We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sister Lou's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sister Lou`s River Stop

Sister Lou`s River Stop
Black River, Santa Cruz, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Seafood Restaurant on the shore of the Black River
Restaurant details
Description: Seafood Restaurant on the shore of the Black River
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sister Lou's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

So much fun! Great crab (only one dish). She has a bar and serves the locals, too. The marine police were there when we were, so we knew we were in for a treat!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sister Lou, a sister, TRUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

She was great, beer was cold and cheaply priced. Our visit was unfortunately quite short but next time will indoubtedly be longer... Thx again Siter lou!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great crab, fun river stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is right on Black River before the low bridge where the tour pontoon boats have to turn around. We enjoyed the crab - $400J for two stuffed crabs at this time. The crab is removed from the shell, cooked and seasoned and put back in - no work at all! Bar has soft drinks and beer and such too. Very pleasant stop if you are on the river.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A GREAT TRIP AND A GREAT LADY!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited Sister Lou's on the Black River in Jamaica on Feb 6/2013. It was one of our most memorable experiences on our trip to Jamaica. The boat ride up the Black River is one of the most beautiful trips, beyond description!!! Sister Lou is a great lady, very friendly and cooks the BEST crab on the planet!!! All in all, I urge anyone traveling in Jamaica to jump in a boat from the town of Black River (with Captain Garfield) and take the trip up the river to Sister Lou's. I GUARANTEE you won't be disappointed!!!! It is a VERY humbling and enjoyable experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Yummy Stuffed Crabs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very casual and very delicious. If you go up the Black River in a smaller boat (as opposed to one of the covered "safari" boats), ask your captain to pull over so you can get out and enjoy Sister Lou's delicious seasoned crab.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sister Lou`s River Stop also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Treasure Beach, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 

Been to Sister Lou`s River Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sister Lou`s River Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.