We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the cost” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami to your Saves list
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Decent for the cost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Perfect location - across the street from Publix, nearby shopping plazas, and mall. 20+ minute drive to south beach via Collins. Older hotel with limited amenities, however it is beachfront and offers a low key, relaxing environment on the beach. Vacationed there during spring break and decided to enjoy the beach at the hotel versus south beach to avoid the crowd and party atmosphere.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    189
    257
    115
    126
See reviews for
269
201
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west creek NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This is tough, the staff that I meet with were great and the room was clean. For the money I spent I'm happy for what I got. Hotel is right on beach and is older. Could probably use renovation but It was clean. So if you want a hotel on the beach and on a budget you will probably be happy.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

we recently stayed at the Thunderbird and I think enough has been said as to the fact that it is very dated but have seen quite a few comments about the staff not being good. we found all the staff friendly and helpful and suspect those who do complain are those whose expectations are too high and their mood is changed by it.

since i last stayed here in 2001 not a lot has changed just got older but hey so have I and you can see so many people return there for that nostalgia. you either like this hotel or you think the new condos have improved the view. for me they have destroyed the beach. The Thunderbird is the last remaining low level beach hotel and to see this and have a swimming pool and bar on the beach is all some people need to chill out and use as a base for exploring.

We must mention the beach bar run by Carmen who has been there many years and it is no surprise that many people come back to this bar year after year as well as locals. She is fantastic, a true original bar girl. You dont have too wait long . She can spot someone in need of a beer and serve you in seconds no matter how busy it gets. God bless her and all who sail with her!!

Biggest change for me was Miami itself and the traffic is so much more congested. The S bus into town used to take an hour and was very reliable. Now it can take anything from 1.5 hours to 3 and we waited over an hour during the rush hours. So for me this hotel is perhaps now much further away from downtown than it used to be and with taxis not being cheap either and a very basic metro, I will never moan about transport in London again.

Room Tip: presently another condo is being built next door so a pool facing room should reduce any noise which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Being directly on the Ocean in Sunny Isles Beach makes the Hotel great. I found it to be rather quaint and all of the staff was kind and helpful. I enjoyed the small lounge on the inside with live music from time to time. I really love walking up from the Ocean and enjoying a cold draft beer at the Pool Bar, Over-all you just still have to rate it 5 stars because of the entire "value" experience.

Room Tip: I would try to be appointed a room with a view of the pool / ocean if possible. I love the Sunny Isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Loved this hotel. Its all the original from the 60's. The prices were very reasonable.
It has a great pool and the hotel is on the beach !! You do have to pay for a sunbed for the beach though, plus has a poolside Jacuzzi.
All the bedrooms are massive, all air con throughout with large bathrooms.
All spotlessly clean. All rooms have plenty of closet space and some have a small kitchenette. All have large private balconies.
Great breakfast area, with good service. Full menu.
Directly outside the hotel is a bus stop. The buses take you the full length of Collins up to the South Beach area, Deco hotels, beaches, shops, restaurants.
The only downfall we experienced on this vacation was it was too darn hot. Unbearable. I sweltered.
My Dad stayed here twice with his partner. He was the one who recommended it to us.
Couldn't beat it. Perfect.

Room Tip: all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We just returned from a week at TBird Hotel in Sunny Isles. We really enjoyed our stay but I feel there are items all travellers need to know before booking. We asked for and got adjoining rooms which were located in the absolute best spot facing the ocean and the pool. Our rooms were tired and in need of a lot of TLC. They were suitable for our needs, for sure. We were not looking for or expecting luxury.
The beach was fantastic, the pool excellent. Chris, the pool attendant was phenomenal. He works his tail off and is an employee they should be proud to have in their employ.

Cleaning staff were fine, we found the hotel desk staff to be a bit standoffish to be honest. They could work on their enthusiasm and welcoming styles.

This hotel is probably on its last legs. They are surrounded by high rise towers and the location is an absolute gem. I would guess within 5 years it will be swallowed up by the high rises.

WiFi was sketchy at best... a definite need of improvement.

For our family, it was what we needed, but our needs are SUN , beach and water.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Perfect spot right on the beach with a nice pool and hot tub. The location really can't be beat!
The restaurant staff was very friendly, especially Jerry. He served us an excellent breakfast every morning.
The view from our room was breathtaking. Just like a postcard. You must ask for a room with a pool and ocean view. We spent lots of time on our private balcony relaxing.
The rooms could use some updating as could the hotel overall. That being said, our room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
Great value for the $. It would be a shame to see this place torn down to build yet another high rise in the area.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Address: 18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.