We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class : Every Day Every Visit ..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   17875 Collins Ave., Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night On Us
Philadelphia, Pa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First Class : Every Day Every Visit ..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Multiple Visits At this point. Excellent accommodations and service that is consistent 24/7/365. Consistency is absolutely remarkable ! Same staff year in and year out .... Turn over must be close to nil ! Everyone is on the absolute top of their game.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    66
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
168
247
18
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels in Miami. It makes for a very easy family vacation. Pool and beach has a terrific ambiance. You feel like you are in a posh villa in Italy. Hotel staff is super accommodating. They even offer a kids club which all my kids thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved the resort. Stayed in a very large and beautiful oceanfront suite. Spent a day at the spa. It was fabulous. I had the most wonderful massage ever, from the sweetest woman. My friends enjoyed their facials and massages too. Overall, we had a very nice time. Only complaints I have are the sheets could be softer (aka: higher thread count, although I know I'm spoiled but at this rate, give your guests nicer sheets, please ;), the bar needs to stay open longer.... no night life there after 11pm, from what we saw. That's like a teenagers curfew, lol. So glad we went out in South beach otherwise we would have been really bored at night. The last con was a little mold in the shower and our balcony was nice in size but dipped down towards the rail which made all of us feel a little sick to stay out there too long. The ambiance, food, service from majority of the staff was all superb. I would go back... just might request different sheets/balcony.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay without an ocean front room, it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is my 3rd. stay at the property and have incrementally increased my appreciation and respect for the General Manager (Sase Gjiorsovski) and his staff in its entirety w/each visit. They have consistently maintained my initial impression of the overall exceptional "old school European Class" in their services, and have equally impressed family members (who are now devoted guests) as well. My recent stay reflected the above mentioned standard in every way. And it should be noted that the extremely busy Passover/Spring break weekend w/perfect sunny weather had no detrimental effect whatsoever on the overall experience. Sase (Gen. Magr.) took time out to phone my UPGRADED room (please keep in mind the property was leased to FULL CAPACITY) to verify it was up to my standards as a Leading Hotel Member, personally met me under the 90deg. Miami sky ON THE BEACH to welcome me back to the property, had cold milk/cookies delivered w/a handwritten letter to my 7yr. old daughter welcoming her back, a separated letter addressed to me along w/a ball cap, designer soap/sponge in a tasteful gift bag and mineral water left daily for us. What else can I say.... I've recently spent my 40th. b-day in the World Famous Copacabana Palace (Rio de Janeiro) and the stellar service on that property is but a sparkle to the brilliant radiance of Acqualina Spa and Resort in Sunny Isles. Beach service, pool bar, breakfast staff (omelet station preparer remembered/delivered my order daily)/w the delicious fresh selections were all equally flawless... Planning a return trip in the next few months.....

PS- As I write this, I await delivery of my heavy 18k Gold chain (w/three charms) which I left outside the steam room at the Spa.... Of course the conscientious employee "Miguel" turned it in right away to security, which promptly arranged delivery via Fed Ex and e-mailed me the tracking number while I was STILL ON MY WAY HOME!!.... BRAVO....Need I say more?! :)

Room Tip: High floor, either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

When I booked this hotel I didn't read any comments, and now having read all these negative comments I understand that was a right decision otherwise I wouldn't have booked it.
We stayed at the Acqualina for 7 nights, and we plan to come back again. We liked everything about it, the check-in, staff service, concierge, etc. Upon arrival our room was upgraded to one-bedroom ocean front suit, we don't know why, but maybe because we were on our honeymoon, the staff fulfilled all our requests friendly, we need golf course, ok, no problem, we need reservation for dinner, no, problem, we need to cancel our reservation, no problem, we need to change the time of our appointment at the spa, ok, no problem though it's not provided by their cancelation policy. The Italian restaurant was very nice.
This is the first time I'm writing my review though we travel a lot, but I just can't believe that all those negative reviews are about the Aqualina.

Room Tip: We stayed at 803B, it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This resort is extremely disappointing. Service is poor and the staff not familiar with how to treat customers. Non way this deserves even one star. They even billed me for an extra night which took three days to get reversed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at Acqualina in a 1 bedroom oceanfront suite for a 4 day trip. I will begin my review with the negative aspects of my stay. When I checked into hotel, I was initially greeted as MRS X, questioned when MR X would be arriving then asked for ID. I presented my passport & then I was OHHHHH, MISS X (last name different) & asked for my credit card. They had MR X's credit card on file & it really didn't matter to me if they needed my credit card, however, the woman's tone went from normal to condescending like I up to something deviant or a hooker. I informed her that reservation was made directly on the phone w/ Aqualina reservationist & she responded to that with, "OH, MR X must've made reservation on the internet somewhere." While I realize these front desk people must deal with all kinds of situations I felt as though I was dealing with the Spanish Inquisition- this pissed me off & handed over my Amex. When we checked out the front desk asked which AMEX to charge the bill- proof they had other Amex on file.

After my uncomfortable check-in, I went up to my suite. The light in the toilet room was broken & I didn't notice the room was full of toilet bowl water from a leak. I was kinda shocked no one checked the room prior to check-in to make sure in order. Front desk sent up housekeeping & repair guy. Housekeeping asked what they could do to make it better- I told them cleaning my dirty toilet water jeans would be fantastic. They were able to clean my jeans & have it back up to the room in about 3 hrs- nice. I noticed they charged 10 bucks on our final bill for this service which they later took off when we complained- it's not like 10 bucks will break the bank but they should not have thrown it on the final tab in the 1st place- c'mon people.

We had a group of cougars in the room adjacent to ours during our stay & we knew they were a group of cougars because there was ZERO soundproofing between the adjoining door in our living room mini-bar area & their bedroom. We were able to hear their conversations crystal clear which shouldn't have been the case. Our bathtub had a nice picture window, however, the shades did not come down- only a valance for decorative purposes. I didn't realize until I stood on my balcony that I was able to see the bathtub below me & my adjacent neighbors had the same ability to see into my bathroom. I'm not some kinda European exhibitionist, so this was not particularly appealing. The shower also had black mold in spots.

We enjoyed Acqualina's room service & our dinner at Il Mulino. We really didn't have the opportunity to use the beach & pool facilities since it was overcast, however, it looked very nice. I did notice a lot of kids running around & had a lunch with a screaming kid at the table next to me, so I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend. The spa was very nice & peaceful. The car service to the Bal Habour Mall was a nice perk.

Overall this was just a weird experience for the price- or any price really. I could see how this hotel would be good for families & kids but it's really not for couples. I'll probably either go back to the Setai on South Beach or try the St. Regis in Bal Harbour for my next long Miami weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcqualinaManagement, General Manager at Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear gabrielle c,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach.

I sincerely appreciate your feedback and have tried to reach you as I would personally like to speak to you.

We value the safety and privacy of all of our guests and therefore require valid identification upon arrival and the corresponding method of payment. I sincerely apologize if the manner in which this request was relayed was dissatisfying.

Your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping and Engineering staff and measures have been implemented to prevent a future recurrence of what you experienced in your suite.

Acqualina, while being a very family friendly resort, also offers the opportunity for adults to relax in a private environment as we do offer the Tranquility Pool (adults only) as well as the Acqualina Spa by ESPA Private Pool Deck and roman waterfall Jacuzzi.

Please do not hesitate to contact me as I still hope to speak to you further about your experiences during your stay with us and would like to possibly make arrangements for a future visit to our resort.

Sincerely,
Sase Gjorsovski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Address: 17875 Collins Ave., Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach is a place where the charm of a Mediterranean villa meets elegance on the beach and a recipient of the coveted 2013 Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, 2013 AAA Five Diamond Award for four consecutive years and 2012 Andrew Harper's Reader's Choice Award for Top 20 Beach and Family Resorts. A seaside luxury haven located on 4.5 beachfront acres in pristine Sunny Isles Beach, Acqualina Resort & Spa features 98 impeccably appointed guest rooms and suites and 188 residencies with breathtaking views of Atlantic Ocean. Step into a world of luxury with unprecedented accommodations and service, world-class dining destinations, including Piazzetta Marketplace and Restaurant and Il Mulino New York, three oceanfront swimming pools, spacious boardrooms, and an innovative marine biology-based children’s program. A variety of lavish interior and exterior venues provide an ideal background for opulent weddings and memorable events on the lush property grounds boasting 400 feet of stunning Atlantic coastline. Acqualina Spa by ESPA, the first ESPA-branded spa in the United States, provides guests with an exquisite 20,000-square-foot, two-story tranquil sanctuary of excellence and relaxation set in a class of its own offering eleven multi-functional treatment rooms, four spa treatment rooms, and an extravagant private spa suite for two, along with the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful outdoor terrace complete with a spa pool, heated jet pool, and Roman waterfall – all set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, LHW, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqualina Resort And Spa On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.