do. I will make sure that the team knows the impression that they made and impact they had on your stay. We are also very happy that you were able to take advantage of the restaurant while you were with us and enjoyed the Salmon. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were glad to have only stayed one night at this hotel. The hotel rooms and grounds are in desperate need of renovations. The one bedroom suites are spacious, but everything is worn and not in good working order. Had to move a couple of times to find a room that was clean. The staff was friendly and the bellman was especially nice, but the hotel lacks a lot of warmth. We had lunch at the restaurant which was good, but service was strange. We started with one server then ended up with another who kept on talking about another customer to us. Pool area was small and the spa was non-existent...they are trying to get a new vendor to run the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaby S, Front Office Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking your personal time to share your feedback. Your comments are being discussed with our Housekeeping management as we continue to make improvements and explore our areas of opportunity for our guests’ overall experience. I will make sure that our staff knows that they left a good impression. We hope that you will give us another opportunity if you are ever in Sunny Isles, FL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Love the room felt like i was back home...love the view the second best moon rise after Santorini...love the balcony....love the breakfast....tha staff was very polite...we stay for 3 nights on our honeymoon...it was the first stop from our road trip and i must say it was the best first impresion..

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaby S, Front Office Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you loved our hotel! Thank you very much for your nice comments about our staff - they take great pride in what they do. I will make sure that the team knows the impression that they made and impact they had on your stay. We are also very happy that you shared your honeymoon with us. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Arrived weekend of Labor day for a 3 days stay. Upon arriving (early) the gentleman at the front desk said he would check to see if the room was ready (2brm oceanfront). He indicted it would be a few minutes and if we didn't mind waiting. I indicated no problem. I stepped back from counter and Gabby the manager walked up to him and I overheard her say something to the effect that He (the front desk clerk) wasn't to go check on the room as Housekeeping was to do this. This on the surface didn't seem to bad but what concerned me was her nasty tone (with the front desk clerk). I decided to sit down for lunch and walked over to the restaurant and the gentleman at the hostess stand said we could take any seat. So we walked to a seat close to the windows facing the beach. A person (assumed he worked in the rest.) came up after we sat down and asked what were we doing? We said waiting to be served. He said who seated you. We pointed to the guy at the hostess stand. He didn't say anything and walked away, this was strange on the least and a bit rude. The waitress was nice enough and we enjoyed our lunch. After we were informed the room was ready and went up. The hall to the room was very dark (for the middle of the day) and when we walked in we were appalled at the state of the room. The windows had hand prints all over them. The kitchen had bits of food that hadn't been wiped up and the furniture was worn and staind. We decided at that moment to vacate the room and ask for our money back as the attitude of the staff and the state of the that room were one in the same (Not good). I asked to speak to the manager and Gabby came up and I asked for my money back explaining why. She didn't hesitate and apologized. Will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaby S, Front Office Manager at Marenas Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We value your business and regret that it was not what you expected. Your comments will help us address the issues you brought to our attention so we can improve our service. We have addressed the concerns with our Food and Beverage Team as well as our Housekeeping team and can assure you that this will not happen again. Thank you for taking your personal time to share your feedback. I sincerely apologize on behalf of our team for any negative impression we’ve made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marenas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marenas Resort

Address: 18683 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Le Meridien)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marenas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Marenas Beach Resort & Spa, an all-suite beachfront hotel located in Sunny Isles Beach, Florida, midway between Miami and Ft. Lauderdale. Turquoise waters touch powder-soft sands. International vibe mixes with modern style. Beach serenity merges with Miami sophistication. This is harmony. A north Miami beach hotels member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts. Marenas Beach Resort & Spa enjoys a desirable location in Florida's Riviera, on a glorious 2.5 Mile stretch of beach. Here you can take a sunrise walk by the Atlantic, or go South Beach clubbing until dawn, sunbathe poolside or plan a high-powered board meeting. If you admire the style of a boutique hotel, but love the warmth and space of home, Marenas Resort is where you belong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Marenas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marenas Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Le Meridien Sunny Isles Beach
Sunny Isles Beach Meridien
Sunny Isles Beach Le Meridien
Marenas Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marenas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.