We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment, but with a few cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club

Save Saved
You added Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   16900 North Bay Road, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, but with a few cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed in this apartment for 2 nights. Valet parking was included in the fare. My children and I stayed in the 25th floor. We could see the bay and the sea from our balcony (partial view). It had a nice balcony with table and chairs.
The apartment is nice, so is the furniture. The bathroom is fine (has a few dark stains on the floor) and it looks poorly remodelled.
It has a noisy washer and dryer in the unit, and noisy AC, 2 flat screen tv's with DVD player and WIFI connection. The complex has a big pool, a gym and small grocery shop near the lobby. We arrived on the 4th of july and there was an envelope with the keys and the valet parking permit, waiting for us in the security gate. That was our check in. The valet parking guy told us where the apartment was. We used the express checkout and left the key in the security gate on our way out.
You are a 5 min walk away from the beach and close to lots of shops, Publix, and stores. A little more than 5 minutes away from Aventura Shopping Mall (in car) which is nice!
The beach in that area is not as pretty as in Collins @ 6000 (in my opinion). Somehow, the sand was different and it smelled strong, like old algae.
Even though it was not expensive, I would not give this residence a 4 star rating, just like the booking page did.
Overall, it was nice and good for the price. The best thing: location.

Room Tip: I had room 2509 (the highest floor) and it had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    13
    8
    21
See reviews for
39
12
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Comparairing rates of hotels in Miami to this flat, it worths to stay there therefore you have much more space, free parking, free internet and very pleasant location.
The residence has no service, no reception, no informations at all. If you know the area and don´t need this things, it´s convenient to be guest there. Otherwise don´t. Most of the people there are residents.
We stayed in a 2 bedrooms flat, clean, spacious, confortable, gorgeous view.
If you are first coming to Miami don´t stay there.
I will.

Room Tip: High floor - better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My family of 8 booked and stayed here in June of 2012. We came to vacation and attend a family member's high school graduation. Upon entering the driveway, we were stopped by a security gate. This is where you "check-in". They hand you an evelope with keys and room information. No one ever personally called or visited to check and make sure all was well. Very nice look and feel from the outside. The view from the room was gorgeous at night. The complimentary "valet" is actually MANDATORY. You are not at all allowed to park your own car. The valets are rude and act like they really don't want to park your car. It sounded nice at first, but it gets rather annoying once you want to come and go often, especially since the valet guys aren't friendly. There was an awful smell on our floor. It wasn't in the room, but all throughout the hallway. It was there daily. The room was not CLEAN. It had an appearance of clean, but was half done! The flooring in the apt. hallway was bulging, and there were stains in one of the bathroom's floor. All of the dishes were nasty and the refrigerator wasn't very clean. The hot water for showers didn't stay hot, so that became annoying as well especially since there were 8 of us. You are given a keycard pass for access to the pool and gym area. Our access card only worked the first day we were there. The other times staff had to buzz us in the area. To top it all off, the VALET STOLE $$$$$$ from the car and when confronted, they all acted like they didn't know anything. The police were called and a report was filed. We will NOT stay here again nor do we recommend anyone else to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed here with another couple before our Caribbean cruise and I was a little concerned after reading some reviews on Trip Advisor. But we were pleasantly surprised. Entrance was impressive, keys handed to us at security gate, then you are on your own. Weren't sure what building to go in but the valet was helpful. Very impressed with the room, large, two big bedrooms, two decent bathrooms with toiletries including toothpaste and mouthwash! and balcony with amazing views on both sides from the 9th floor. Kitchen fully fitted with dishwasher, washer and dryer. Convenience store on ground floor. Lovely warm pool in beautiful surroundings which we had mainly to ourselves most days. Ten minutes walk to beautiful beach, shopping plaza and restaurants nearby. Didn't want a car this time but used the bus from Collins Ave which go anywhere for 2Usd each.. Also shuttle buses up and down for 25 cents. We went to South Beach - 45 minutes. On the down side there was no furniture on the balcony - used dining chairs, one sofa bed in living room, no other comfortable seating for four adults! We had torrential rain and thunderstorms which stopped us going out for dinner one night so decided to cook pizza bought from the convenience store. But the oven didn't work. Got a neighbour to look at it in case we were doing something wrong but it seems it was locked so couldn't be used. Managed to cook pizza on griddle pan and in microwave. On the last day we did some washing before our cruise, washer excellent but dryer didn't dry even after nearly 3 hours! It would help if the owner could leave a book with instructions on how to use appliances, where facilities are ( pool, gym, spa, shop, beach, attractions, etc) we found all these things just by exploring, and also any instructions for getting rid of garbage, we just left a weeks worth at the end. These problems didn't spoil our stay and we could laugh about the cooking, but without these minor problems the stay would have been even better. On the whole it was a good week and if we couldn't stay right on the beach another time we would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2910 which had good views so a room similar to this would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is an apartment building with some apartments available for daily short term rental.
Our two bedroom apt was very plain but clean over looking the intracoastal waterway.
It was very average, nothing special.
There was no housekeeping during our stay.
The kitchen was well equipped and had coffee available but no other food or condiments.
The pool was clean and the fitness center was small but adequate.
Spa services are available but did not use them.
Car is parked by a valet but no extra charge for the parking except tips.
The other people you will encounter at this facilty generally live there and are not what you would expect in a nice hotel.
Our apt (1204, building 1)was noisy at night due to the night club across the intracoastal waterway and some people the building having a party late one night too.
Air conditioning worked fine.
Location is nice with a short walk to the sunny isles beach and pier, as well as walking distance to a number of restaurants and a high end super market.

Dont stay here if you expect a fancy hotel type of feel, look and services.
Good place if you want to be near the beach and have a kitchen for about $175/night for a two bedroom apt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I used this hotel as a base for a diving trip around southern Florida. Its in an excellent location with shopping, restaurants, the beach and the highway system all within 5 minutes walk/drive. The rooms are full service apartments with equipped kitchen, satellite TV, bathroom and balcony. It is a residential apartment block so don't expect a checkin or staff service but for somebody who wants excellent accomodation and a quiet/comfy place to cook, sleep and relax its great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We have been to Miami/Sunny Isles many many times .. but this was our first time at Intracoastal Yacht Club.
We were on floor 25th and we had a breathtaking view. Our apartment was clean ... too bad there is only a queen bed instead of a kind bed but it was ok anyway. The pool area is beautiful. They gave us valet parking in the rate of the apartment but next time we will ask for a self parking in the garage. Pretty much better !
We loved loved loved this wonderful place and we can't wait to go there again soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club

Address: 16900 North Bay Road, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club by East Coast Corporate Housing is an exclusive high-rise residential style property with luxury resort amenities offering extra-large 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condo style residences including a plethora of amenities for your enjoyment. All of course, free of charge during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residences At Intracoastal Yacht Club Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Residences At Intracoastal Yacht Club Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residences at Intracoastal Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.