We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda
Save
You added Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda to your Saves list
48 Retorno Camboya, San Francisco 63732, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Real Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My first trip to San Pancho and I cannot imagine a place better to stay. The pool, grounds, accommodations and staff are exceptional. Not to mention Eileen as our hostess made our stay at her inn a memorable week. We just left yesterday and I woke up this morning missing the sounds of rural Mexican life; birds singing, dogs barking, roosters crowing and this special little town coming to life. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
41
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Other than day stops this was our first trip to Mexico and it couldn't have been better. I take that back it would have been better if I had put on bug before going to bed the first night. Ted slept fine, as he always does when I'm there to attract the little beasts.

The Inn was terrific. We were comfortable but we also felt a part of San Pancho. The dogs barked at night, the roosters crowed in the morning, and the locals used speakers during the day to attract customers. If you want to stay in America and say you've been to Mexico go elsewhere.

The kitchen was small but it had everything we needed to fix breakfast, sandwitches etc. With so many good places to eat in town food was never a problem. We had the best flan from a street cafe i.e. the tables were under a tent and the food was served from a trailer.

San Pancho attacts a wide range of people from polo players to people watchers to mountain bikers. It has a wonderful community center. I highly recommend checking it out first thing because they offer classes and programs for everybody.

Room Tip: The Inn is at the top of a hill and the casatas are upstairs from the street i.e. it's not handi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Just had a dream vacation at this touch of Paradise. Beautiful gardens, great hospitality, very comfortable casita in this charming little Mexican town. My friends and I enjoyed painting every morning and exploring the town and beach in the afternoons. Eileen was exceedingly helpful in suggesting restaurants and giving aid when needed! It was a memorable time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Inn at San Pancho is the perfect place to experience life in a small Mexican beach town. My husband and I have rented the owners unit, Villa V!, twice in three years and for nearly two weeks each time. We could happily have stayed longer! It’s like having our own spacious, beautifully furnished and equipped apartment, including gorgeous grounds, a veranda that looks out over the town to the water (perfect for bird and whale watching, reading, margaritas at sunset and meals), and a wonderful pool, shared by only two other units (most of the time we had it to ourselves). Another advantage is having Eileen, one of the two owners, on site; she is witty and fun and a wealth of information. And members of her long-time staff are equally welcoming and efficient.

The beauty of San Francisco (aka San Pancho) is its small-town feel. Even though we had a car, we walked pretty much everywhere. We loved buying groceries in the little tiendas or from the back of a truck. There are lots of good restaurants. The beach is long and uncrowded. And you may be as active or as quiet as you like. Mostly we like falling into the rhythm of the town; we’ve seen quinceañeras in the plaza, birthday parties with piñatas strung over the street, weddings and funerals. And if we want more action, we drive to the nearby surfing town of Sayulita.

For us, the Inn at San Pancho lets us feel like we have our “own place” and are part of the town for a brief time. It’s a very different (and enriching) experience from being a tourist at a big resort hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We came to San Pancho to meet with a realtor & hopefully find a home to purchase in the area. Eileen is the person to know if you're looking for help in negotiating your way around this area. San Pancho is delightful & has grown so....much in 3 years! We loved the dogs, the roosters, the trucks with the speakers announcing their wares for sale. The cleanliness of this village is a focus of its people. Our room was large & very clean. We would have liked screened windows, but this is Mexico! Noseeums are pesty! During our visit the gray sky's persisted so we did not use the beautiful pool. Restaurants are abundant, too die for pizza (can't remember restaurants name). We did buy a Casa in Sayulita and intend to stay in contact with Eileen. Great centralized Inn, easy to go back & forth to the beach & restaurants. Only 1 ATM in town! Can watch whales from the beach. Hope to be back in the area in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

I don't want to say too much, because you should really discover it for yourself. The inn is a fairly straightforward, homey little joint with 3 suites & a palapa. The suites have all the comforts. The inn is well located on a hill in the charming village of San Pancho. I suppose there must be nice little places like this all over the world.

But: sit by the blue tiled pool among the flowers of the soul-mending little garden. Watch a small bird come at dusk every day to the same spot to sip from the water. Gaze at the ocean, the jungle, and the hills, while the dogs bark and the banda plays and the sun sets over San Pancho. You'll see for yourself. It is a magic place. Its magic grows on you without fuss. Soon you will be very sad to leave.

Owner Eileen is great.

Take Luis Morales' bird-watching walk if you're into that kind of thing. You will see many birds, plus the man's a polymath, one of a kind, & devoted to improving San Pancho ecologically and as a community.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Inn at San Pancho review…

This was our first time at Inn of San Pancho and we will definitely return! As an experienced traveler in the quiet turtle sanctuaries and eco-lodges of Mexico, I wasn’t sure what to expect other than village quaintness and an authentic Mexican experience. The biggest surprise for us was the warmth and devotion of the Inn keeper, Eilleen as well asboth the ex-pat and Mexican community. Everyone works together to make all visitors’ stays here personable, easy and unique. Thanks to Eileen, we were picked up by Diva Tours at the PV airport, which was an easy way to begin our trip. She also helped us to set up sea kayaking with Tailwind Tours as well as horse back riding with Rudolpho in the jungles above the village.

There is absolutely no need for a car in San Pancho and it was a pleasure to not worry about driving outside of the colorful and complete township. We eased into our kitchen with groceries we bought on route at only a 10.00 stopping fee by the taxi service. We planned on eating most breakfasts in and having dinners out in the many diverse restaurants in the evenings. We bought beer and tropical drink fixings at a much less expensive price to the 7-11 sorts of stores in San Pancho.

The inn sits up high and within a ten-minute walk to the beach and to all great restaurants and markets. There is a lovely balance of beach experience and jungle walks within minutes of the house. All streets are cobblestone, feel safe, clean, and easily accessible by foot. Parking is also easy on this deadend street. Eilleen welcomed us with a bright smile and private tour of the hidden garden behind the clean plaster walls of the inn. The infinity pool is brightly tiled and large enough to lap swim as well as having a spill over for children to wade in two lower pools. The views from this perch are incredible. You can watch the light changing through the day, in the protection of the abundant colorful bouganvillia and bird of paradise, palm trees and lawn. Our Casa Agave was bright, freshly decorated with colorful furnishings, comfortable couches and chairs and an amazing covered terrace to nap on or to enjoy coffee and afternoon drinks….The king sized bed and pillows were so comfortable. And the cleaning and daily towel change was timed perfectly around whatever time we wanted to get up and go touring. We spent loads of time reading, emailing with easy wifi and drawing and watercoloring. Since the weather was a bit cloudy through much of our stay, it was especially nice to have the large room and terrace to relax in and feel at home.

You will sleep on a cloud of fresh breeze with open windows or with a quiet fan circulating through the night. There are the inevitable barking Mexican dogs as well as crowing roosters to authenticate your experience. They are no bother with earplugs. We had no problem with mosquitoes or no-seeums. Eileen has supplied the pool with beach towels and sunscreen and the rooms with insect repellant for your ease and comfort. She has also documented fabulous restaurants in San Pancho as well as Sayulita. There are enough great places to eat to keep one busy at a new restaurant per breakfast/lunch and dinner! Be sure to enjoy “Argentina Night” on Fridays, with Café Arte where live acoustic music is played on the street and a tasty BBQ of smoked ribs/homemade sausage/steaks and grilled potatoes and onion are served. Cecilia, the owner of the café also makes a mean latte! We were there nearly every morning enjoying people watching. Also, enjoy Salsa dancing lessons on Thursday evening at 5 pm and live Cuban music on the beach on Sundays. This particular beach restaurant has the most incredibly light, vegie filled, chicken grilled burrito I have ever had. El Perle, I believe is the name of this hot spot. We also enjoyed Cielo Rojo for a romantic valentine’s day menu prefix. There is great ambiance and lovely food and service that seemed to float to our table at the perfect time. Great jazz music as well.

One highlight of our trip was the energetic demonstration of community involvement at Entre Amigo. This a recycling center with art classes, a library, computers, a recycled art gallery with tons to buy and bring home. These purchases help to pay for scholarships for the children. If you are inclined to learn Spanish, there is a language center, as well. In a newly opened café, there was the tastiest lemon pie I have ever had served with a dark rich coffee. An inspired volunteer staff will give you a tour on request. This is a true community endeavor. And all of San Pancho is involved.

I plan on returning to Inn at San Pancho in May. Eileen and the people of the township have opened my heart wide and I can’t wait to experience more!!

Room Tip: Casa Agave is wonderful with views and a covered terrace.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda

Address: 48 Retorno Camboya, San Francisco 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set like a moonstone in the abundant palm forests which frame the idyllic village of San Pancho, the Inn at San Pancho offers abundant gardens, charming casitas, and a cascade pool. Embraced by the colors of Mexico, with jaunty peacock blue skies each morning, and the gaudy sprawl of sunset ushering in each star-filled night, this enchanting Inn with its spectacular vistas weaves days that unfold like magic, and spins memories that will cling forever. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at San Pancho, Home of the GataGorda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.