We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“money worth but needs improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 to your Saves list
Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10775 Caribbean Blvd, Cutler Ridge, FL 33189 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cutler Ridge
Ocoee, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“money worth but needs improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have stayed at this motel 6 before and you get what you paid for. The room I stayed in was a remodeled room. It was very a nice to look at how every it couldn't hid the mildew/mold sent. The elevator takes forever so if your in a rush.. you might as well take the steps. Also in the lobby it has a weird smell possible mildew as well. Its very hot and stuff in the lobby. Instead of air conditioning they have 2 big tacky portable fans they use. I would recommend the hotel. But like I said before its a cheap price and a cheap hotel. Don't go in thinking your going to have a 5 star room or you will be sadly mistaking lol.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    19
    17
    16
See reviews for
18
23
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tequesta, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I needed a room for a night because of work. I expected just a average room but it was clean just very dated. For what I need it was perfect,sadly the town I would not take a female to. It's kind of rough with a few people who are not completely mentally healthy.j

Room Tip: Hear the rooms seem somewhat noisy but for what they charged I guess it was a nice deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a 2 week trip trough 6 states. We needed aan ok Place to sleep, during tha day we were driving around sightseeing, no need to pay extra for suoerior rooms when you only need a room to sleep in. We spent 6 Nights at different Motel 6 from Florida all the way to Texas. All were clean, good beds, very ok.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

They say this place has been remodeled . No pics on wall s. bare bones motel .Who put laminate floors in a hotel. 1 elevator works. Parking is tight All you hear is road noise all nite. Won't make this mistake again . Front desk was pleasant Glad I left

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed for a weekend for a quick trip to the beach with the bf & family event. Reservation got accidently cancelled, booked a room that ended up stinking of cigarettes! EVERYTHING smelled in that room, no fresh air. Walls are VERY THIN, kept hearing the couple next door having sex. Sheets were too thin. No fridge, terrible TERRIBLE towels, had to borrow some from family down the street. Price for last minute reservation during spring break was ok, due to my family being close & thats it! The fact that its right next to the highway was the only plus!

Room Tip: get non-smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I spent seven days in this hotel while my brother was in south Miami hospital. It is right between the Florida turnpike and U.S. 1 making it very easy to get to. The price is much better than the ones around it and they offer a military discount for both active and retired military on top of that. It is in the middle of renovations so yes there is work being done during the day but not at night. The front desk staff and housekeeping people got me what ever I asked for. The room with two double beds was nice. I had a small table with two chairs, a microwave, a four foot high fridge with a separate freezer on top and a sink and cabinets next to it. There was also a flat screen tv. One of the elevators was being worked on but you can take the other one. It is not so big that it was a problem. As for cars being broken into as another post says, that can happen anywhere. It did not happen while I was there and as a general rule you should never leave things of value in your car and never in plain sight. I have nothing bad to say about this Hotel and would go back again

Room Tip: As with any hotel do not get a room next to the elevator or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I reserved 2 rooms here for one night. I couldn't find a decent place in Miami area for under $125 a night until I stumbled upon this one online. It was a little farther out from downtown than we wanted, but it was a choice between more money or more driving. It turns out that the hotel was completely booked due to 3 schools attending a track meet. No problem. The motel's rooms are all outside rooms, 6 stories. It is superbly located, when you exit the turnpike you go about 150 feet and can turn into the motel. You can almost jump from the walkways onto the turnpike. I did not notice noise from the highway. It is also less than half a mile from US 1, and is literally across the street from the mall.

There is no breakfast, but they do have coffee and vending machines in the lobby as well as a seating area next to the machines. The parking lot is large and some of the spaces can accommodate you if you're pulling something as the spaces are longer. But beware because people seem to park pretty haphazardly in these spaces. It is not a parking lot for a truck or long RV as there are some tight turns. The pool area is nice, though we didn't use it.

My daughter and I got to our room and were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean. It was very newly renovated and appropriate for South Florida--not a lot of upholstery to hold in humidity, dirt and smells. The floor was wood-look laminate, not quite sure what it is actually called. The bedspreads were light, simple and form-fitted to the foot of the mattresses. There was a basic IKEA-looking table and chair set under the TV which was housed in a frame and mounted on the wall. The toilet and sink were in the same room and the towels were displayed in a type of shelving that looked similar to a wine rack. Interesting. The bathroom fan was very noisy. Our room had an adjoining room which happened to be unlocked. It was almost finished and ready for occupancy, but it also had a small dinette booth in it. Interesting.

Moving on to the other room which my son and his guests occupied. Roaches. Live roaches, babies and moms. My son went to the front desk and the clerk thought he was checking in and told him there were no rooms available. Upon further explanation of the problem, there immediately became a room available. This room had no pest problem and was to their liking. Admittedly, I didn't see either room.

An interesting side note was that on the morning we checked out, my son had heard that there had been an unfortunate event the day before we checked in, in the room next to his original room. An event which should remind us all to be careful and not throw caution to the wind when we travel. 'Nuff said.

I would definitely stay here again if I were to visit Miami. The front desk clerks were very pleasant and helpful. To be fair, maybe some of these things were going to be put in the rooms by the end of the renovation. But I would just like management to take care of some small, not so small things like:
-Put weatherstripping and/or a door threshold on the doorway. Might help with the pests.
-In addition to the drapes now on the windows, put some sheer curtains on the windows. Right now it's closed curtains and dark room, or open curtains, sunlight and everybody look in my room!
-Get the microwaves and refrigerators off the floors. Might help with the pests.
-Bigger bath towels.
-A full length mirror somewhere.
-Clean up the parking lot, re-stripe it maybe, and check the outside stairway entrances. They were propped open for the day and a half we were here. It was convenient for me because I walked up instead of waiting for the abysmally slow elevator, but not safe.
-Are there supposed to be hangers in the rooms? Not sure.
-Hurry up and fix the elevators and the ice machines.
-Free Wi-Fi. Yes, in this day and age it should be free.

P.S. What is the thing that is attached to the underside of the wall cabinet and is plugged into an electrical outlet?

Room Tip: There are adjoining room choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017

Address: 10775 Caribbean Blvd, Cutler Ridge, FL 33189 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Cutler Ridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cutler Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 Hotel Cutler Ridge
Best Western Floridian Hotel
Best Western Cutler Ridge
Cutler Ridge Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.