We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   17875 Collins Ave., Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This resort is outstanding! It is a AAA 5 diamond resort, the only one on the beach i believe, and it truly deserves its rating. The service is superb and the attention to detail fantastic. The food on offer is excellent, and the suite we stayed in was luxurious. The ESPA is really well done and the staff are extremely professional. The beachfront is peaceful and the service you get from the resort's staff while on the beach is exemplary. We even got VIP passes to the Art Basel, which was a wonderful surprise. Really hope to stay here again some time soon. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Any, this resort really knows how to look after its guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    387
    60
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
142
209
18
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed at countless hotels and resorts and never have I felt compelled to write a review about the quality of service. My stay at the Acqualina was magnificent and the service and staff was absolute perfection. From Maribel in the spa to Christina at the Kids Camp to the lovely concierge, beach staff, and elevator attendants- every last staff member was kind, attendant, and helpful. I have never encountered such fantastic service.

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an absolutely amazing hotel! It's very clean and comfortable, the grounds and beach are well kept and beautiful, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It has several small pools and the beach is wonderful to walk down.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Love everything about the Aqualina! The friendly staff, the pool areas,the grass beach, the hotel unit, the food! We have been going there for the past 2 years, for 3 times a year, and it's always a pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The best location in Miami
Wonderful retreat
Very good kid's club
Very good price vs facilities
Great service in f desk, the restaurant is exceptional / great view & high quality food.
Italian STYLE in Florida

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The high point of this resort is the amazing staff. Ok, the rooms are pretty fabulous too. Everything is just as pictured on the website, no surprises. From the time you walk through the front door till the time you check out, you are treated like you are the only guest in the place. Somehow everybody remembers your name, every day, and greets you as if you live there.

The Acqualina mentality (as I will refer to it) stretches to every staff member, whether housekeeping, or the very nice gentlemen that stand outside the elevators. They look like Secret Service!

We had the special Thanksgiving feast at Piazzetta and it was truly amazing. I still don't know how they managed to prepare so many turkeys and bring them out, hot and moist with all the accompaniments, and providing each family with it's own turkey to carve was simply genius.

The only downside I can think of is that the other restaurants I didn't find all that exceptional. We'd had room service that turned out to be from the Il Mulino menu, and quite frankly I found it boring. Perhaps not fair, since food often doesn't translate well when sent up 20 floors in an elevator. Breakfast buffet was very good. Costa Grill....just average. The Piazzetta Marketplace which is advertised as a place to buy prepared foods I thought over-advertised their selection. Sushi bar would've been great had it been open for lunch. We did not dine in their #1 restaurant Il Mulino because we grew tired of eating in the hotel and wanted to venture out, and had some delightful meals in close proximity.

The beach is stunning, and the staff there is exceptional as well. Ask for water and you'll receive a full pitcher of ice water with Acqualina glasses. There is construction going on for the next phase so be prepared for a little noise.

All in all this is really a world class experience It's very pricey, but worth it for a few days. You'll be treated like royalty from the minute you walk through the door till the minute you leave.

Room Tip: There's construction going on at the south end. Rooms that have city view can be a bit noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days after 2 weeks of touring in south America camping and in B&Bs so the luxury was very welcome :-)

Room was spacious and full of little treats - I especially liked that when we returned at night the music system was on, the lights down low and our slippers waiting be the bed.

I loved the adults pool and the peace this allowed to relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach

Address: 17875 Collins Ave., Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach is a place where the charm of a Mediterranean villa meets elegance on the beach and a recipient of the coveted 2013 Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, 2013 AAA Five Diamond Award for four consecutive years and 2012 Andrew Harper's Reader's Choice Award for Top 20 Beach and Family Resorts. A seaside luxury haven located on 4.5 beachfront acres in pristine Sunny Isles Beach, Acqualina Resort & Spa features 98 impeccably appointed guest rooms and suites and 188 residencies with breathtaking views of Atlantic Ocean. Step into a world of luxury with unprecedented accommodations and service, world-class dining destinations, including Piazzetta Marketplace and Restaurant and Il Mulino New York, three oceanfront swimming pools, spacious boardrooms, and an innovative marine biology-based children’s program. A variety of lavish interior and exterior venues provide an ideal background for opulent weddings and memorable events on the lush property grounds boasting 400 feet of stunning Atlantic coastline. Acqualina Spa by ESPA, the first ESPA-branded spa in the United States, provides guests with an exquisite 20,000-square-foot, two-story tranquil sanctuary of excellence and relaxation set in a class of its own offering eleven multi-functional treatment rooms, four spa treatment rooms, and an extravagant private spa suite for two, along with the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful outdoor terrace complete with a spa pool, heated jet pool, and Roman waterfall – all set against the gorgeous backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqualina Resort And Spa On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Acqualina Hotel On The Beach
Acqualina Resort & Spa On The Beach Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acqualina Resort & Spa on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.