We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and beach but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort to your Saves list
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17901 Collins Ave. Sunny Isles Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160   |  
Hotel amenities
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice location and beach but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Let me start with the positives: the location is good because you can easily walk to a few restaurants and to Publix (of course if you have a car it is even better, but it is not strictly necessary to have now, we did not and we did not miss one!).
The beach is gorgeous.
The pool is big.
There is a spa you can use for free (with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room).
There is a library with a huge amount of books in several languages.
The apartments are quite spacious, and the kitchen has everything you might need during your holiday (from toaster to microwave to mixer)

But there are a few buts...

Yes, the apartments ARE dated and the sofabed is rock-hard (the mattress is worn out!).
There is a gym but it is really small for a resort of this size!
In the library there is a computer room (nice touch!) but with only 2 computers (again... too few for such a resort) and you are not told from the beginning that you can only use it for 15 minutes.
The spa is really good (we used it a lot when it was raining) but it closes at 6 pm.... if it closed at 8 pm we would have used it more often.... at 5 pm we still on the beach.

And a note for the Europeans - you HAVE to tip the guy who brings you the mattresses and umbrella for your loungers, it is REALLY expected. I have been to many resorts before, and I have never seen one where you have to go to the beach guys to ask for your mattresses/umbrella and on 2 occasions they told me I would have to wait 10 or 15 minutes, because they were eating their breakfast!!!!!!!!!!
I then realized that all other guests were tipping them and they got a better service ... and of course, when in Rome do as the Romans do.... and I got my mattresses/umbrella much quicker!

And a VERY irritating thing is that one of our room key (which was actually a card) kept on getting dis-activated. In average we had to ask for a new card twice or three times a day .... and NO, we did NOT keep it with our mobiles (we did not even take our mobiles to the beach!) or with anything else that would disactivate it!
Very irritating when you go home after having being at the beach, with wet hair and clothes and then you have to go back to reception to get a new one.

Apartments facing the main road are noisy, especially because windows do not have double glazing.

Our building (Building 4, if I remember correctly) had a washing machine on even floors... but none of them worked! One was blocked and the other one could not get started. So we had to go to the next building to use the washing machine..... a bit irritating.

For me this is not a resort, this is an apartment hotel with pool, beach and spa.
A resort is something different.

Nevertheless, you can have a nice time there, if you know what to expect.

But be aware of the "house rules": if you move furniture around and do not put it back before check out, they charge you lots of money!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing Collins Avenue (since they are very noisy) and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    40
    17
    16
See reviews for
77
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I loved this resort. Everything you need within walking distance from groceries to restaurants to shopping....No need to rent a car. We stayed in a studio which had lots of room. The beach was beautiful very clean and always a beach chair available. Thank you for a wonderful vacation. I will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

good value for beach front resort. Lots of lounge chair at beach with no cost, heated pool. Have gym, spa and small restaurant at location. Staff is accommodating, clean and well stocked kitchen. Close to Publix groceries and all amenities. 5 minutes from Aventura Mall. Next to Aqualina resort, a 5 star plus resort. Free internet and lots of activities if wanted.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Staff outstanding with courtesy. It took 3 tries for them to get our room keys correct with each ‘new’ set of keys only one worked and it only gets worse from here. When we called inquiring about the Wi-Fi they said to try it again and to call again if it continued not working, so we did. They sent the ‘maintenance’ guys that came to help with the bad key cards. Not IT folks so they were no help – very pleasant but couldn’t help. The guy at the front desk called and said our computers would not allow us to use Wi-Fi?????? We use these computers all over the country with ease so that statement was ridiculous. When seeing the maintenance guy the following day he stated many people were having problems too.

Twenty-four hours into our stay and we are now on our 11th set of key cards after maintenance ‘fixed’ the door not once but twice. The front desk kept telling us to keep the cards away from our cell phones. We had. It was the door all the time. Fixed twice…all bad.

Our first morning in the room, we had someone with a KEY trying to get in. Thankfully my husband had just returned to the room and put the deadbolt in place or he would have walked in on me. The lady at the front desk apologized for giving someone a key to our room as she thought it was vacant. Apparently she hadn’t checked as we had it reserved for multiple days.

The resort is very, very dated but we did reserve very late and had to take what was available as most places we checked were already booked.

They advertise the pool is heated to 86 degrees - it isn't.

The best thing about this resort is the staff. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over thanksgiving week, weather was windy and rainy. But overall it was a great time to get away from the north cold. Sunny off and on all week. Timeshare was beach front and water beautiful blue. Lifeguards on beach every day. Chairs, pads, and umbrella provided daily. $10/mandatory fee. Pool heated and very clean. trump has plans for tearing down the timeshare in 2017. Enjoy while you can, soon the place will be gone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had a great experience staying here. The staff is very polite, they have a good sized parking lot, the pool area is big and clean, the beach is gorgeous and they have towels, umbrellas and beach mattresses for the lounge chairs. There is a very nice Italian restaurant (Azurro) inside the resort, in which the food is very good and it is connected to the pool/beach area, which was useful/comfortable and avoided leaving the beach for long when hungry. The resort building is not higher than 4 stories tall, so unlike the neighbouring buildings, you get a lot more sun hours at the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Excellent location right in the center of Sunny Isles. This is one of the remaining original resorts from the 1940's. The roome are tidy but severely needs updating. Beds are very uncomfortable. Resort still rolls with colored wrist bands like a Mexico resort ($25 if you don't turn it back in....I didn't want one to begin with), towel police (they literally count the towels) and change your own sheets/clean your own room timeshare-type nonsense. This needs a makeover

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor for the best view. The "even numbered" rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort

Address: 17901 Collins Ave. Sunny Isles Beach, Sunny Isles Beach, FL 33160
Location: United States > Florida > Sunny Isles Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sunny Isles Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Hotel Sunny Isles Beach
Golden Strand Ocean Hotel
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort Florida/Sunny Isles Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.