We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definetly return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“definetly return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

friendly staff when we checked in.. the room was huge but we had 2 small double beds that werent very comfy.. the facilities are great.. good spa and pool and right on the beach also the diner at the hotel is good priced and lovely owners.. the decor is very beachy and it was a great place to relax.. lots of older people not as many young people but still great is a long way from miami though and an expensive cab ride so try find a cheap transfer. but i would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    148
    192
    99
    115
See reviews for
188
157
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was my third time at Thunderbird, the last visit was about 10 years ago and it hadn't changed one bit...including the staff! Love this hotel, from the very helpful front desk, the ladies and the guy with the ponytail are really great, but unfortunately not the miserable guy (dark with a moustache and glasses), to the handyman, the concierge (apart from one who was a bit too over friendly if you get my drift), the house cleaning maids and the restaurant staff. Got a fab room, ocean front, with a kitchenette, walk in closet with iron and board, safe and bathroom. My room was spacious with two double beds. I've never had any problems with the Thunderbird, granted it's a little dated and tired, but if I wanted luxury then I'd opt for a high end hotel. But as I wanted to spend most of my time on the beach and in the mall, the Thunderbird suits me perfectly. There's also a great restaurant within the hotel that offers reasonably priced breakfast menu as well as a good choice. The location is superb, with sooooo many local amenities. Just one gripe though! Although my regular house keeping maid was so lovely, when she had a day off, the new maid did a far better job that I couldn't believe how thorough she cleaned my room. The usual maid didn't even make my bed sometimes! So finally, my advice is if you want 5 star luxury and trendy minimalist decor, and happy to spend 300 bucks +++ per night then don't book here. If you want good value for money, location, and a quiet spot on the beach then this is for you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

if you need something cheap and on the beach, then this will work for you... just be sure to have realistic expectations when you book this one. the pool was nice and the beach access was great... 2 free lounge chairs and towels per room at either the pool or the beach... plus you could rent a tiki umbrella for only $5/day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The room was terrible, humid, A/C has no controls in the room, you only get a rusty vent. TV was older than the Hotel and made more noise while turn on that the sound of the program itself.
Worst of all, the had a PROBLEM with the hot water, there was not hot water to take a shower. They knew the problem existed but did not told me at the check-in process, they waited until I complained the first day. The second day, still no hot water, After that I left this scrapy hotel. They didn't wanted to recognize even a discount for the problems, no manager arround to face it.
TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our last holidays. This hotel was really great for us, it was right in front of the beach which made it perfect for relaxing and switching off. It was not so close from the main attractions (not walking distance) but since we hired a car this was not a problem. The rooms are very large and comfortable, the decoration was a bit dated but the rooms were clean which is the most important thing for us. There are quite a few shops across the road so this was handy. The reception was very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel for people visiting Miami who want to relax and be close to the main attractions, but not right in the middle of all the noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Sobrante, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked 2 nights and was given room 157.. When we opened the door the lights were on and the air conditioner was full blast. opened the bathroom door, turned on the light and there were roaches the size of silver dollars on the ceiling. I had to kill a few that fell on the floor and lost my appetite for the day. I complained to the front desk and they gave us another room but after I made a scene in the lobby and they did not want it known to the people arriving. Be carefull, Looks like they are just keeping it up by patching things, It is about 60 years old and waiting to get razed, Not maintained too good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manaus, AM
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good hotel, near to the beach. Good rooms, the only thing is the small parking lot. You have to get there early or you will have trouble to park your car safely. The floor of the hotel is hard and had many travellers going in and out with their luggage. This made some noise but I'll definitely stay in this hotel again. Good staff and price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Public Relations Manager at Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write this review. We apologize about the small parking lot there is very limited parking in Miami. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunny Isles Beach
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Marenas Resort
Marenas Resort
#4 of 8 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Spa, Mid...
Show More
6.6 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#154 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
Beach, Pool, Mi...
Show More
6.8 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#84 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
7.0 mi away
Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
#140 of 200 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Address: 18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.