We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, upgrade the rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Save Saved
You added Sole on the Ocean to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sole on the Ocean
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Battle Creek, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great staff, upgrade the rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently stayed for 8 nights at Sole'. The staff was exceptional--friendly and eager to please at every turn. A few individuals deserve special mention for their service and hospitality: Sandy at the front desk, Paul the bellman, Paul the restaurant manager, and Meridith the restaurant's assistant manager. An unexpected surprise was the quality of the restaurant--recently opened, and the service and food were excellent. Sitting on the terrace for dinner overlooking the moonlit Atlantic was THE highlight of our trip.

The room amenities and decor, however, were not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. Sparsely furnished and decorated, it looks like they were hoping someone would come in and finish the job.

Overall, we were very pleased. If the ownership is willing to take the next step to refurbish the rooms, I would definitely rate this five stars. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: Watch out for "city view". A closet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest: Our entire team will be so pleased to know that they made your stay so enjoyable. They all take tremendous pride in doing so and the ones you singled out, will be especially pleased. We are equally happy that you enjoyed our newest addition to the hotel, Alba restaurant. Alba is under the direction of celebrity chef Ralph Pagano and features seaside Italian cuisine.
Regarding the rooms, we thank you for sharing your feedback. In addition to our housekeeping team, we also have a make ready team whose job is to fix any engineering issues prior to check in, as well as deep cleaning rooms as needed to keep rooms in first class condition for all guest stays. We do plan on room upgrades in the coming months and look forward to welcoming you back to experience them personally. Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    408
    182
    101
    58
    69
See reviews for
169
323
45
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We decided to book a last minute trip to Miami and stood at Sole based on the positive reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel is beautiful and nestled in such beautiful surroundings. My husband and I were treated well by all, but Sandy went above and beyond for us. He made us feel welcome and ensured that we will be back next year. Beautiful beach, beautiful rooms, beautiful service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest: we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Word of mouth is the best recommendation of all. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Sole on the Ocean is a boutique hotel and we strive to make each stay as personalized, as welcoming and as enjoyable as we can. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Sunny Isles..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

What a great spot! The staff was wonderful and so helpful, giving us great recommendations and making sure that we always had whatever we needed. The vibe is incredibly mellow and relaxing, too. Sandy was particularly welcoming and lovely. He really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Value Guest: we are so pleased that you enjoyed the Sole vibe. Sole on the Ocean is a boutique hotel in a relaxing environment in a chic beachfront setting. All our amenities were selected with guest comfort in mind and the entire Sole team strives to provide a personalized and memorable stay. Sandy will be very pleased to have been singled out. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had to come to Miami kind of last minute for business. Last minute trip. Business. Miami. The only good thing about that equation was Miami....at least until I checked into Sole! A local friend suggested I check it out. She knows I can be kind of picky since I work in the restaurant industry and I've been fortunate to stay in some great places over the years. For a fairly new establishment I have to say I was quite impressed. The room was lovely. It didn't feel overly "scene" which was great because there's nothing more depressing than being in a place as fun as Miami (on business) only to be reminded that you are not part of the fun. A special thank you to the staff at the front - especially Sanford. The most dreadful part of work travel for me is always the check in, and he made it super easy. He was also a great help in recommending some places I could take my local client and seem like I really know what's going on in Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest: we are so pleased that you were able to make your business stay enjoyable …. particularly with a seasoned traveler such as yourself. We do strive to create an enjoyable and memorable beach experience with an emphasis on service. We do hope to see you on your next business trip to Miami, or better, for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Feels like Miami Beach without all of the chaos. Restaurant just opened, and seems like it will be a great addition. Great beach, great pool area. Rooms are very nice with awesome views and have all the amenities you would be looking for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest: Sole on the Ocean is located on the beautiful, pristine beaches of Sunny Isles. We are located just minutes from world class shopping and walking distance to restaurants and amenities. Alba, our restaurant, is our latest addition and features Italian seaside cuisine prepared by celebrity chef Ralph Pagano. During the day, our servers located at the beach and pool provide full lunch service as you lounge in the sun. In the rooms we feature pillowtop mattresses, luxury linens, keurig coffee machines and rainhead showers to name a few. All of these combine to create a chic and relaxing beach experience. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is on a beautiful beach . It is a very clean hotel with nice views to the ocean and also to the city . The staff is very friendly and cooperative . Specifically chris he is a very nice person allways friendly and happy . A other big point is his clean english , because we are from austria still we understand him perfectly !

Room Tip: over the 11 floor because there you have a beautiful view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I visited for a birthday weekend and my first time to Florida. The accommodations were wonderful and well-priced for location and included amenities. Our room had a partial ocean view, a small balcony, bedroom, bathroom with shower, living room, and eat-in kitchen. All immaculately clean. Although the public computer area and spa/fitness room leave a bit to be desired, the people who work there are very caring and put in a great amount of effort to ensure the guests are treated very well. Small private beach is also attached to the resort, along with a private pool. The staff was incredibly kind and flexible with any and all requests to make our stay the most enjoyable possible. In particular, Daniel and Yunior went above and beyond to ensure our visit was the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach
Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our Ocean Front Boutique Resort & Spa offers luxury guest rooms and suites with beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean. Amenities include Alba lounge & bar, swimming-pool, gym, sauna & steam room, room service, valet parking, meeting space and umbrellas & lounge chairs to catch a nice tan on the beach.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Amex, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sole on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.