We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Facility” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sole on the Ocean to your Saves list
Sole on the Ocean
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our stay was quite nice. Room was a small studio type room but with a view of the ocean from the 19th floor. Good property location on the beach. Nice, well equipped fitness room.
Apparently the housekeeping staff was very busy as our room was not cleaned and made up until early evening. Also the hangars were not properly designed for the closet bar and kept falling off.
Compliments, however, for the concierge, Gio, and the valet, Jose. Gio gave us the name and location, walking distance from the hotel, of an excellent Thai restaurant ( Rice Asian House) and Jose provided excellent directions for our return to the Miami International Airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
We thank you for staying with us and appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We are pleased to know that you were able to take advantage of our amenities services as well as our central location. Gio and Jose will be proud to hear they have assisted in making your stay more for you. Our housekeeping department does its best to clean all rooms by 4:00 p.m.. But we fully recognize that may not be convenience for everyone. For future stays, please be sure to let our guest service agents know your preferred time to have your room serviced and housekeeping would be happy to accommodate your request. We apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused for you. We look forward for the next opportunity in welcoming you back, introducing our latest addition to the property, Alba Seaside Italian with celebrity chef, Ralph Pagano.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    238
    115
    62
    76
See reviews for
229
379
52
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent location on beach. bad service. there were not hangers. took them a while to deliver. the room i stayed in was not renovated. shower is on the floor and bath is separate. was not enough soup bars. did not change towels. had to call a few times to make deliveries and every time it took them a while.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We apologize if your stay did not turn out the way you expected. Rest assured, your comments have been shared with our management team and that this is not typical service for our hotel. As a boutique hotel, we strive to make each stay personal and memorable and your satisfaction is
our goal. We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you as a guest with us
so you can see first hand the improvements your comments have made. We thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From the time we walked into the door, until the time we left we had nothing but great service. Sandy at the front desk is fabulous, the food in the restaurant was fantastic, and Lindsey at the bar servers a mean drink! It's the best place we've ever stayed in the area.

Room Tip: Get the 1 bedroom suite...you won't be sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our property. We are proud to see Sandy and Lindsey, along with the rest of the team made your stay more memorable with their outstanding service. We look forward into welcoming you back to our beachfront resort. For upcoming promotions and specials, please visit our website for more pricing information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were impressed.
We visit miami florida in december every year. This year we chose sole on the ocean.
The hotel had a great location. The food was delicious and the service was incredible.
Valet parking was super easy and the staff very friendly. The fitness room was good with new equipment.
The views were breathtaking. We were lucky to get the P- Diddy suite with 2 large terraces, a kitchen, 2 flat screen tvs and a large bedroom.
Brittany checked us in and she is the best. Sole on the ocean is a gem. We highly recommend to anyone and we know where we will stay this December.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have not been to south Florida since the winter of 2011. That year, I stayed at the Sole on the Ocean 3 times and enjoyed each and every visit. I have to go back later this month and I called the hotel to make a reservation. After 2 attempts to reach the reservation desk, I called back this morning and spoke to Kimberly Robinson, the Front Desk Supervisor. All I can say is WOW. She couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. If she wasn't working already, I would hire her in a second to handle my customer relations. I travel frequently for work and I have never encountered such genuine concern and appreciation for my business than what I received from Kimberly. I cannot wait to get to the hotel to thank her personally. Way to go Sole on the Ocean. Give that girl a raise. She deserves it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champion, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This place was amazing! An unexpected, last minute trip turned into paradise. I experienced a little problem booking my flight home and some of the employees, Nancy and Diego, even helped me book my flight. Gorgeous place, wonderful staff. I just can't say enough about Sole!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The views from our two balconies were stunning. Immediately when you walk into the lobby you experience the style of the hotel. We had a suite which included a living room, small kitchen with full refrigerator, bar, and separate bedroom with king bed. Everything was nicely appointed, but the platform bed was too soft. The waterfall shower was a nice touch, as was the beach ball that served as fun decoration. The parking fee was high ($25 for 7 hours), but everything else was great.

Room Tip: The 22nd floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our Ocean Front Boutique Resort & Spa offers luxury guest rooms and suites with beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean. Amenities include Alba lounge & bar, swimming-pool, gym, sauna & steam room, room service, valet parking, meeting space and umbrellas & lounge chairs to catch a nice tan on the beach.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sole on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.