We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashback!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Save Saved
You added Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)   |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Flashback!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed two nights and almost 3 full days at this hotel. The rooms were nothing to brag about but had everything you needed. Comfy beds, very spacious, bar fridge, great balcony...admittedly, I tried to keep my shoes or socks on most of the time as the floors felt "dirty" but I think it's just the sand that gets tracked in from the beach. The hotel itself has a restaurant and bar on site, you really do feel like you never have to leave...prices are actually great in the restaurant for Miami. Grocery, liquor, and pharmacy right across the street if you do need anything. Lots of restaurants in the area too. The pool and beach area at the hotel is immaculate...very clean, lots of chairs, cute too....feels like you're on the set of a 1960's movie! The pool man was a bit of a chair/towel nazi....but just have a good laugh. Lots of retired New Yorkers and french canadians actually living here...again, rather comical. Nightly entertainment, houeskeeping staff fine. Valet parking pretty speedy. Not a lot of overly friendly people working here, but really, is that why you're at the hotel? The beach is phenomenal. The three neighbouring towers are all Trump buildings. Can't be that bad of a location?! All in all, great location, fine hotel, would recommed if looking for something reasonable in Miami. It's about a 20 min drive to South Beach. The hotel offers a free shuttle there. I paid $120/night and was rather content.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    146
    185
    92
    114
See reviews for
203
158
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night while attending to some family business nearby. I remember the Thunderbird from my trips to Miami 30 years ago. The rooms are in serious need of renovation. Touching anything in the room left a slightly slick, unclean feeling on my hands. There was dirty grout, mildew and stained tiles throughout the bathroom. The positives are that there were plenty of clean towels, a working AC, free Wi-Fi, on site parking (not free) and a reasonable rate for where it is (not for what it is).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

At first glance this hotel is a nightmare for parking. They only have a few spots up fron, the rest are across the street in a poorly paved and dirty lot. But... once inside you are in a palace. Large spiral staircase, large seating hall, and a fabulous brick walk around the pool and it's two bars and a restaraunt. Right on a fantastic beach with tiki style unbrellas. Rooms are large, beds are great and overall a great place to stay. Except for the poor parking. They need to pave the parking lot and have the concierge parking over there too.

Room Tip: Get a beach front rather than a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had to work in the area for a week and was very surprised to find a beachfront hotel for less than $100. I agree with the other reviews that this hotel needs re-modeling. However, it is ON THE BEACH!! Walk out the back, and stroll down the beach. The room I had included a kitchenette; not new, but it is nice to be able to cook your own meals - and there is a Publix (grocery store) within easy walking distance. The value for the location is the reason for the 'Very Good' rating. The room that I had was not fancy, but it was clean and comfortable.

Parking is ridiculous at this hotel. I have never been a proponent of valet parking - its inconvenient and (I think) a rip-off. You can 'self-park' for $10; that amounts to a ticket to put on your dash so you can park across the street in an un-guarded lot that appears to be a public lot. Also, there is not much room to get off the street when you arrive at the hotel.

One good thing about the hotel is that there is tile everywhere. In the rooms, the halls, the lobby...especially comfortable in a beachside hotel. No wet, smelly, sand filled carpet.

I would recommend this hotel - just understand that it isn't "Trump Tower" comfort; but it is VERY affordable for a comfortable room on the beach.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for an ocean view - save the $$ and just walk out on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on February 6-10. The room was somewhat clean, not enough towels at first. Stayed oceanfront. could hear every word and movement of the individuals next door, air conditioner constantly/loudly turned off and on. Staff was extremely unfriendly and not very helpful.They acted like they did not want to be there and don;t bother them.
The only thing good was the ocean view, it was great. The resturant food was also very good, but with unfriendly staff. will not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We currently checked into the thunderbird and had our first room dirty. We were told that it was a bad staff member who had been terminated and the room was cleaned while we waited. The pool and bar area are awesome and a great location right on the beach. If you care about the hotel room more than just a place to sleep then stay somewhere else because this place needs a total remodeling, seems like we are in the 1960's. If you want location and price then stay here. The Resteraunt is also good on site wih fair prices, they have burgers steaks chicken etc. I will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartfod
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the first night of my holiday arriving in Miami at about 9pm. Was given a room that was quite shabby and as there was loud/deafening music coming from the property next door I asked to be moved to a quieter room, the receptionist gave me keys to another room on the ground floor by the pool. This room had a dirty floor as I walked, with dust and litter on the it. I did not really check out the rest of the room after seeing this. I complained again to the receptionist who then offered me their penthouse suite which by comparison was ok. We stayed the night and left early morning. The loud music did stop at 11pm and we did not use or check out any of the resort facilities so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami

Address: 18401 Collins Avenue, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160 (Formerly Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Resort Miami)
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Thunderbird Beach Miami
Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Beach Resort Hotel Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.