We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I miss it already!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Decameron Los Cocos

Save Saved
You added Hotel Decameron Los Cocos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Decameron Los Cocos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Retorno Las Palmas S/N, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Nanaimo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I miss it already!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a great time! I have been to Mexico many times, both sides! Spent a lot of time at the Royal DeCameron in Bucerias. You cannot beat this hotel for the price. Just got back this past Saturday and we are planning a yearly quick getaway in Guayabitos! We loved the local flavour.
Rooms are basic, as they are in the "Royal D" and the food is basic but very good. We paid about $700 each for everything and booked last minute...what can you say about a getaway in Mexico for that price!
Anyone looking for huge nightlife would be disappointed. The disco is good and we enjoyed the shows but things get pretty quiet (for the most part) by 10:00 Mind you, we were there for a rest so I can't say that we sought out late night stuff...
I can't say enough about the staff...very friendly and very helpful. Nolitours representative, Vincent, is absolutely the best!
We stayed in Block 4 and will request this again. Yes, you hear the road noise and the roosters...but the air conditioning drowns it out for the most part and it really isn't bothersome. I think this is a trade off (and a great one) for basicaly having your own pool, bar and restaurant! The pool is "solo adultos" so even though kids are great...you won't have them jumping on your head while you float around and read a book! Some little ones invade periodically but the staff very nicely guide them back to their own pools....

Room Tip: Block 4 for an adult holiday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    287
    88
    31
    17
See reviews for
169
260
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Los Cocos in February as a family (two boys ages 12 and 15).

- The food was fantastic. We especially liked La Bamba. You can go there as many times as you want to wake up at 7:00 am to book.

- The staff was very accomodating. Always pleasant and helpful.

- We somehow got a room with three beds. That allowed our boys to have their own beds - very nice.

- The rooms are not fancy but clean enough.

- The activities were fun but there was no real set time for them. We've been at other resorts where beach volleyball is at 11:00 am, for example - which is handy when planning the day.

- Nice that there are kayaks (even if you have to stay in the roped area) and free catamaram rides (book a time at the kayak tent).

- My boys wanted to play water polo but the nets were chained up. Because of the language barrier we weren't able to figure out why and how we could set up a game.

- The nightly shows varied - everything from contests (not a lot of production value) to full themed dancing productions (very good).

- As other reviewers have said - there are a lot of Mexican families who come to this resort. That made the trip unique for us.

- We also liked the Mexican authenticity of Guayabitos. We walked around a lot and always felt safe.

- The market on Mondays in the town is good.

- Two of us did zip-lining (booked through the hotel) and had a great time.

In summary - if you are looking for nightlife, this is the not the place for you. If you are looking for Mexican authenticity and relaxation and don't require posh accomodations, you will enjoy this resort.

Room Tip: There are rooms with three beds (in Cocos 1 for sure).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from a wonderful stay at this little resort. Off the beaten track and located in the village of Rincon de Guayabitos, I was quite pleasantly surprised. The staff and service really adds another star to this little gem, top notch, better than the 5 stars I have stayed at elsewhere ! The food was good, not excellent, but definitely not bad at all, just lacking in variety. The beer was tasty and cold, the mixed drinks though were made with premade mixes and cheap no name liquor. Beds were hard like most hotels in Mex. Would we come back, yes, if only to experience some of the best service in Mex and visit a fun, safe village far away from the 'Vallarta' scene.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at Los Cocos the week of March 31st to April 7th, 2012, and the Santa Semana celebrations were in full swing!

We were in Block 4, and the room was large, well-cleaned and well-situated (easy access to the private adult pool, La Bamba Restaurant (breakfast and lunch and “booked” for supper reservations – the only a la carte on the resort.)

Although we were very impressed with the people of Mexico (incredibly family-oriented, pleasant, lively, and polite), we did find our hotel block noisy – some of it the result of the week’s festivities (brass band competitions), and some of it due to the traffic. Walk around and enjoy the town!

As others have mentioned, the cultural experience of this hotel is really a highlight. Try the oysters, Mexican candy, and Mexican “doritos” (the puffed stuff you put salsa and lemon on) from the vendors at the beach.

If flying back to Calgary, a hospitality room is provided because of the late departure time. If you want to use the complimentary room to shower and get ready later in the day (so you don’t have to just sit around in beach clothes or try to extend your check-out time) make your way down to the reception/currency change desk by 7:15 the morning of your departure so you can get a decent half-hour time slot (one a little later in the day).

Bring Canadian dollars. Not American. They are currently not changing American dollars into pesos – you might have to go Penita to exchange American currency.

As mentioned previously, buy a “floatie” from a vendor in town or on the beach your first day so you can provide yourself a little bit of a cushion between yourself and your deck chair. The “beach club” is a nice little get-away to a quieter beach area. Be sure to take advantage of it if you like to spend time at the beach.

Bring a cup that will be a little larger and one that will keep your drinks covered and cold.

Again, hotel staff is extremely helpful, hard working and courteous. The food is excellent and this resort is excellent value for your money! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta B.C.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I arrived at DLC on Saturday 3 PM in the Afternoon March 31 after an hour long bus ride and clearing customs at a very very busy Puerto Vallarta International Airport.The first day was a right off as i was catching up on zzzzs from having basically no sleep it was a 6.35 AM Saturday Morning flight out and i had worked Friday and then got a ride to YVR at 12 AM Saturday Morning and hung around waiting like a lot of other people for the 3.30 AM Air Transat TS 760 Pre Flight Check In.The hotel check was held outside in Fiscus Square quick and efficient with geusts being given their room key(on a chain..smart idea) and bath towel card.I was in Room 3105 in Cocos 3 next to the Tennis Court it was a narrow but long ground floor room that probably 3 or 4 people could stay in.It had a kichen sink/bar/living room and a Queen size bed with a shower and bathroom plus a TV that must have had sattelite i watched part of a ESPN NHL Hockey telecast between The NY Rangers and Pittsburgh Penguins...it felt a wee bit strange watching some hockey in such a hot and beautiful location.The Room Maid staff and her Supervisor did an excellent job in keeping the rooms clean and tidy and looking after any needs that i or my neighbours Helen,Shirley and Bruce might require.The entire staff especially the Maintenance/handymen worked very hard from Sunday Apil 1 to Wednesday 4 getting the entire place looking like a crown jewel for The six Air Transat Brass who were inspecting the entire place.This was a job that they did exceptionally well because the Sun was blazing hot over those couple of days.I had a problem with the lock on my sliding and toilet i was immediately given a replacement key by The nice Front Office lady who spoke excellent English she then rightaway sent down a handy man to fix the toilet.I felt throughout my entire stay whether at La Canoa Restaurant or La Bamba Steak House e.t.c. that i was getting treated by the entire staff like a good friend or Family member you can't ask for any better than that!A big thanks from me to Ramon Cardenas Urena(The General manager) to Vincent The Nolitours Rep from Quebec to the head of the Animation/Entertainment staff who participated and held the MR Sexy Decameron Los Cocos..ha!ha!ha! on Sunday April 1st show to all the fluid,graceful and athletic dancers who on the Friday night on April 6 stretched out their muscles calfs,thighs by the balcony in behind at the table before they did their 1950's style show ala Grease where i was having my last cervazas at. I could've have used some tips or advice on stretching from these Dancers before i went snorkelling Friday because i pulled my calf muscle into a tight ball swimming on the island across from the beach (ouch!!).To summarize my stay there my stay was a blast and if anyone can't have a lot of fun there than they probably can't anywhere i thought that i couldn't my stay at Varadero in Cuba for feeling totally energized alive boy was i was wrong! I will hopefully like to have the chance to visit this beautiful hotel and all of it's friendly staff somewhere down wherever the yellow brick road of life takes me Yours Sincerely Alistair Black.

Room Tip: Ear plugs... you might just need them the party almost never ends at this hotel..lol!!! :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This resort offers great food and great service. The staff is extremely accommodating and fun. Bring earplugs as you are in the town of Guayabitos and there are barking dogs and crowing roosters at the crack of dawn. You should also bring cheap air mattresses as the poolside chairs are hard plastic and not very comfortable. This resort is definitely a five star when it comes to the food and service.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cocos 1 but we were told Cocos 4 was quieter. We were above the kitchen so it did get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Decameron los cocos was one of the best vacation we have been on. It is the only one, so far, that I was not ready to come home from after one week. We had not been to the pacific side of Mexico before as we love the Riviera Maya and Carribean, but this was truley enjoyable. The water was really warm and Guayabitos was truley authentic, with very happy, friendly people. The resort was spotlessly clean, service quick and friendly. The food was good at all times specially bbq night we really enjoyed, but was surprised there was no bacon or sausages for breakfast and almost everything had onions in it. My personal dislike for onions caused me to be limited, but there was something for everyone. We ate at the alacarte and it was great, we had the new york steak and the ribs. We had reservations at 830pm but went at 630 and were able to be seated. You must go to Salvadores down the beach, great shrimp. If you want "live" music dont go to Latitude 21, it is more like kareoke. (See my seperate review for it). There were many vendors walking the beach and coming up to you trying to sell their items. They were not pushy but I could see how some would find it annoying as there are hundreds of people with the same items for sale. If you've got 1 selling silver, you've got another 10 selling the same items and they just keep coming all day long. We didnt mind it, we just said, "no gracias" and they just walked away. We felt it added to the authenticity of the area and our vacation. We read about it before we went so knew what to expect. We could have lived without the animation team loudness during the day, now that was really annoying, but it didnt ruin our vacation. Drinks were all good, try the banana mama. One thing I dont understand is when I read that the drinks were weak. It really doesnt make any sense, it is an all inclusive!! Tell them how much to put in it!!. We will definately return, it was a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Decameron Los Cocos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Decameron Los Cocos

Address: Retorno Las Palmas S/N, Rincon de Guayabitos 63727, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > Rincon de Guayabitos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Rincon de Guayabitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Decameron Los Cocos 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Decameron Los Cocos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Decameron Los Cocos Hotel
Decameron Los Cocos Rincon De Guayabitos
Rincon De Guayabitos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Decameron Los Cocos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.