We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous View in a Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sole on the Ocean

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sole on the Ocean to your Saves list
Sole on the Ocean
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Gorgeous View in a Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The views from our two balconies were stunning. Immediately when you walk into the lobby you experience the style of the hotel. We had a suite which included a living room, small kitchen with full refrigerator, bar, and separate bedroom with king bed. Everything was nicely appointed, but the platform bed was too soft. The waterfall shower was a nice touch, as was the beach ball that served as fun decoration. The parking fee was high ($25 for 7 hours), but everything else was great.

Room Tip: The 22nd floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    224
    114
    60
    76
See reviews for
219
370
50
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I do not ususally write reviews, because I am a businessman who has many emails to respond to than going on a website telling my business. I am a "NEW YORK GROUCH" who was affected by Hurricane Sandy. I decided to come to Florida and my travel agent booked me at Sole on the Ocean. I booked an Ocean View King Room, but when i checked in they gave me 908 and I saw a big yellow wall immediately when I walked in the room so I stormed back to the desk to get some straightening. I was graced with Britteny, Barbara and Sammy. I was so mad I didn't want to here nothing they had to say, I threw the key at Barbara and she said this is the type of room you booked and I asked where in the hell is the view of the Ocean. When I say she escorted me to the same room, magically the Ocean appeared when I received my personal tour of the room. So yes I am idiot for not looking in the whole room and Brittany and Sammy smiled at me for the next two day as if they were saying "You Idiot" which was welled deserved. I visited several other hotels while I was in the Miami Area, but the personal touch I received from the Front Desk employees made me take an item back of owning the problem until the problem goes away. I didn't get a chance to say goodbye my buddies, but I will be calling them personally, I have the Front Office Director's card to let him know to keep that crew at the front desk and he will always win with customer service. Well deserved kudos!
P.S. I think the mandatory resort fee should be included so I am not feeling like "a la cart" shopping.

Room Tip: There is a differance btween Ocean Front" than Ocean View" The Ocean Front the balcony fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Service was beyond awful. I was also double charged for the $45 /day hotel fee. This was not advertised anywhere. I paid cash when I arrived and a MONTH LATER that same charge showed in my credit card. I disputed the charge but nothing was done. They told me I was going to get a call from the Hotel manager which never arrived.
As far as PCI compliance, they need to get a lesson or two. They take a photocopy of your credit card and leave it on file. Who does that????.
In essence, poor service and terrible value. There are much better hotels around south Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Cordoba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Thanx guys for a very pleasent stay at Sole. Specially to the guys at the beach, Gerardo, Yunior and Daniel...
I expected breakfast to be included in the price of the room...
Pillows were too thick...I asked four times for thinner ones but never got them!

Room Tip: Rooms with a city view are too small!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very nice hotel with great location... just on the beach, very close to many bars and restaurants. We were there year ago and we are going to this hotel again for New years eve this year. Great value for money... maybe it is not the highest standrad but we do not spend a time in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had travelled from Dec 5-10th with two friends, and i was recommended this hotel. This was my third time in the Miami area.

We first had a smaller room with two double beds, side view of the beach, and after two sleepless nights due to noisy neighbours we got upgraded to a ocean view suite with a king bed and a huge livingroom.

Rooms: both were clean, water did have low pressure at times, the sink water would run hot at times. The smaller room had double beds and, both beds weren't straight while you slept on it so if felt you were rolling off.

Location: close to most locations, walking distance to some shops, cab services are quick. A bit far from South beach Miami.

Beach: amazing, clean, long and wide with lots of seats and never had to wait for a chair. The staff on the beach area was amazing. Especially Daniel and Junior.

Restaurant by the beach: good variety but its 10$ for a miami vice drink. Great service!

Pool: long but narrow, very warm and clean.

Front desk: good, helpful and willing to helpout in anyway. Britney was amazing! she helped out right away when she found out about our noise issue.

Parking: 25$ for overnight and valet parking, 17$ for day for an everyday charge

From the airport it is a flat rate of 53$ to get to the hotel if you take a cab

Overall: Very good! I will be back but i will try out another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
We appreciate the time taken into sharing your wonderful experience with us at our boutique resort. The satisfaction of our guests is highly important, therefore, we are so pleased to hear our staff members assisted in making your visit more enjoyable. Your detailed review is tremendously helpful for us and I am sure to other readers as well. We do hope you will visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I am writing after a second stay this November 2012. Kudos to management for changing out the valet parking service which was a pleasure this time around. Front desk staff and other staff are really accomodating. I highly recomend this hotel. My only suggestion is they improve the maintenance department. It appears that they dont record and track repair requests. With reminders things do get done.

Would love to come again.

Room Tip: Be clear what view youd like and take a look during checkin. Also not all like rooms have the sam fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoleotoFOM, Front Office Manager at Sole on the Ocean, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for choosing to book with us a second time. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort enough to recommend to others. We credit many of our improvements to be the result of guest feedback and appreciate your genuine suggestions. We appreciate the time you spent to share your thoughts. We look forward to having you experience your next visit with us. For future stays, please visit our website for upcoming specials and packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sole on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole on the Ocean

Address: 17315 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sole on the Ocean 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sole On The Ocean, Sunny Isles Beach is located between Miami and Fort Lauderdale. Our Ocean Front Boutique Resort & Spa offers luxury guest rooms and suites with beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean. Amenities include Alba lounge & bar, swimming-pool, gym, sauna & steam room, room service, valet parking, meeting space and umbrellas & lounge chairs to catch a nice tan on the beach.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Sole on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole On The Ocean Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Sole On The Ocean Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sole on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.