We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth considering, but a few points you should know...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   17875 Collins Ave., Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
tampa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth considering, but a few points you should know...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Summary: Our family (30 something parents and 4 kids aged 4 - 11) stayed at the resort because Acqualina has been showing up on lists of best family resorts. It was an alternative to the Fontainebleau, which several friends have had mediocre experiences at recently. I am glad we tried out the resort; however, it was not sufficiently spectacular to consider a different location on our next trip to Miami. That doesn't mean we won't be back...just that we will consider other properties too. BTW, you might want to avoid this property until the construction next door is complete.

+++++

Staff - Excellent and they are everywhere. The training of the staff is probably the high point of the hotel.

Food Quality - Very good, especially the morning buffet.

Property - Tightly landlocked. Obviously, this resort sits on some of the most expensive property in the United States. It is 4.5 acres, so don't expect this to be a sprawling resort like Atlantis or The Breakers.

Location - Not bad. North of Bal Harbour and about 10 miles from South Beach. We were able to get to dinners in Coconut Grove and South Beach w/o issue.

Pretentiousness - Not bad. As you pull in the drive, you will probably notice ~10 Rolls-Royces and half dozen exotic sports cars parked out front. It sends a strong message, but I think that pretentiousness is left at the front door.

Kid's Club - Nice, but perhaps mildly oversold. I wouldn't suggest it for children 10 or over.

Ocean Access - Great

Pools - There are 3 of them. All are heated. One of them is adults only. The other two are fairly standard, with one being about 3x larger than the other. It's unfortunate that they didn't just combine the two pools into one grand pool b/c the current pools get boring for kids very fast. Also, they are building the Acqualina mansions next door, and the construction noise is pretty loud at the pools....even on Saturdays!

Room Finishing - On par with a Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons

Wireless Internet - Disappointingly weak and intermittent

Pillows - Better than average

Mattresses - Too firm for my taste and actually gave me and my wife sore backs.

Room Tip: Book your cabana early and be sure to specify which pool you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    62
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
145
215
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Multiple Visits At this point. Excellent accommodations and service that is consistent 24/7/365. Consistency is absolutely remarkable ! Same staff year in and year out .... Turn over must be close to nil ! Everyone is on the absolute top of their game.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite hotels in Miami. It makes for a very easy family vacation. Pool and beach has a terrific ambiance. You feel like you are in a posh villa in Italy. Hotel staff is super accommodating. They even offer a kids club which all my kids thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved the resort. Stayed in a very large and beautiful oceanfront suite. Spent a day at the spa. It was fabulous. I had the most wonderful massage ever, from the sweetest woman. My friends enjoyed their facials and massages too. Overall, we had a very nice time. Only complaints I have are the sheets could be softer (aka: higher thread count, although I know I'm spoiled but at this rate, give your guests nicer sheets, please ;), the bar needs to stay open longer.... no night life there after 11pm, from what we saw. That's like a teenagers curfew, lol. So glad we went out in South beach otherwise we would have been really bored at night. The last con was a little mold in the shower and our balcony was nice in size but dipped down towards the rail which made all of us feel a little sick to stay out there too long. The ambiance, food, service from majority of the staff was all superb. I would go back... just might request different sheets/balcony.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay without an ocean front room, it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is my 3rd. stay at the property and have incrementally increased my appreciation and respect for the General Manager (Sase Gjiorsovski) and his staff in its entirety w/each visit. They have consistently maintained my initial impression of the overall exceptional "old school European Class" in their services, and have equally impressed family members (who are now devoted guests) as well. My recent stay reflected the above mentioned standard in every way. And it should be noted that the extremely busy Passover/Spring break weekend w/perfect sunny weather had no detrimental effect whatsoever on the overall experience. Sase (Gen. Magr.) took time out to phone my UPGRADED room (please keep in mind the property was leased to FULL CAPACITY) to verify it was up to my standards as a Leading Hotel Member, personally met me under the 90deg. Miami sky ON THE BEACH to welcome me back to the property, had cold milk/cookies delivered w/a handwritten letter to my 7yr. old daughter welcoming her back, a separated letter addressed to me along w/a ball cap, designer soap/sponge in a tasteful gift bag and mineral water left daily for us. What else can I say.... I've recently spent my 40th. b-day in the World Famous Copacabana Palace (Rio de Janeiro) and the stellar service on that property is but a sparkle to the brilliant radiance of Acqualina Spa and Resort in Sunny Isles. Beach service, pool bar, breakfast staff (omelet station preparer remembered/delivered my order daily)/w the delicious fresh selections were all equally flawless... Planning a return trip in the next few months.....

PS- As I write this, I await delivery of my heavy 18k Gold chain (w/three charms) which I left outside the steam room at the Spa.... Of course the conscientious employee "Miguel" turned it in right away to security, which promptly arranged delivery via Fed Ex and e-mailed me the tracking number while I was STILL ON MY WAY HOME!!.... BRAVO....Need I say more?! :)

Room Tip: High floor, either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When I booked this hotel I didn't read any comments, and now having read all these negative comments I understand that was a right decision otherwise I wouldn't have booked it.
We stayed at the Acqualina for 7 nights, and we plan to come back again. We liked everything about it, the check-in, staff service, concierge, etc. Upon arrival our room was upgraded to one-bedroom ocean front suit, we don't know why, but maybe because we were on our honeymoon, the staff fulfilled all our requests friendly, we need golf course, ok, no problem, we need reservation for dinner, no, problem, we need to cancel our reservation, no problem, we need to change the time of our appointment at the spa, ok, no problem though it's not provided by their cancelation policy. The Italian restaurant was very nice.
This is the first time I'm writing my review though we travel a lot, but I just can't believe that all those negative reviews are about the Aqualina.

Room Tip: We stayed at 803B, it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This resort is extremely disappointing. Service is poor and the staff not familiar with how to treat customers. Non way this deserves even one star. They even billed me for an extra night which took three days to get reversed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Address: 17875 Collins Ave., Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach is a place where the charm of a Mediterranean villa meets elegance on the beach and a recipient of the coveted 2013 Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, 2013 AAA Five Diamond Award for four consecutive years and 2012 Andrew Harper's Reader's Choice Award for Top 20 Beach and Family Resorts. A seaside luxury haven located on 4.5 beachfront acres in pristine Sunny Isles Beach, Acqualina Resort & Spa features 98 impeccably appointed guest rooms and suites and 188 residencies with breathtaking views of Atlantic Ocean. Step into a world of luxury with unprecedented accommodations and service, world-class dining destinations, including Piazzetta Marketplace and Restaurant and Il Mulino New York, three oceanfront swimming pools, spacious boardrooms, and an innovative marine biology-based children’s program. A variety of lavish interior and exterior venues provide an ideal background for opulent weddings and memorable events on the lush property grounds boasting 400 feet of stunning Atlantic coastline. Acqualina Spa by ESPA, the first ESPA-branded spa in the United States, provides guests with an exquisite 20,000-square-foot, two-story tranquil sanctuary of excellence and relaxation set in a class of its own offering eleven multi-functional treatment rooms, four spa treatment rooms, and an extravagant private spa suite for two, along with the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful outdoor terrace complete with a spa pool, heated jet pool, and Roman waterfall – all set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqualina Resort And Spa On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.