We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“manuella” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Sole on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sole on the Ocean
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“manuella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a good choice for the week. I can say if a suit provides a stove I thought it will have a pot&pan to cook with but other than that I can say the Alba bar&restaurant was ok we will stay there on next trip to Miami cause it was worth it

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Google Translation
Caro James R. Estamos tão felizes em saber que você gostou da sua estadia e Manoella foi útil durante a sua estadia.
Os nossos quartos foram concebidos com um estilo moderno limpo que acentuar as vistas sobre o Oceano ou a cidade de Sunny Isles. Nossa na propriedade Chef celebridade restaurante dirigido Alba, serve pequeno-almoço, almoço e jantar, bem como picadas de piscina e bebidas. Estamos ansiosos para sua próxima visita a Sole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    202
    106
    59
    70
See reviews for
191
345
48
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trappe, MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

CHECK YOUR BILLING STATEMENT CAREFULLY! Our family's stay went well until we discovered we were over charged nearly $1600 in random unidentified charges on one room that I saw at checkout, and $800 on the other AFTER checkout. The overcharge for $800 was because the hotel charged me twice for the room. The other room's charges were an accumulation of charges that were made to our account on different days... A couple for a little over $200, another over $300, another random charge for $25, to name a few. All charges that appear on the itemized bill with no indication of what I was being charged for! After a lengthy conference call between me, the hotel and the bank, the charges are undergoing fraudulent inspection because the hotel was unable to give information on what the charges were even for. We were refunded $500 of the charges, but not all. The bank is still working on it. After nearly 4 hours on the phone between today and yesterday, we decided that unless some major compensation is made, we will be staying at Acqualina our next visit in November. Something needs to be done to make this right, if they want my business ever again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Jolynmarie, we are glad to hear that your stay went well, but sorry for the billing confusion. We thank you for your patience as we investigated the billing over the weekend. As we have now all agreed, all charges were correct at the time of billing, and the advance deposit has been corrected and properly applied. We have taken immediate corrective measures to avoid such errors in the future. As you had enjoyed your stay, we do hope you will visit us again and allow us to show you the true Sole experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I had to pay for the room when I made the reservation. Then they charged $50 more on check in! Keys didn't work and was stuck in the elevator. No lights in the room worked...25 minutes before someone came to help. Clock wasn't set to the time. Shower had nowhere for soap so it went on the floor. No where at sink for make up for even a tooth brush. This might be the WORST $300 a night hotel ever. And the night manager was angry that I complained. Don't stay here unless you have lots of money to waste. Zero stars.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear KarenD: We want all guests to be happy and are truly sorry to hear that your stay was not as you anticipated. Kindly allow me to touch on a few points you raise. We only charge a one night deposit inside the cancellation window or for non refundable stays at the time of booking. We also authorize a $50 per night amount for incidentals and room charges. We do not receive any funds, simply confirm availability to allow for room charges. With debit cards, the bank may place a hold on this amount, though does not transfer funds to the hotel. Each of our Rooms accentuates the views of the City or the Ocean. Much like our rooms, our bathrooms are designed in a clean modern style with ample countertop space for toiletries and personal storage. In an effort to assist guests with room selection, we provide pictures on our website of the rooms, bathrooms and views. Prior to all guest arrivals, our make ready team which includes various departments, inspects each and every room to make the stay as pleasant as possible. I will certainly express your comments and concerns to each of the Team Leaders and Management. We hope this helps to clarify any confusion and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I went to Florida for a relaxing, stress-free vacation - and we totally got it. Our room was literally called petite, though it felt spacious enough to accommodate both of us, and was lovely and modern with a balcony that had a view of the ocean, which was aces. The only downside to the room was that it was connected via a small hallway to another room, and we and the other guests had completely opposite schedules (i.e. they got back after 1 AM, we left the room around 9 AM). The opening/closing of our shared hallway door and their door was not ideal, so if you're super sensitive to things like that, you should probably ask to change rooms straight away.

As for the resort features: the "New York Style Breakfast" is small (coffee, juice, and a muffin) but certainly does the job. The ability to have drinks/food brought out to you on the beach is amazing. The staff on the beach and by the poolside bar were friendly and accommodating, even to rude guests.

The beachfront location is obviously excellent, but there's not much to do within walking distance, and the restaurants in the area were only decent at best. If you're looking to lay out on the beach and enjoy all that it has to offer, then this is the place, hands down.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear AshEm : I am happy to hear that your get-away was enjoyable and that you enjoyed the Sole experience. Our Boutique style and charm allow us to make connections with our guest so they feel “Home away from Home”. Our Ocean-front Hotel offers a private Pool and Beach exclusive to our guests where you can lay in the Sun and dine from our Celebrity Chef driven Restaurant and Pool Par. I’m originally from Manhattan and I noticed that you are from Brooklyn, so should your travels take you to the Hamptons and Montauk NY. You should check out our sister Hotel Sole East Resort and Backyard Restaurant. Enjoy the Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piermont, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed in April and found the hotel and service excellent. I highly recommend staying there and enjoying all they have. The service was excellent, the room was great and I am def going back. I have to give a shout out to an employee named Sandy. You are very good at your job sir. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Mikey1047: Our aim is to ensure that each our guests enjoy the Sole Experience from the moment they arrive through the moment they depart. Our rooms enhance the views of the Atlantic Ocean and the City of Sunny Isles with modern and sleek designs. Our private Beach Club offers beachside or poolside dining while taking in the scenery, listening to lively music or soaking in the Sun’s rays.I am thrilled that you enjoyed your personalized Sole experience and thank you for the compliments you have shared and I will share with the entire Staff. Please reach out to me directly should your travel bring you back to Sunny Isles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachlvr92
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed mid-March 2014. My opinion of the hotel was good during our stay. Regular hotel rooms are a bit small, no real space for luggage. The view out of the regular rooms was disappointment because it was a side-view and the deck was tiny, standing room only (no room for a chair). We opted to stay in a suite which was more like an apartment. The suite had a full kitchen with dishes. Unfortunately, no pots & pans unless you rent it from the hotel for $50. Our room did not have a washer/dryer available, but I was told some rooms have it depending on the owner of the unit. The apartment had a HUGE deck with great views. Like others have said, some knobs and faucet handles need maintenance. The beach employees were pretty strict about the 2 chairs & 1 umbrella policy per room policy. The pool area and bar is small but nice; the pool was heated which was a bonus. The valet costs, but they were efficient. One girl at the front desk was pretty rude and commented on a customers strong cologne. These are some of the things that I noticed during our stay. Overall, the beach is beautiful and the apartment we had fulfilled our needs. My gripe is that after we left, they charged my credit card for a mini-bar charge that we never used. I called about 5 times since our stay to resolve it, but no one would return my calls after leaving very detailed messages. I've read several other reviews about the same thing happening to others, so be aware. I'm not sure if the cleaning person is taking from the minibar or if the guy who walks around tallying the minibar is at fault, but it's not ethical to charge customers for goods not purchased. They should at least return calls. Finally, I had my credit card company handle it for me. It's too bad that they wouldn't resolve the invalid charge for me because we are in the Miami area quite often and I thought Sole would be a comfortable hotel we would come back to. Not any more.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Beachlvr92; We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our goal at Sole on the Ocean is to ensure a unique boutique experience. Our rooms are designed in a modern contemporary design that have full to partial views of the City of Sunny Isles and the Atlantic Ocean. Our Private Beach Club which sits on the shores of the Atlantic Ocean offers Pool and Beach offer Lounges and Cabanas for soaking in the Sun and Surf while dining on a lite menu from our very own Alba Seaside Restaurant. We apologize for any challenges you have encountered and have have cascaded to ourrest assured have shared with our management team for investigation. Please contact me directly should you wish to discuss further. We hope you will visit us again soon to see the difference your comments have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

When we first arrived we had a rough start with our room keys but Kathleen apologized and was so helpful! When we arrived to our rooms we were blown away talk about right on the beach!! The view is so amazing and the suite comes with a kitchen (stovetop, fridge, microwave) a living room huge bathroom and a comfortable bed also two balconies! Definitely a beautiful suite! The pool was comfortable not to busy even on the weekend and the beach was pretty empty during our stay so it felt like our little paradise. The hotel is located near lots of hotels but this is definitely worth a stay. There are a lot of shopping things to do in the area and lots of places to eat. We went food shopping two blocks down and cooked in our room the hotel provided plates and cutlery and we brought a pan so it was nice. The only downside is that the hotel is about 30 minutes from MIA airport (60 dollar taxi) and a pretty lengthy travel from nightlife but if relaxation is on your agenda this is the perfect hotel!

Room Tip: Anything above the fifteenth floor the view is incredible!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMSanford, Guest Relations Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Sha H: We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and Kathleen was of assistance during you stay. Our Hotel is designed in a modern contemporary feel with room furnishing that accentuate the beautiful views of the City of Sunny Isles and the Atlantic Ocean. Our Suites offer all the conveniences of a home away from home. Sunny Isles offers convenient shopping, dining and family recreation areas. Our Private Beach/Pool Club offers poolside and surf side dining and beverages. We have on property dining, room service and pool/beach dining, by Alba Seaside Italian Restaurant, serving fresh home-made Italian Pastas and sauces, as well as, the finest fresh fish, stone crabs and meat dishes. I will certainly pass on your praise to our staff and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our Ocean Front Boutique Resort & Spa offers luxury guest rooms and suites with beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean. Amenities include Alba lounge & bar, swimming-pool, gym, sauna & steam room, room service, valet parking, meeting space and umbrellas & lounge chairs to catch a nice tan on the beach.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sole on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.