We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at home” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10775 Caribbean Blvd, Cutler Ridge, FL 33189 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cutler Ridge
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay at home”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The worst hotel I ever stayed in! Ok, what do you expect for $59, but every dollar was wasted. The TV reception is awful: most channels are un-viewable, even as a guy the lifts are super-scary, everything appears 50 years old in the room, which really smells bad..... and why am I so itchy in bed ?!? Oh, and the terrible windows and door let all he noise in (highway, people walking past etc).
Positives include a really nice lady on the front desk and the room cleaning is really well done. Also, proximity to every store you could ever need just over the road.
Perhaps some rooms are refurbished, because some reviews on this site are amazingly OK, alongside many terrible ones.
I'm 41 and if I live to be 100 I will never stay in another motel 6 ! Perhaps la Quinta next door is better?

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    18
    17
    14
See reviews for
18
23
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Saw a sign for accommodation so we pulled off the Florida Turnpike as we needed to sleep. We pulled into the first motel which was a Motel 6. Firstly the front door takes forever to open and then it only opens wide enough for a suitcase to just fit through. You step into the lift and it is filthy! We were almost scared to open the door to the room but it was a pleasant surprise as the room was spotless. We travelled in the lift at the back of the motel as it was closer to the room and the panel moved in and out when you pressed the buttons and it was filthier than the other lift. We did meet a lovely young couple at the pool so that was a high point. Would not recommend it to anyone back home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

As I entered the room there was that smell, so I decided to do some bed search, was not surprised at all. Anyway, I noticed the place was sprayed; that was the smell I detected along with the bugs. There were bug pea and stains all on the mattress and box spring, but the best part was I caught a live bug the next day which I told the house keeper and showed her my arms and face with bug bites; also had our suitcases tied up in plastic bags so we would not take these creatures with us. By the way, do not bother to complain to management, they just blow you off. You have choices, take your bites or leave. They don't give a damn and try to tell you they'll be there to check it out: hah, long wait, never show up

Room Tip: Are you kidding me
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I wish I had read the reviews on this place before making a reservation. There are tons of bed bugs at this place and the management had the nerve to tell us that they are simply a nuisance and not a health risk.

I asked for a refund for one night because my mother was bitten so badly. Of course, they refused to give us one.

You've been warned, pay the extra $15 per night at another motel/hotel and avoid bringing these pesky creatures back to your home.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this property....lots of bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here because it was a handy stop on the way to the Keys. Will not stay here ever again. Run down and shabby. Room reeked of air conditioner odor. Don't leave door open - you don't want to see what wanders in. I definately don't recommend this motel - cheap does not mean dingy & smelly! I have stayed at alot of Motel 6 places and they are usually clean, nice and very plain but this was by far the worst.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is on the shabby side and the bonus is that the staff have no problem giving you a room that is infested with bed bugs. Don't go there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantic beach,fl
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I stayed here here the end of nov.,2011. rented a room, paid FULL price. I got a room that had been pre rented. used sheets, no soap, etc.
the people at desk are unable to tell you how to get to the motel. they have no idea where they are, how they got to work, or even the street they are on!!!!!
do not go to this motel. on top of all that, the tv didn't even work. when I told the desk I wanted another room, the person who could speak english minutes before, could not now speak english.

Room Tip: well, choose another place!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017

Address: 10775 Caribbean Blvd, Cutler Ridge, FL 33189 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Cutler Ridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cutler Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 Hotel Cutler Ridge
Best Western Floridian Hotel
Best Western Cutler Ridge
Cutler Ridge Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.