We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   10775 Caribbean Blvd, Cutler Ridge, FL 33189 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cutler Ridge
Satellite Beach, florida USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We got an AARP rate of $50.00 a night-we stayed in room #415 for 2 nights-May 10 and May 11- We have stayed here before-this is our second time-Our room needed a more thorough vacuuming job-other than that, no complaints at all. Toilet paper is too thin and soaps are too small-so what? Bring your own like we always do, and then you will feel like you are in a 3 star hotel! Balcony room views are lovely-sunsts/sunrises/Poinciana Trees in bloom in May-back elevator is still creepy-needs paint/cameras/lights-our room was fine-AC was great! We slept like babies-beds so comfortabe/fridge/micro worked-so, there is some good/bad stuff-mostly all good for a great price! We love it here and the front desk staff is GREAT! So friendly!The T.J. Maxx at the Mall across the street is SUPERB! And there's a Ross, too! Take note, all MAXXANISTAS!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    18
    17
    15
See reviews for
18
23
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Having been to many Motel 6's all over the US I was pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to find the room was not the typical Motel 6. I think it used to be a Best Western so the room had a little more character than usual. With the exception of a weak toilet and some issues with the elevators being out of service off and on, the stay was very good. Our room was clean and comfortable. Try to get a room on the back side of the hotel as the road out front of the hotel is a little noisy in the morning. The mall across the street was handy, as well as the grocery store close by. Fridge and microwave came with our room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, florida USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed here one night because La Quinta next door(our usual choice) raised their rates to $99.00 a night! Here, we paid a total of $77.28(with AARP). The hotel has gorgeous views of Miami from the top floors(5 floors). We stood on the huge wraparound balcony at Sunset with all the other hotel guests holding our glasses of wine(we were in room 517) and watched the sun set. Gorgeous! The Mall is across the street-great shopping! Our room was immaculate-two large beds, small fridge, plenty of towels-table and two chairs near the window . No room complaints at all! The grounds were lushly groomed with tropical plants(free parking). Pool area was a stunner-looked like a pool at a four-star resort in the French West Indies-heated pool/private/wood/teak floor.Reception was great-no breakfast-some vending machines, no newspaper machine-must buy papers next door at the gas station. A few bad points-back elevator near the parking was scary/seedy/no security cameras. It was Friday night, and some dubious looking characters were checking in. (note to single, busines women-stay next door at La Quinta-this place is not for you(not yet, anyway-security cameras must be installed in parking/elevator areas). It is spooky back there at night! Some of the clientele will scare some people who are not used to an urban environment-like people with some missing teeth checking in.Well, it WAS the weekend! And people were out to PARTY! Yes, we will stay here again-the hotel has potential to get even better-by the way, AC worked great, and we slept like babies.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel was worth the price we were given. We came into Miami in the wee hours of the morning (although we could not check in for some time) the hotel clerk allowed us to check in earlier than suppose to without charging us for an additional day. The location of the hotel is great to major hubs in and around Miami and the Keys, and was great for easy travel to and from Miami Beach. Overall a good hotel for someone looking to save money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Islands, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

This hotel is a great value if you don't mind driving 20 - 30 minutes into Miami but it's also a quick trip down to the keys from here. We completely enjoyed our 3 nights here as the rooms were clean, well equipped and comfortable. The only drawback here is the proximity to the turnpike. It's quite noisy all night so bring those earplugs and you'll have a wonderful night's rest.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

for starters let me say this is NOT a best western any longer. it is now a MOTEL 6 and i travel with a pet so i stay with motel 6 often. well when i got here i was like wow. this is nice. and for a motel 6 it is really nice. most motel 6 properties dont have king beds and since this is a converted property it does have king beds. the rooms are large. very large. and the furnishings again are very nice. the bed has cherry wood headboards that reach the ceiling. several large mirrors and paintings in the room. a huge armoire. one of the largest ive ever seen. matches the headboard for the bed. a very nice an comfy chair with an ottoman. water preasure in the bathroom was awesome. some of the best water preasure ive seen in a long time actually. it had a really nice shower curtain as well. not the cheap ones. the armoire hides a small fridge. and there is a microwave in the room as well. the AC was cool but could have worked better. i was on the 5th floor of 6 floors. the property sits beside the freeway. im never ceased to be amazed about all the reviews complaining about hearing the freeway. unless you live in the woods somewhere your going to hear noise at a hotel. they have a beautiful courtyard with a nice pool. it could be cleaner in my opinion. could just be an off day but i saw lots of leaves and stuff in the pool. the elevators here need to be replaced. they are the slowest ive ever seen. and i was a little alarmed that the inspection sticker in the elevator expired in 2007. the carpet in my room was really nice and not your typical hotel carpet. shortly after i arrived the power went off for almost 3 hours. the front desk was clueless to what was going on and didnt even bother to find out. in my opinion hotels should have a generator backup for their guests not to be inconvenienced. especially since this is southern florida and we have hurricanes. the staff here is not helpful or friendly and limited with their english or so it seems. i did call the 800 number and complain and was told the manager would contact me and she never did. and i saw her several times later in the day. the neighborhood is not the best. i did walk to mcdonalds which is next door and that was ok but i noticed as the sun was setting the people out and about walking around were not the most desirable. lots of parking here. and pretty well lit all this being said im supposed to be here two nights and i plan to check out in the morning. im just not comfortable with the area after dark. others might be ok.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Prospect Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

In the morning between 9am-10am, my husband packed the car as we were checking out, and then we went for breakfast in the hotel. When we came out about thirty minutes later, our car had been broken into and everything was taken, including the laptop, cameras, suitcases with all our clothes and my husband's medication, etc. When we went to the front desk and told them what happened, one of the staff said a trailer was once stolen out of their parking lot. We could have walked out to the car during the robbery and they could have harmed us. I am thankful that that did not happen.
The police officer said that this hotel was in an unsavory neighborhood on both sides of the hotel unbeknownst to us. The person who replaced the car window told us as much.
We were devastated and had to rush home and cut short our vacation because my husband needed his medication. We could not go to any pharmacy because he gets his medication through the VA.
After we arrived home, I sent an e-mail to the CEO of Best Western asking why there were no security cameras to safeguard their guests. He never answered my question but sent me a generic reply, as did the manager in Cutler Ridge. They assured me that this hotel was safe and that our situation could happen anywhere. Still, I received no answer regarding security cameras. There were signs posted not to leave valuables in the car, which we didn't until we were checking out the following morning. Other guests were also checking out but saw nothing. My husband and I both feel that someone was watching the parking lot by either one of the employees or their associates. Needless to say, we do not feel safe staying at any of the Best Westerns and management doesn't seem to care.
This incident was very traumatic for us and we felt very violated. We will never stay at a Best Western, especially the one at Cutler Ridge.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017

Address: 10775 Caribbean Blvd, Cutler Ridge, FL 33189 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Location: United States > Florida > Cutler Ridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cutler Ridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017 Hotel Cutler Ridge
Best Western Floridian Hotel
Best Western Cutler Ridge
Cutler Ridge Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Cutler Bay #2017, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.