We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What keeps this place going?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What keeps this place going?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place is like walking back in time! Not a bit of updating since maybe the mid-seventies. The live entertainment reminded me of a skit on SNL...Dan Akroyd as the lounge singer! Our rooms were serviceable, the beds were bearable due to the plywood holding up the matress, the kitchenette was frighteningly old...the gas burners looked like they might blow up if we tried to use them. Housekeeping did not replace our towels...took the ones off the floor, but did not leave clean ones. They did not leave coffee one of the days. The location is what stops me from giving this an even lower rating. Located right on the beach with beautiful sand, chairs, and umbrellas available for rent. We visited other beaches in the area.
I just don't know WHAT KEEPS THE PLACE AFLOAT when you look at the rest of the area. While there is something to be said for the old style hotel, there is no excuse for not keeping up.

Room Tip: All the rooms have ocean views. Probably quieter on the north side, but the south side faces the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    148
    190
    99
    115
See reviews for
188
156
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hi. We were on a post thanksgiving cruise and boked via our airline website.

The place is old, very old and has not had a lick of paint in years.

The toilet was blocked, and then blocked after the janitor checked it. The TV was so old it should have been in a museum. The safe didnot have a battery and the door locks were not had failed electrics meaning it took ages to get in.

You pay for what you get, but this is a dive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

friendly staff when we checked in.. the room was huge but we had 2 small double beds that werent very comfy.. the facilities are great.. good spa and pool and right on the beach also the diner at the hotel is good priced and lovely owners.. the decor is very beachy and it was a great place to relax.. lots of older people not as many young people but still great is a long way from miami though and an expensive cab ride so try find a cheap transfer. but i would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my third time at Thunderbird, the last visit was about 10 years ago and it hadn't changed one bit...including the staff! Love this hotel, from the very helpful front desk, the ladies and the guy with the ponytail are really great, but unfortunately not the miserable guy (dark with a moustache and glasses), to the handyman, the concierge (apart from one who was a bit too over friendly if you get my drift), the house cleaning maids and the restaurant staff. Got a fab room, ocean front, with a kitchenette, walk in closet with iron and board, safe and bathroom. My room was spacious with two double beds. I've never had any problems with the Thunderbird, granted it's a little dated and tired, but if I wanted luxury then I'd opt for a high end hotel. But as I wanted to spend most of my time on the beach and in the mall, the Thunderbird suits me perfectly. There's also a great restaurant within the hotel that offers reasonably priced breakfast menu as well as a good choice. The location is superb, with sooooo many local amenities. Just one gripe though! Although my regular house keeping maid was so lovely, when she had a day off, the new maid did a far better job that I couldn't believe how thorough she cleaned my room. The usual maid didn't even make my bed sometimes! So finally, my advice is if you want 5 star luxury and trendy minimalist decor, and happy to spend 300 bucks +++ per night then don't book here. If you want good value for money, location, and a quiet spot on the beach then this is for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

if you need something cheap and on the beach, then this will work for you... just be sure to have realistic expectations when you book this one. the pool was nice and the beach access was great... 2 free lounge chairs and towels per room at either the pool or the beach... plus you could rent a tiki umbrella for only $5/day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The room was terrible, humid, A/C has no controls in the room, you only get a rusty vent. TV was older than the Hotel and made more noise while turn on that the sound of the program itself.
Worst of all, the had a PROBLEM with the hot water, there was not hot water to take a shower. They knew the problem existed but did not told me at the check-in process, they waited until I complained the first day. The second day, still no hot water, After that I left this scrapy hotel. They didn't wanted to recognize even a discount for the problems, no manager arround to face it.
TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our last holidays. This hotel was really great for us, it was right in front of the beach which made it perfect for relaxing and switching off. It was not so close from the main attractions (not walking distance) but since we hired a car this was not a problem. The rooms are very large and comfortable, the decoration was a bit dated but the rooms were clean which is the most important thing for us. There are quite a few shops across the road so this was handy. The reception was very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel for people visiting Miami who want to relax and be close to the main attractions, but not right in the middle of all the noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Address: 18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.