We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sole on the Ocean to your Saves list
Sole on the Ocean
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hopkinton NH
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Posh but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding nearby. This is a GORGEOUS spot...it would be almost impossible to give this under 4 stars based on the location alone! Sunny Isles Beach is a great combination of location and convenience. There are lots of pluses to this hotel but it will cost you!
+ exceptional service and courteous staff
+ top notch pool and restaurant bars
+ nicely appointed rooms (suite has a nicely sized kitchen that will save you a fortune)

However to be top-notch
+ wow $10 for a beer!
+ yikes $30 resort fee
+ although the staff works hard to get you set up on the beach, you are SQUEEZED in, and they don't do much to keep the place clean as the day wears on. On top of that, although there is service on the beach, it does take some work to get her attention.
+ a perplexing parking setup. You'll see.

All in all it was worth the big price tag.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay. We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your Sole experience. In regards to the resort fee, this is a standard feature of Miami hotels. Our resort fee is $15.00 per day per room and includes many amenities that at other hotels charge individually. We have bundled up these amenities for your benefit. Included in this fee, is full access to our fitness center, steam room, sauna, and spa; bottled water upon check in, Keurig coffee maker and an assortment of tea and coffee selection replenishment throughout your stay; high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the property as well as beach towels, 2 beach chairs, and an umbrella. We thank you for your valuable feedback and will be sure to share it with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    272
    124
    71
    80
See reviews for
268
422
55
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Amazing Hotel with excellent staff members and one of the best views in Miami.

Thank you for making our stay perfect.

Special thanks to Jurguen, Manuel, Luis, José, Diego, Daniel, Yunior, Daymaro and Hector.

Especially we want to thank Camille at the reception who did everything to make our stay perfect. We really appreciate that you made the Birthday of my mother perfect with the view of the room and your friendlyness.

Another thank you goes to the restaurant staff for making our breakfast in the birthday morning perfect. Unfortunately we forgot the name but the Guy has been to Germany Frankfurt one time.

Thank you all and we will come again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Sole for your special occasion. We are glad that you had such an amazing experience at our hotel. The team is thrilled that you gave shout outs on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and enjoy our personable boutique service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

A contemporary and modern high rise, probably originally planned as a condo development, became a hotel after the economic crash. It is not managed by a well known hotel management company and my reservation was not properly entered in their system, which is not normal for me as someone who travels100 nights per year and has used the same travel agent for nearly 20 years (he is obviously quite good). Maximo worked out the issues, upgraded us to a nice one-bedroom suite on the pent house floor. TV didn't work when we got in, but it was very late so we just went to bed. By the second day all problems had been resolved and service quality kept improving. Tips for the valet and floor staff and nice words to the front desk and other workers did the job and our next 4 days were comfortable.
Not super high end, it is more than basic and 3 stars is a bit harsh -- but the bumpy entry knocked them back 1/2 star. YES, I will return. But my expectations are properly adjusted. For the price, on the beach in North Miami area, this nearly new building is a great value.

Room Tip: You are on the beach, if you like the sunrise or ocean views ask for east. North and South views al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad we were able to speak in person during your stay. Sole is an independent boutique hotel and our entire team strives to provide personalized service and a memorable stay. We are very pleased we were able to accommodate yours. It seems you also noticed our unit sales efforts. Sole was designed and developed as a condo hotel, as were all luxury hotels in Miami in the past decade. We would invite you and anyone who is interested to speak directly with sales team about this wonderful investment opportunity. Thank you again for staying with us. Please feel free to reach out to me should you have any more questions. 786.923.9310
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Is my second time at the hotel and I can say it is excellent, not only the facilities but the staff. Gio and Maximo super friendly and helpful. I recommend Super!! The ubication is the best in sunny isles, if you want to spend and excellent vacations visit sole on the ocean. I recommended to go with the family, the kids have fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We always enjoy welcoming guests back to Sole. The front office team was thrilled that you mentioned some of their names on Trip Advisor. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Please visit our website for specials and promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is great. It's right on the beach, beautiful new building with an awesome upscale feel and design. Anna was super friendly and helpful and did everything she could to make us enjoy our stay. Since we were new to the area she even helped us with a list of things to do and explore! We couldn't be happier. Oh and the valet staff is super nice and professional, always in a good mood and got our car quickly. 5/5

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. We are very glad that you enjoyed our ocean front boutique resort. We hope that you will book with us again on your travels to Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We booked our hotel on Expedia and at first debated between staying in South Beach and Sunny Isles--I'm sure glad we picked Sunny Isles!!! We arrived at Sole--such a beautiful, fresh, modern and hip beach resort. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we felt like VIP guests! Maximo was so kind and helpful and upgraded us to an ocean front suite! He answered all of our questions and told us about the nearby attractions. I have to say we have never been treated so well as hotel guests!! The hotel owners are very hands on and friendly, which you never see these days in a hotel this luxurious!! I would DEFINITELY recommend this awesome hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the superb treatment from our entire staff. The owners do play an important role in our day to day operations as you have observed during your stay. Our mission is for each of our guests to receive an individually personalized experience. We thank you for choosing to spend your September vacation with us and look forward to welcoming our VIP back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I travel a lot and this is by far one of the greatest experience ever. From the time of booking to checking out was just great. It was my birthday weekend with the girls and they upgrade my room which made me feel so special. Kamille greet us with her bright personality and so went the extra mile every time she seen us. Kamille and Maximo made our trip. I will not stay anyone where else but Sole when I come to Miami. Don't even think about u should too! Hotel is everything and direct access to the beach perfection to the highest level.

Room Tip: Ask for Kamille or Maximo they will give you VIP treatment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. Our staff was more than happy to accommodate you and we are thrilled that Sole will be your home away from home. Thank you for the great comment. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Miami.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our boutique resort soars above some of South Florida's most celebrated shopping destinations, restaurants, nightlife, and the Atlantic Ocean. Sole on the Ocean's 24-stories and 249 rooms offer a fresh perspective on Sunny Isles Beach. Services include access to our gym, steam room, sauna, outdoor pool and sundeck, as well beach umbrellas and lounge chairs, including breathtaking views from Fresh American Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sole on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.