We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and tatty, but we have a soft spot for this old hotel!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tired and tatty, but we have a soft spot for this old hotel!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for a week in October 2008 and October 2011, the second time we bought our 5 year old son with us.

Good points:-
Fantastic beach location
Great pool
Relaxing hot tub
Comfy bed
Large room
Spacious balcony with good views
Free parking (across the road - but not a problem to get to)
Safe neighbourhood

Bad points:-
Tatty and tired throughout the hotel
Dated bathrooms
Interconnecting rooms let a lot of noise into adjoining rooms
Noise from pool bar

We love this hotel and its faded grandeur BUT and the only BUT that would stop us from staying here again is the noise from adjoining rooms. We have been woken up countless times by people in other rooms going to the loo, watching the TV, coughing, laughing etc - the noise is so clear you would think they're in the room with you!!! Such a shame!!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    146
    185
    93
    114
See reviews for
203
158
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I recently stayed at the Thunderbird Days Hotel for one night, wanting to enjoy the beautiful oceanfront property. We did enjoy the gorgeous ocean and that's all.
The hotel reminded us of a nursing home or hospital from the moment we stepped down the hallway. It was totally creepy. There were lots of "residents" just hanging out in the long hallway staring at us. Our room smelled like gas and we moved to another room. The next room was barely acceptable, but the bathroom was "tired" with the drain not working, and yucky grout around the tiles. Towels were delivered later.
Outside there were signs indicating that the chairs needed to be rented; later we found out that a "resort fee" had been added to our bill. This had included the use of chairs but they did not tell us this upon arrival. It's another Sunny Isles hotel that is past its prime, and trying to hold on, but for 200 a night...? Of course its saving grace is the delightful ocean. You may not sleep well because of noisy people in an adjoining room cooking and screaming all night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel has LOT of things that are not good at all. First of all .. when you check in they say they will charge an extra 10 $ a day for newspaper, local phone call and chairs by the pool. Weird because if I knew at the time of my reservation I would had chose another hotel! They should tell about the extra 10$ at the time of the reservation online on their website!!!!! Then there is an extra 8$ a day for self parking .. meaning you have to go to the other side of Collins Avenue and the parking lot is not gated and looks kinda abandoned! Or you pay 10$ a day for Valet ... At the time we arrived at this hotel it was not possible to have Valet because it was early January and it was full of cars and the Valet guy had a hard time to find a place for all the waiting cars. So we had to wait about 15 minutes to get with our car in front of the hotel door to check in. We had to wait on Collins Avenue with lot of traffic .. there was a big line of cars waiting to park. It was CRAZY!
As someone in a previous review said : The guy with pony tail at the front desk is an idiot! .. Yes it's true! he barely speak english he just keep nodding but I wonder if he really get what you are saying! We were tired and wanted to go to our room and have a shower.. well keys didn't work .. I had to go to the front desk and he sweep my keys again saying this time they work... Not true .. I had to go to the front desk again and again. Another guest told my husband he had to wait 2 hours to get into his room because his key didn't work and they had to call someone to fix the problem. Anyway the room was clean even if with old furniture, the fridge was very very clean and this exceeded my expectation. There is also a safe. Balcony is big and has a big table and 2 chairs. Another problem we had when we got in our room .... NO towels at all. I had to go to find someone for towels and a very rude girl told me she already put towels in our room. I told her there wasn't towels but since she didn't believe me I told her to come to my room with me and check by herself. I couldn't believe she came with me to see if I was right. After 20 minutes she got back with our towels. EVERY DAY we had the same problem with towels. Breakfast was awful ... we had the bad idea to book a room with breakfast .. Never had a so poor breakfast! We had a cup of coffee and if we wanted a refill we had to pay for it. The orange juice was in a so small, tiny glass it looked like a glass for Barbie dolls heehee We could choose between Toast bread .. bacon .. and cereal .. you can't have all 3 .. you have to choose. Can you figure out who choose to get only bacon? :)) Eggs? you have to pay for them of course!
The only nice thing of this hotel was the view from our room ... we had a room on the north side so it means you never have sun on your balcony. But it's better than the south side with pool view and tiki bar because you can't sleep with all the kids and people by the pool till late night.
We had a non-smoking room but we could smell smoke from the other rooms. Yes because this hotel doesn't have a non-smoking floor but each floor has both non-smoking and smoking rooms .. so we were in the middle of 2 smoking rooms. The hallway stink .. smoke comes in non-smoking rooms from the bottom of the door.
Air conditioning couldn't be turn off because our thermostat was broken. None came to fix it! So during the night it was very cold.
Staff is the worst ever! The only friendly and professional guy is the man at the Valet. He always work alone and try to do his best!
The only positive thing is the location ... and view from our balcony!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a dump this hotel is! When you first enter the lobby there are old cars parked inside. It smells like a nursing home and there are elederly people EVERYWHERE. I felt like i was in a retirement home! The food is DISGUSTING. Prison food is better. The rooms are worse than college dorm rooms. None of the furniture matches, theres plastic table and chairs. The TVs are ancient, it reeks of cigarette smoke. The hot tub is no joke about 5 x 4 feet. Its tiny. The pool seemed ok but not great. The only ok thing about this hotel is its location to the beach. Its right on the water. If your looking for a place to stay that has stained rooms with seedy guests then this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just stayed one night pre-cruise from miami. The plaze is actually cozy. Room was old and tired. But beds ok and a working ac and tv. A nice pool area and a tiny tiny tiny breakfast. 2 slices of toast and a small glass of juice. Not good enough. Working WiFi and nice staff. But the big point here is location. Its placed directly on the beach. And the beach is really nice as well. Its totally beachfront. So for a family beachfront holiday for a very fair price in miami area. This is it. Had stayed again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We've been vacationing in Sunny Isles for years, and needed a hotel for a 1-night stay for our family, including a 4-mo-old. This hotel was horrendous, the worst we have ever seen. The first room we were given had a gas leak. We were given a new room 2 rooms down from the first...but first, the maintenance guy lit a match in the room to determine that it really was a gas leak. (Yes, it was.)

The second room had hairs stuck on the bedspread and sand between the sheets. Fine, we can deal with that. We could even deal with the hotel employee who followed us to our room in the evening and then stared uncomfortably at us while we went into our room. When we were settling down with the baby, we heard kitchen noises. It turns out that our room shared a kitchen with the neighboring room, and our neighbors were cooking dinner. What on earth? For well over $200 per night in-season for a standard hotel room, we had no desire for communal hostel-like kitchens.

The straw that broke it was when our non-smoking room suddenly was permeated with heavy cigarette smoke coming in through the vents. We packed up the baby, called on distant relatives in the middle of the night, and drove to their house. My parents decided to tough out the night, but between the smell and the noises (not to mention the dirty beds), it was going to be a long one.

I haven't touched on the off-key singing toilet, the non-digital CRT in lieu of a television, the corridors that resemble hospital wings, the ridiculous valet services, the unfriendly desk staff or the people hanging out in the laundry room on a Saturday night. We don't have fancy tastes, but this was utterly appalling. Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time or money at this ho(s)tel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed 3 nights mid February on a business trip so i didn't spend much time in the room.
GOOD
Friendly staff, excellent beach front location, clean towels, quiet.
BAD
Very outdated, semi-clean, popcorn ceilings, grandma's old 24" tube TV, solid wood door to balcony (not glass slider), dirty grout and baseboard, poor water pressure in sink, free continental breakfast is a joke (you get either a bagel, piece of toast or a small cup cereal and a miniature OJ with weak coffee). free wifi signal in room was inconsistent (lucky I brought a wifi jetpack), the gym is also a joke (musty odor, very limited equipment (which was rusting) & no free weights.

For a family that doesn't want to spend $250+ per night, this could work. See room tips. Also, though they claim some rooms as non-smoking, there are ashtrays in all the rooms so check it out before accepting the room.

Room Tip: Each floor has 4 rooms that have balconies directly facing the ocean (excellent view). They end in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Address: 18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.